We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Guest House ideally situated in St Austell” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pen Star House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Austell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pen Star House
Save
You added Pen Star House to your Saves list
20 Cromwell Road, St Austell PL25 4PS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 99 St Austell B&B and Inns
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lovely Guest House ideally situated in St Austell”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights during our holiday in Cornwall and had a very pleasant stay. Anne welcomed us on arrival and was very friendly, as was Gary who we saw each morning at Breakfast. The downstairs room was very comfortable, and our initial fears about being next to the dining room and kitchen were short-lived as we didn't hear any noise from any other rooms. Indeed the guest house was very peaceful at night! Anne and Gary were very quick to sort the problem we had with the freeview box in our room which was much appreciated. The only recommendations for future improvements would be to provide towels in the rooms (one of the photos on their website shows towels on the beds but there weren't any in our room) and leave the guest lounge open a bit later in the evenings. Overall, Pen Star House is a lovely guest house ideally situated in St Austell for the many tourist attractions.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    6
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
9
30
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in late June. Easy to find in St Austell and good location for getting out and about in Cornwall. Room was spotless and a good size with tea / coffee making facilites. Bathroom also spotless with electric shower.

The couple that run the guest house were extremely helpful with the knowledge of the area and recommending places to eat and visit. This was really good for us as it was our first trip to Cornwall.

The breakfast was excellent and plenty of options to choose fom too.

Only two negatives but not big enought to put us off staying here again. The bed was a little short for me as I'm 6ft 2in and the it's on a main road so traffic noise was a problem but we found if you shut the bathroom door this improved it greatly.

Would definitely stay here again and also recommend it to others. Excellent facilities and value for money for waht we were looking for.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2010

Our holiday was fantastic thanks to the wonderful accomodation/service provided at pen star house. Our hosts Gary and Anne were so very welcoming and freindly. They had a vast knowledge of cornwall and some great recomendations for places to visit, eat etc. Our room was beautifully decorated and was spacious and light with all that we could need and more for our stay. Breakfast was something I very much looked forward to each morning during our stay - such a choice from cereals, fruit and yoghurt, toast and jams to full english, there is also a specials board with some delicious breakfast options on! A fantastic guest house experience!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

We stayed at the Pen Star last weekend, two adults and 2 children under 8. We had a beautiful family room, with a double and two single beds, it was pleasantly decorated and very clean. Having all the amenities we needed, a separate bathroom with shower, television and lots of tea/coffee and buscuits.

The children were amazed, when they opened the wardrobe to put the clothes away there was a basket of toys and books for them to play with.

Breakfast was wonderful, everything you could want, we had the full english breakfast, and gave the Hog's pudding a try, (it was very nice and tasty, something different), there were cereals, grapefruit, prunes yoghurt as well as fruit juice and also toast, if you could fit it in!

We had a really good stay, and would definately recommend to family and friends and fully intend to stay here again shortly.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipping Norton Oxfordshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2010

We stayed at the Pen Star House for a short break (4 days) it was fabulous. The rooms were lovely (we got to choose!) and our greeting was warm & friendly, we were made to feel really welcome. The location was just great everything we wanted to see & do was, as stated on their web site, in close easy reach. The beach and harbour at Charlestown is an easy walk and we loved it. The proprietors (Anne & Gary) were extremely helpfull with much local knowlege and some great ideas which helped us to make the most of our time. Breakfast was simply the best we have had away, the homemade bread was a real treat. Anne's Reiki sessions are amaizing too, my first but definately not my last. We shall certainly be coming back.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2009

We stayed at Pen Star Guest House for a week and had a lovely break It was very relaxing, Anne And Gary were welcoming and very helpfull. The room was spotless and The Breakfast Was Lovely. We was in a good location for everything. Looking foward to staying again in febuary.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2009

We stayed at Pen Star House and had a fantastic break. The accommodation is 5 star and the hospitality 1st class. Anne & Gary make you very welcome in their home and nothing is too much trouble. The breakfasts are wonderful with such a great choice, the Cornish riddlers were great, we even had Cornish strawberries ! Almost everything was locally sourced. Our room was extremly well appointed and again so many extras. The house has a very relaxed and friendly feel to it and the location is perfect. It is a short walk to a beach and harbour (with tall ships !) and there are numerous pubs close by. We will definately be going back.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pen Star House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pen Star House

Address: 20 Cromwell Road, St Austell PL25 4PS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pen Star House is a 4 star, silver award B&B and offers a warm welcome to all. It is in an excellent location for visiting all atractions.The Eden Project is 10 mins away and The Lost Gardens of Heligan 15. It is walking distance to The Historic port and beach of Charlestown along with Shops, banks, restaurants, pubs, chemist etc within 5 mins walk. We have Superior, King size and standard rooms offering single, double, twin and family accommodation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pen Star House St Austell, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pen Star House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.