We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my favourite pizza!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cornish Pizza Company

The Cornish Pizza Company
68 Vicarage Road, St Agnes TR5 0TH, England
01872 553 092
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 20 restaurants in St Agnes
Price range: $11 - $14
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“my favourite pizza!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I don't make this comment lightly as i've eaten an awful lot of pizzas, but these are the best I've ever had. Fantastic fresh and crisp bases, great selection of toppings and the people are really nice on the phone. We always order for our 'Friday Pizza Night' when we are staying at our house in St Agnes. I hope this local business does really well

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    61
    11
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Brent, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“tasty pizzas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Pizzas were very good and we had 2 for £12. They were ready exactly when they said they would be and there was enough left over for lunch today!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Decided to have pizzas delivered to Perranporth as a Friday night treat. Called and ordered three 7"ers with different toppings. The lady who took our order also took my payment with £5 for delivery added. Paid by debit card. She told me the delivery would be up to 40 minutes. It was bang on. The local taxi that delivered rang me when they arrived to find my flat. The pizzas were hot, fresh and really delicious. There was one that was unavailable to order so I chose the leek and blue cheese one, this was an absolute triumph. I was sorry I'd only ordered the small version. Fresh ingredients and a thin crisp base made these pizzas a delight. Recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious pizzas!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Visited whilst on holiday in St Agnes, lovely food, we were really pleased the bases were organic, yum!!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Could easily be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The pizzas are delicious - really nice range of toppings (although a few traditional ones would help). There is a problem though with their orders and opening times. The first time I ordered there it was 40 minutes late so that when I arrived to collect it hadn't even been prepared so I had to wait another half an hour. This has been repeated a couple of times. The last time the pizza was not cooked enough and it was covered in giant anchovies. I don't mind one or two but these were the size of kippers! Then there are the hours. What sort of pizza company only opens until 9pm on Friday and Saturday evenings? It may be a licensing issue but 9pm??? Most people want a pizza after they come out of the pub and every local I have spoken to says it is a ridiculous business model; it appears they are trying to throw money away. Oh and lastly - only one pizza size.

Just to confirm though, the pizzas are excellent, if a little inconsistent, the organisation is not quite there yet (the staff look constantly harassed) and the opening hours are shambolic. I really hope it survives though but on current evidence I wouldn't put money on it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickiCW, Owner at The Cornish Pizza Company, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Hi Paul,

Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry your experience didn't live up to your expectations (and our high standards) on your last visit. We had a team member leave early on the day you visited and so service was slower than had been anticipated, regrettably.

Our closing time of 9pm has been set by the planning team at Cornwall Council, however, we are in the process of applying for an extension and would hope to be open later by the time you next visit.

We use white anchovy fillets as they are meatier and better quality then the tinned grey anchovies. We generally get very positive feedback on the taste.

We hope you can try us again soon.

Best wishes,
Vicki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cornish Pizza Company also viewed

St Agnes, Cornwall
St Agnes, Cornwall
 
St Agnes, Cornwall
St Agnes, Cornwall
 

Been to The Cornish Pizza Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cornish Pizza Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.