We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room very disappointing - not 3 Star!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Rosemundy House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Rosemundy House Hotel to your Saves list
The Rosemundy House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St. Agnes, St Agnes TR5 0UF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in St Agnes
Cleator, United Kingdom
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Room very disappointing - not 3 Star!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed in room 17. It was very small with mis-matched furniture and patched patterned carpet. There was no bath and an inadequate shower. In the hottest week of the year we couldn't turn off the bathroom radiator. The food however was good, although at breakfast there was no fresh fruit.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon M, Manager at The Rosemundy House Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review and your points have been taken onboard.
I am sorry to hear that you did not find your bedroom satisfactory and that you would have preferred a bath en-suite. I have checked your orginal reservation and there is no mention of a bath en-suite as preference.
I am glad you enjoyed our food and have passed your comments regarding fruit at breakfast onto chef.

Again thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    24
    8
    6
    1
See reviews for
15
17
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
preston lancashire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

It was good to revisit the Rosemundy house hotel.
Food as usual was excellent amd can't find fault with any aspect of our stay. The staff from sharon in the reception both hannahs peter and the behind the scenes staff as usual spot on. A great hotel friendly staff and good food. Best hotel for value I've stayed in this year. Ido a lot of hotels and always look forwards to staying here. If in Cornwall give them a try. You'll not regret it. Special thanks for your help with everyone this week. Roll on October for my next visit

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Just returned from St Agnes - once again didn't want to return home. Pool area lovely sun trap. Food varied and as ever all very good. Staff all very friendly and helpful. lovely old listed building in beautiful grounds with ample parking for all. also within walking distance of village. Can't wait for our next visit.

Room Tip: Room 30 has its own garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent england
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I stayed at the Rosemundy House Hotel last week for 6 nights. The food was very good on the whole but sometimes the added flavour put on some dishes was not needed and in one case spoilt the meal. The staff were all very friendly and good at their jobs. The waitresses were all quick at serving us. The Hotel is seeped in History and the rooms were passable for a 3 star.
I would stay there again it was lovely.

Room Tip: Don't pick a ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton-on-Trent
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We have just returned from another wonderful stay at the Rosemundy House Hotel. We have stayed there many times before and we are never disappointed! Such a lovely old building set in beautiful grounds. The staff are all very friendly and helpful and genuinely care that your stay is enjoyable. The food there is always excellent and fantastic value for money. We have already booked our next stay and looking forward to visiting the magical area again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This year we decided to go back to the Rosemundy House, our third stay there. Whilst the staff remain very helpful and pleasant there was a distinct priority given to the coach party staying there. I am not suggesting that we should have had any priority over them but we were left waiting in the restaurant several times. The rooms remain dated and the plumbing looks as if "Mr Oddjob" has done it with taps that were hard to hold, a toilet seat that wouldn't stay up and a sink plug that was the wrong size. The bedroom was of substantial size and the people who looked after the rooms were very good. Linen was replaced after 3 days. There were some cobwebs on a beam and the curtains were hard to shut.as the curtain rails were old and worn. Having pointed out some of the annoying things I can say that the chef(s) were very good with pleasant and creative food. Sadly on one night the menu was not of choice for most diners and the salad bar was hit hard (always very good) I must have been the odd one out that night as I thought the food was very good. Parking is taken up mainly by staff and a note on the reception points out that the car park is busy most times. The driveway was occasionally blocked by staff using it as a car park whilst they used the swimming pool.I felt that this visit was not as good as previous visits but still fine in most respects.

Room Tip: Rooms facing west or south become very hot in fine weather. They are all quiet due to the hotel loca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We have just returned from our 13th visit to this hotel and it never disappoints.
From our very first visit we found a warm welcome. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly,which all makes you feel very special, add to this the excellent homely food and varied menu and you are compelled to return.
The pool area offers a real sun trap as well as the opportunity to swim.
If you are thinking of visiting the area I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We like room 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Rosemundy House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rosemundy House Hotel

Address: St. Agnes, St Agnes TR5 0UF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Agnes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in St Agnes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Rosemundy House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your The Rosemundy House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosemundy Hotel St Agnes
The Rosemundy House Hotel St Agnes, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rosemundy House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.