We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“professional and homely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunnycroft

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sunnycroft to your Saves list
Sunnycroft
28 Penwinnick Road, St Austell PL25 5DS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 98 St Austell B&B and Inns
1 review
“professional and homely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

on arrival was greeted in such a lovely way and made to feel so welcome. we were given the most beautiful comfortable room.

It was in an ideal location and close to all ammenities. And we used this to our advantage to see places like eden and heligan.

The breakfast was just fantastic with excellent service. We will definetly return and will be booking here again.

thank you for a wonderful break away.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    23
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
4
41
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We booked via Groupon in early December for 2 nights stay in April. We booked a twin room but were given a double which we were not pleased about. Everything was clean but all very tired even the towels were frayed. The room was very cramped, nowhere to hang clothes apart from a home made bracket, which could not be reached if you are short. The shower was woefully under powered and came out more like a trickle. The breakfast was good.

Room Tip: Always check with the owner what you have booked, ie if you want a twin make sure they confirm in wr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Nice guest house in a residential area on the main road through town. Good value price and pleasant rooms. The breakfast room is a greenhouse type extension which is very nice. It is walking distance or short drive to a KFC and McDonalds. Owners were very helpful and we had a pleasant one night stay as we were heading to the Eden Project which is about20 minutes away by car. We would recommend staying here and would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights as a family. Really comfy, cosy and warm. James made us feel really welcome. Nice breakfasts. Most comfortable bed ever. Lovely caffitiere coffee in room and cute jar of biscuits. Gorgeous modern decor but still feels homely.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We booked this two night stay through Groupon. Before proceeding with the booking, we emailed the owners to confirm this deal included their "superior" room, to which this was confirmed in an email. We were very much looking forward to this mini-break which was to celebrate our wedding anniversary. On arrival at 4pm, we rang the bell, and got no answer. There was a notice on the door indicating if no answer to call this number. We rang the number provided, and got no answer. We then decided to pop to the local supermarket before returning and trying again, still no answer at the door or the phone number given. We then decided to ring the actual bed and breakfast main line, to which James answered and said he was at the local store. He then gave us instructions to let ourselves in. When entering our room, we were quite disappointed to find it was not the room we were expecting. When we confronted James with our concern, he explained that they had two "superior" rooms and this was one of them. It clearly wasn't the superior room pictured and described on the web page. The bed although the same size as the superior room was made up of two single beds and was far too big for the room making the room feel squashed and awkward. The shower a very important part of the room unfortunately was at high risk of overflowing due to very slow drainage leaving you standing in the fast cooling water you had showered in as we'll as having to keep an eye out to make sure it didn't overflow and flood the bathroom.

The room and bathroom where both clean if a little worn at the edges. If this had been the room we booked we would not have been overly disappointed based on the groupon price but the room certainly would not meet our expectations at full price. Due to our disappointment and the inability to move us to the superior room we ended up cutting our stay short and moving somewhere that was more in line with our expectations.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benjiecornwall, Manager at Sunnycroft, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for your review we have noted your comments and would like to
respond for future guests staying.
Firstly while we accept and try to respect guests comments and respond in
a professional way where there are comments made that read untrue this is hard to accept.
When you arrived you are right we were not present but only at the local
store picking up supplies. The number displayed for guests to call was
re-directed
to our mobile there were no other numbers listed apart from our main
number to call. We received no missed calls only the one when you called
us on where you were then informed of our whereabouts we apologised and
explained how to enter the property and where your room was.
We arrived within 10 mins from when you arrived and I came to greet you
both to which you informed me that you were allocated the wrong room. I
informed you that you were in the correct room as this was one of our
superior rooms which is clearly marked on our website. This was also
emailed to you confirming room type and the number of the room which is
also on our website via 360 view or via book online going to room
information. We received no correspondence from yourselves informing us
this was a wrong allocated room. At no point did you ask us to move you
or inform us of your greviences of the room as once explained you were
allocated the correct room you seemed happy.
The room you had is one of our top rooms it has a 6ft x 6ft bed that is
especially designed so that it can be put either into a twin or a large
double which again is described on our website. This is a common design
of many establishments to have for ease of choice for the guest. The room
has top designer furniture designer guild headboard,top quality bed,
Hardwood Rosewood side tables, Italian handmade dressing table with ghost
chair and designer guild cushions and built in wardrobe and a further
chest of draws. All our rooms come with complimentary biscuits,
teas,coffees,herbal teas and fresh mineral water.
We will apologise about the shower had this been pointed out to us we
would of rectified this from the outset.
The next morning you left without your complimentary breakfast and went
out for your days outing and returned in the later part of the afternoon
where I greeted your partner and asked if everything was ok he informed
me that it was and then you departed without informing us or making any
comments why you left which was odd as if things where that bad why not
address this to us in the morning
On the outset of this Deal the problem with this is that understandably
everyone wants the best of rooms and while we try to do our best to
accommodate and inform guests of our room descriptions and allocations of
being a small establishment it would be impossible to accommodate
everyone the same room. A Deal is what it is and has to be based on first
come basis.
This has been a learning process for us and not having control in the
advertising for the Deal un like where our normal advertising where guest
have the freedom of choosing their room choice and range of tariff. We
would look very carefully in going forward in placing another online Deal
without our full control.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed in November as part of a Groupon and stayed in 'the annex' (as mentioned before this was quite a small room and looks like a converted garage). Now, lets look at this for what it cost; Brilliant. Warm, dry, own front door, come and go as you please and brekkie was fab. If I had to pay the full advertised price to stay in this room I would have been less than pleased. I susspect that these rooms are the deal rooms? I know that's what I would do.

Other than that, the owners were a delight and even though it's on a busy road it's not too noisy and it's great for getting out and about!

Would I stay again? Quite possibly yes.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Par, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Sunnycroft is wonderful having stayed there for a winter breakaway where we were able to re-charge our batteries.
Lovely and warm felt really cosy and welcoming. Our room was lovely with everything we required and one would expect to have in a modern bed and breakfast.
Location is very central where it is easy to gain access to many of the local attractions.
We would have no hesitation in recommending Sunnycroft to our friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunnycroft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunnycroft

Address: 28 Penwinnick Road, St Austell PL25 5DS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in St Austell
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Sunnycroft reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunnycroft St Austell, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunnycroft, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.