We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always love going here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Austell's

Austell's
10 Beach Road | Carlyon Bay, St Austell, England
01726 813 888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 101 restaurants in St Austell
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Austell's is an open planned restaurant with a raised level eating area for the guests to view the chefs working! We pride ourselves in innovative cuisine with an informal, relaxed service!
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Always love going here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Brett and Emma so pleased you are back where you being and great to see you Christmas eve. You are always so accommodating to me and my family and you never disappoint. See you again soon. Highly recommend this restaurant. Amazing value for money and service is among the best.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

96% Recommend
    535
    40
    14
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Par, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best ever restaurant in Cornwall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

My Partner and I love this restaurant, everyone is so friendly. Emma and Bret make every visit special, we have the same table and are greeted like long lost friends. The food is absolutely fabulous to look at and to eat, and the service is really great too!! Christmas lunch was an absolute dream. All I can say is, "I am so thankful that Emma and Bret came back to us" after being away at another venue.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“BEST RESTAURANT IN THE WHOLE OF CORNWALL!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

We went on the 30th dec 2012, won't go into too much detail but Brett and Emma you guys were fantastic!! ( Two Asian guys from Manchester you made our wives very happy women !!! ) thanks. The food the service and approach was outta this world. We stayed in st Austell for 5 days and had bad experiences at other restaurants such as fifteen Jamie Oliver's place, rick steins, but the food from your place was fantastic. We would recommend anyone that you should definitely try the experience at Austells because its the BEST RESTAURANT IN THE WHOLE OF CORNWALL!!! Once again thanks guys..

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“SDR”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Thanks for a fantastic meal on Christmas Eve. we had a party of six and had a great time with excellent food and such a friendly atmosphere. Definitely the number one restaurant around.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“got there at last”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Chris and I run a busy B&B and so rarely get to go out at night and have been waiting ages to be able to try Brett's food (we get regular menu updates which is lovely).

Well, it has been so worth the wait!! Love the quiet and very observant service, the food was devine (it was 'pot luck' Sunday) and we had to have the 3 courses!! We started with beautiful hand made beetroot bread, starters were the crab linguine and the curried cod balls, mains the sea bass and duck breast finished off by lemon tart and dark chocolate & christmas pudding fondant with rum & raisin icecream.

Do love to watch chefs at work and the open kitchen is a delight - no shouting or swearing as some tv chefs - which makes the experience peaceful and very enjoyable.

We recommend our guests if they are coming to St Austell (we are based in Lostwithiel - Penrose B&B) and they have always come back with great feed back.

Hope you have a brilliant 2013, all the best, Chris & Heidi Swire

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Austell's also viewed

 
St Austell, Cornwall
 

Been to Austell's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Austell's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.