We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, delicious food and good services” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Waterwheel Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Waterwheel Inn to your Saves list
The Waterwheel Inn
Bodmin Road | Trethowel, St Austell Pl25 5RR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 99 St Austell B&B and Inns
exeter
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent value, delicious food and good services”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We had a three course meal. It was reasonably priced, the food was lovely and unlike some of the other reviews the pace of service was fantastic, enough time was left between course and the waitress was very friendly and professional, would definitely visit this in again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    46
    7
    2
    4
See reviews for
24
113
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We were warmly welcomed by Mark, the owner. The room was spotless and warm. We were joined for our first evening meal by our family. The food was excellent and we spent a relaxed couple of hours together. The rest of our four day stay was very good. The breakfasts were huge but after the first morning we could not manage more than scrambled egg and bacon. Well presented and swift service.

The garden is a work in progress but is still atmospheric and romantic. Good luck with those laurels Francesca!!! We will return to see how the garden progresses. Well done to you both for running a delightful bed and breakfast with a superb restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

The waterwheel really is one of cornwalls hidden gems. Having just spent two nights there we were instantly made to feel like old friends rather than customers by mark and francesca. The reason I say its more than a b&b is down to the intimacy of the service and the absolutely incredible food they serve. By that I dont just mean the mouth watering evening meals but also the top class fried breakfast (no happy shopper sausages here! always the teller of a bad brekkie!). Ive never written a review for anything before but because our experience here far surpassed our expectations I knew I had to write this . So once again thank you mark and francesca for making our break so amazing and for putting up with our mate!!!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frithsoken, Owner at The Waterwheel Inn, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
"I just feel I need to say this…….."
Thank you for your kind words, it was a pleasure, and that includes your mate!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We wanted a quirky, unusual B&B and not your normal Victorian villa and the Waterwheel met and then exceeded our expectations. Our room (number 8) was attractively decorated and it overlooked the mill stream which burbled merrily below our window. The bar area was inviting and comfortable with several settees to lounge about on but the star of the show was the fabulous restaurant area. It is a lovely space and is much, much nicer than you could normally expect from a B&B. We took breakfast in the conservatory overlooking the gardens. The food was great and there was lots of it. Francesca was a fabulous host and she made us feel very welcome. She even loaned us a couple of pairs of wellies so we could walk/squelch through the extensive garden to look at the ancient holy well hidden away at the far end. We also had our very own guide in the form of Francesca’s Labrador. He walked with us all the way and all he wanted in return was his ears tickling. My girlfriend and I had a great weekend at the Waterwheel. I highly recommend it to anyone wanting to stay at a comfortable and interesting B&B.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a one night break to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We don't live far away and being familiar with the location had often thought about sampling the restaurant. It did not disappoint. We received a warm welcome on arrival, the room was small but more than adequate for a one night stay. Dinner was excellent, beautifully presented and tasty. Drinks were reasonably priced with lots of local selections of beer and cider, always good! Breakfast was lovely, a full cooked breakfast, toast, with homemade marmalade, a selection of cereals - and definitely no room for lunch! Thank you Francesca and Mark, we will definitely be back and will recommend The Waterwheel to our 'up country' family and friends.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warminster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

A really nice place to stay- immaculately clean, beautifully decorated, wonderful food and a warm welcome. We visited with my sister and her husband and stayed two nights- nothing was too much trouble- welcome packs, tea, coffee and biscuits in the room- fantastic breakfasts and super restaurant that gives good options for vegetarians as well as an interesting menu. The food was delicious and very good value served in a lovely restaurant.

As well as a restaurant and conservatory where breakfast is served there is a bar with an attractive area to sit. The garden is lovely, there is a large car park and this is very close to the attractions in the area [Lost Gardens of Heligan, The Eden Project, Charlestown & the Maritime Museum, Fowey, Mevagissy, St Mawes Castle etc]

Delightful place to stay.

Room Tip: An old building so some rooms are larger than others. The pictured room with the red wallpaper and m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frithsoken, Owner at The Waterwheel Inn, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
How lovely that as our 100th reviewer you have posted such a lovely review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We checked into the Waterwheel Inn for one nights b & b and found very friendly staff who couldn't do enough to make us feel very welcome. On arrival we were shown to our room which was very pleasant overlooking the stream. We then traversed to the dining room for our evening meal of which we chose from the set menus. My husband had a brie starter (he wouldn't give me a taste!), he said it was lush, I had crab cakes, (ooh scrum). Followed by the chicken in cheese and bacon sauce, Absolutely fab but if i wanted to be picky, it needed more cheese in the sauce. Hubby had the tenderloin which he thoroughly enjoyed, cooked to perfection as was the veg and a nice selection to boot. I followed with cheesecake, (oh, I had to share with hubby as he doesn't do puds!) which was rather good. After which we enjoyed freshly made liquer coffees. Nothing was too much trouble and reasonably priced. Well done Mark, Francesca and staff. Carry on the good work. My husband say's Thanks for the homemade lemon marmalade on his toast this morning (absolutely lovely). Oh also for the tour of the garden and well by Kernow this morning.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Waterwheel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterwheel Inn

Address: Bodmin Road | Trethowel, St Austell Pl25 5RR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterwheel is situated in a wooded valley beside a river. We offer bed and breakfast accommodation in our eight en-suite bedrooms. In the evenings guests can have a drink in the licensed bar and eat in the on-site elegant restaurant, or a 10 minute brisk walk will take them into St Austell town centre. There is a delightful terrace and garden to explore and an ancient well, Druid's chair and waterfall at the bottom of the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Waterwheel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterwheel Hotel St Austell
The Waterwheel Inn St Austell, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Waterwheel Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.