We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Driftwood Spars

Driftwood Spars
Trevaunance Cove, St Agnes, England
01872 552428
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 20 restaurants in St Agnes
Price range: $9 - $18
Cuisines: British, Pub, Brew Pub, Fish & Chips
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: We are a pub that offers food, B & B and live music, we also host conferences, weddings & beer festivals. Postcode TR5 0RT
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Birthday weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We ate here as went to watch a band. Bit pricey but food was lovely. Bar staff could do with some customer skills! Asked for sauces was a bit of an effort. Was lovely to sit by the log fire as it was a dark rainy night. Good atmosphere.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

66% Recommend
    28
    26
    15
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Devizes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
310 reviews 310 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
612 helpful votes 612 helpful votes
“Great selection of ales, food average and expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

As real ale fan, I had wanted to visit this pub and made time on this chilly late October early afternoon. The bar had a good selection of top notch ales including a couple of its own, brewed on the premises. I ordered a pint and chose a seat to look at the menu.

First thing to strike me was how expensive it was for a pub. Soup of the day at £5.50 seems well over the odds to me. As for fish & chips at £11.50, well, someone, somewhere is having a laugh. But I was hungry and it was warm in here so decided to order and see for myself so ordered the latter.

It arrived at my table within a few minutes which was good, but it certainly didn't live up to the price tag. The batter was oily and not particularly crisp and the fish itself was barely cooked and not a particularly decent sized specimen. I don't mind underdone fish so was OK with it but I can imagine some people sending it back for a few more minutes in the fryer. The chips were OK as was the pea puree and the tartar sauce. I did leave all of the batter.

With a couple of pints there wasn't much change from £20 which is expensive for a pub, especially in autumn season when most holidaymakers have gone home. Looking at the reviews prior to mine, most seem to concur.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not the best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We popped into the Driftwood for lunch on our afternoon walk to the beach. It was fairly quiet and not much atmosphere. The children's meals were ok, they had burger and chips. I had the mackerel platter, which consisted of a fillet of mackerel, a slice of bread (no butter) and some lettuce and cucumber (no dressing) I'm not sure this constitutes a platter. My friend had the walnut, Stilton and pear salad and a portion of chips - her words were she was glad she ordered the chips as it was a very small portion. This is the second time we have visited and not sure we will return, there are a lot of places to eat in the village which offer better quality and value for money.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Traditional Pub for Sunday Lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

The Driftwood Spars is a characterful old country pub. The Doombar beer is a very nice pint, very clear and just the right temperature. The Sunday roast is reasonable value, but the vegetables weren't cooked quite long enough and the roast potatoes could have been cooked a bit longer too. The roast pork however was perfect. Plenty enough to eat though, although the puddings were a little on the small side, but they only charge around £3 so that's reasonable overall.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tregony, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We are frequent daytime visitors to The Driftwood Spars, but on this occasion very disappointed with the beer selection only two of their own brews, guest beers very average and could obtain in any pub in the country let alone Cornwall. Only one member of staff serving at the bar and it was difficult to decide if you'd entered a nursery or a dogs home. Decided not to stay for food in these surroundings when all we wanted was a couple of decent pint's and a simple bite to eat. Shame really they seem to have lost the plot a bit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Driftwood Spars also viewed

St Agnes, Cornwall
 
St Agnes, Cornwall
St Agnes, Cornwall
 

Been to Driftwood Spars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Driftwood Spars, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.