We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Austell's

Austell's
10 Beach Road | Carlyon Bay, St Austell, England
01726 813 888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 107 Restaurants in St Austell
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Austell's is an open planned restaurant with a raised level eating area for the guests to view the chefs working! We pride ourselves in innovative cuisine with an informal, relaxed service!
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Lovely atmosphere as soon as we entered the restaurant. Good decor and table lay out. Food amazing. I had scallops followed by lamb and then the most delicious choc pud! Had a really great evening and I can't wait to visit again when we are next in Cornwall.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    627
    49
    16
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Poole, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great evening out with friends!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

A wonderfully tasty meal well presented by efficient friendly staff in pleasant surroundings. It was great to see the food being prepared and cooked in the open kitchen - chocolate fondant dessert to die for!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Having visited Austell's quite often over the last 4 years we thought it was time to actually write a review! The food is fabulous and the service is exceptional. All is right with the world now that Brett and Emma are back in their rightful place! It is most definitely worth a visit for some truly yummy food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
1 review
“First class eating experience...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

My wife and I had a lovely evening out yesterday. We had their own home smoked chicken salad, and the scallops with a chorizo jam (and a pea mousse!) for starters. They were both delicious: we both agreed that we could spend the whole evening eating the starters! The mains were just as good. My wife had sea bass cooked in a white wine and mushroom sauce. I had plaice cooked with a port and truffle sauce. Both were amazing. Dessert for my wife was a superb strawberry shortcake/cheesecake; I opted for a blackcurrant and chocolate brownie sundae. While the sundae was good, the shortcake/cheesecake, like the starter and main, was exquisite.

We can heartily recommend the restaurant. The quality of the food here is as good as in any restaurant we have ever eaten in. The service too was excellent. We hope to return and enjoy another first rate eating experience soon!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best in Cornwall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Great food, good service and and a friendly atmosphere. Best restaurant in Cornwall now that Brett and Emma are back in charge. If you only go to one restaurant in the St Austell area this year, then this has to be the one.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Austell's also viewed

 
St Austell, Cornwall
 

Been to Austell's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Austell's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.