We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience, wonderful surrounings, faultless hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Waterwheel Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Waterwheel Inn to your Saves list
The Waterwheel Inn
Bodmin Road | Trethowel, St Austell Pl25 5RR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 99 St Austell B&B and Inns
St Austell, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience, wonderful surrounings, faultless hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We've been eating at the Waterwheel for over 7 years, & the restaurant has a reputation for freshly cooked high quality meals(local seafood a speciality), and the new owners are certainly carrying that on. Francesca & Mark are also working hard to spruce up & redecorate the facilities which were looking a bit tired in places.
We were so pleased with the Waterwheel that we entrusted them with our Wedding reception.
To say that nothing was too much trouble, or that the day was faultless would be an understatement.
We booked all 8 rooms which were clean, tidy and extremely comfortable.
For our reception we had the conservatory to ourselves. We had a four course meal,
which was freshly prepared, and the standard or food was exceptional. The attention to detail meant we had a worry free wonderful day.
In fact all our guests commented what a great experience the day was.
We will certainly be returning on a regular basis, and would recommend the Waterwheel
to anyone who's looking for a warm welcome, fabulous food & well appointed bedrooms.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    46
    7
    2
    4
See reviews for
25
113
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

What a fantastic place to stay, a beautiful olde worlde Inn. Beautifully clean and tidy, the room we stayed in was lovely and cosy and had everything we needed for our stay. The new owners were absolutely wonderful, nothing was too much trouble, they are so polite and friendly. The food was cooked to perfection and was absolutely delicious, very, very well presented and we did not have to wait long either! The restaurant is beautifully layed out and such a relaxing place to eat, I would recommend it to anybody that just wants to pop in for a meal.The location is lovely, close to the town centre and near to the Eden Project and The Lost Gardens of Heligan, which we visited during our stay, and enjoyed tremendously! We cannot say what we liked best because it was all so good there is actually nothing we could find fault with. We would recommend The Water Wheel Inn to everybody and will definately be going back again next year.

Room Tip: All rooms recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

A bad start. The lights were off as we entered the lobby today on a nice dull day (which then brightened up)

We were met by the owner who claimed that the chef was sick, so "its only roasts" today! A brilliant start when the one saving grace is the Pate Starter!

When we went to take our seats at the table, we were expecting a high chair for our 9 month old, but the owner didnt know anything about this arrangement, claiming "i didnt own this place when this booking was made" - charming, but at least were made to feel welcome...

Then, give some small credit, the owner went on the hunt for a baby seat or chair and came back with a seat for a 12 month old, which was too big for our little one, but also the babyseat was not suitable or safe to be used on the restaurants chairs. So... we left our little one in his pushchair or to be held.

To make matters worse...whilst pushing our little one around the bar area, my partner hears (at the bar) the owner talking to a customer (the only other one at the bar) moaning about us and saying that the seat is fine.
Very rude, and very disappointing.

Moving on to the food... It was cold, child like portions and very poorly thought out for £7.

Im not quite sure if the lady owner wanted people there, or if we were simply an inconvienience.

Please avoid, and save your money

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frithsoken, Owner at The Waterwheel Inn, responded to this review, May 17, 2011
It is devastating as new owners to have such a critical review particularly when we have had such a lovely response from every one else who has been here since we took over less than three weeks ago. This reviewer came in a party of ten at Sunday lunch time which is advertised as a traditional Sunday roast at £7 a head. Unfortunately we did not take the booking and we were unaware of their need for a high chair and the only available child seats were unsuitable.
We received only compliments regarding the food from the other ten diners in the restaurant and no one from the group made anything other than positive comments about the food at the time. My Grandmother would turn in her grave if she thought we were offering small portions!
We obviously take these comments very seriously however and have subsequently purchased suitable high chairs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Waterwheel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterwheel Inn

Address: Bodmin Road | Trethowel, St Austell Pl25 5RR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterwheel is situated in a wooded valley beside a river. We offer bed and breakfast accommodation in our eight en-suite bedrooms. In the evenings guests can have a drink in the licensed bar and eat in the on-site elegant restaurant, or a 10 minute brisk walk will take them into St Austell town centre. There is a delightful terrace and garden to explore and an ancient well, Druid's chair and waterfall at the bottom of the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Waterwheel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterwheel Hotel St Austell
The Waterwheel Inn St Austell, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Waterwheel Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.