We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Waterwheel Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Waterwheel Inn to your Saves list
The Waterwheel Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Bodmin Road | Trethowel, St Austell PL25 5RR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 98 St Austell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
bournemouth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Thank you!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

A delightful stay due to Mark and Francesca! Warm welcome, calm, genuine, sociable, we were well cared for. This couple are working extremely hard to revitalise this historic building, which they are doing sympathetically, retaining its quaintness. Lovely art work dotted around. The Woodland is DIRECTLY behind the Inn. Could be viewed from our windows, also restaurant and conservatory looked out onto the woodland, delightful! Bedroom completely satisfactory, bed linen clean, duvet and pillows excellent, rooms cleaned and tidied daily. Information pack in room re attractions. Shower and toilet clean, water hot. Francesca bought afternoon tea out to us and settled my friend and I in the sun, when we returned from a trip. Food delicious, thanks to chef and relish with my pate was lovely. Thank You so much. Polly G

Room Tip: Ask for a woodland view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    57
    8
    2
    5
See reviews for
32
136
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt am Main
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

A little lonely and do not stay in room 6 if you plan to go to bed early. it's above the kitchen, and noisy. In response to questioning the noise we were told "well we are a restaurant'". No comment. you can walk into town but there is not much to see.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

My wife and I are a mature couple who have stayed at many hotels over the years and this is the first time we have found it necessary to make a public comment. On a weeks break staying at several similar priced hotels in Devon and Cornwall with very pleasant experiences we arrived at The Waterwheel Inn. The room we were allocated was not like those shown on the website and was small and basic. The shower did not work and a substantial amount of the grout around the tiles was mouldy. In responding to a complaint we made the response was thus "I agree there is some deeply embedded mould within the silicone but both the bathroom and bedroom would have been immaculately clean" It seems mould is acceptable. The food was acceptable but the overall experience was poor.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frithsoken, Owner at The Waterwheel Inn, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
The first we knew of this gentleman's concerns regarding his room on his recent one night stay was when we received a letter requesting a partial refund on the basis that the room was 'small and basic' the shower did not work and there was mould in the shower cubicle.
I have declined the refund on the basis that although his room was not large it was certainly an adequate size for a double. It has been refurbished in April and has new walls, carpet curtains etc. The new duvet is goose feather and down as are the pillows, the towels are 550gm hotel quality bath sheets and the sheets are 100% quality white cotton therefore not what I would call basic. The shower has been used subsequently by a further 8 couples and no-one has complained that the shower has not worked and it certainly worked on testing.
The en-suite will be completely refitted in November which will address the silicone issue but the room and bathroom were immaculately clean.
The price for a room is not just based on the size of a room but on other factors such as location and the other facilities we offer such as the opportunity to dine in an elegant restaurant and conservatory in an historic building overlooking a beautiful wooded valley beside an equally beautiful river. We have had many comments from other visitors suggesting that we represent very good value for the money.
I am sad that this couple did not enjoy their experience here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, Cambs., UK
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

After reading some of the fairly negative reviews of this establishment I'm left wondering if they actually stayed at the same place as my wife and I although that's not to say there aren't some minor niggles. Firstly the location is great, nestling at the bottom of a wooded ravine with the stream adjacent. Although situated on a fairly busy road it is not at all intrusive. We found the hosts Mark & Francesca to be friendly and sociable even though Mark when not seeing to guests needs was busy in the garden building a large new decking area which I believe will be a great addition to the property when completed. We found the restaurant meals/service to be excellent and the lounge/bar area a nice place to relax with a pint or two. On the down side, the room we were allocated had a good en-suite and although nicely refurbished was fitted with fairly basic furniture but by far my biggest gripe would be the entry doors to the rooms. Although a minor thing in the scheme of things whenever you entered the room it felt as though you were entering a cupboard or something - I think this is something that should be made a priority Mark. I also feel it would have been nice to have been asked if we required any assistance with our luggage as there are stairs to negotiate.
Overall though, a very pleasant stay in a nice area at reasonable cost.

Room Tip: If you have mobility problems there is only 1 ground floor room available and so I advise booking ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

First impression on arrival into the Hotel was that the floor needed a good hoover. Friendly host greeted us, showed us to our room. We were very dissapointed with the room, the bed knobs kept falling off the bedstead whenever you walked past. The bed sheets were dirty, looked like they hadn't been changed, makeup marks on the pillow case. We had a nice view of the garden, and breakfast was very good, the only thing letting this Hotel down badly was the cleanliness.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frithsoken, Owner at The Waterwheel Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
I am sorry that this guest was disappointed with the standard of cleanliness; the foyer has a navy blue carpet which does get vacuumed once a day but unfortunately with tradesmen and guests traipsing through it looks clean for about five minutes.
I am flabbergasted that if this guest believed we had not changed the bedding that a) she did not bring this to our attention and b) that she would even consider sleeping in it! I would not consider sleeping in dirty linen and I am appalled that she could believe we would expect someone else to. As it is, the room, which is prettily decorated with Laura Ashley duck egg blue curtains and paint has white 100% cotton bedding edged in blue. One of the pillow cases has a faint grey mark on it caused by waterproof mascara and this has been resistant to attempts to remove it completely. I have now asked the laundry service to hit it with potent chemicals but they think it will ruin the blue edging which is such a shame. The sheets were not dirty!
The bed is cream wrought iron and yes, the bedknobs do fall off, I am sorry that this caused our guests irritation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Rick and i have just spent 6 nights at this lovely hotel, Mark and Francesca are fantastic hosts, the staff are very polite and help full, Sam the waitress is just a laugh. the rooms are very comfortable and clean, the food is just fantastic.the bar and restaurant are very relaxed. rick and i will be returning back to this wonderfull hotel as soon as possible. good luck to mark and francesca in all their future projects.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

To be honest: the first impression was a bit disappointing. The impression I got from the website was that the Inn was actually situated in a wooded valley and I imagined a quiet place in a forest....In fact it is situated directly next to a rather busy road. Our room had a view over the parking lot and there was a good bit of traffic noise.
However, there is a lovely garden on the other side of the property and we had a nice little walk to the well. Breakfast was in the conservatory, overlooking the garden. Nice.
Room was fine. Couldn't get the shower to work properly, meaning that the last person to shower had only cold water - but that might have been due to our unfamiliarity with the British hot water system.

In all, I would say "good" (not "very good"- but it is definitely above average).

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not next to the parking lot and the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Waterwheel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterwheel Inn

Address: Bodmin Road | Trethowel, St Austell PL25 5RR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waterwheel Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterwheel is situated in a wooded valley beside a river. We offer bed and breakfast accommodation in our eight en-suite bedrooms. In the evenings guests can have a drink in the licensed bar and eat in the on-site elegant restaurant, or a 10 minute brisk walk will take them into St Austell town centre. There is a delightful terrace and garden to explore and an ancient well, Druid's chair and waterfall at the bottom of the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Waterwheel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterwheel Hotel St Austell
The Waterwheel Inn St Austell, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Waterwheel Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.