We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm and welcoming stay on a stormy November weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Driftwood Spars B & B

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St Agnes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Driftwood Spars B & B
Save
You added The Driftwood Spars B & B to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Trevaunance Cove, St Agnes TR5 0RT , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in St Agnes
Porthleven, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A warm and welcoming stay on a stormy November weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

I stayed for 3 nights in November, and was glad of the sincerely warm welcome I received on a stormy day. My single room (12) was across the road from the Inn. It was warm and comfortable, with a good shower in the en-suite.
The breakfasts were excellent and the service was always friendly and caring, especially on my last morning, when the young lady who brought my breakfast offered to make me some scones to take home with me. I appreciated that kind gesture very much, my only regret being that I didn't get her name.
There was an excellent selection of real ales in the bar, some of which were brewed on the premises, and the bar service was friendly.
The scenery around Trevaunance Cove is, of course, wonderful, even on a cold November weekend, and I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. I will definitely return in the future and recommend it wholeheartedly. My only slight disappointment was that the wi-fi reception in my room was intermittent, but I was able to get perfect reception everywhere in the Inn itself. Many thanks to all the staff who made my stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: If you want uninterrupted wi-fi in your room, choose a room within the Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    63
    18
    23
    10
See reviews for
29
91
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Driftwood Spars truly is a gem. We went in November for 3 nights. The location is gorgeous, right by the beach. The staff are friendly and helpful. The old pub is cosy and full of character. The food is excellent and great value for money. The full Cornish breakfast sets you up for a day of site seeing! The rooms are comfortable and clean.

Overall, a lovely stay and excellent value!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnham-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

I stay away a lot with work and this has to be one of my favourites so far. It's a lovely bed and breakfast about 100m from the beach with views to die for.

I must admit, when I drove up, I was slightly concerned as it looks a bit shabby from the outside. However, I soon realised that it only adds to the character of the place. The room I had was great. Massive bed, very clean, modern bathroom and my view looked right out over the Atlantic. I ate in restaurant and was very pleased with the food. I had grilled hake with roasted tomatoes and potatoes which was fantastic. Very nice ambience as well despite the shockingly bad Ukulele gathering which produced some terrible music. Strangely though, it just added to my experience!

I would highly recommend this B&B. Next time I'm down in Cornwall I shall definitely be avoiding the delights of Newquay and will happily stay here. The one problem some people will find is that there is absolutely zero signal for mobile phones, although I must say, the peace and quiet is much appreciated!

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as a couple recently for a week. The South West Coast path runs next to the dining room end of the hotel, perfect to walk to Perranporth or a couple minutes walk down towards the cove to go the other way to St Agnes Beacon (fantastic views) and beyond. Great range of real ales from their own brewery and newer brews from Skinners and Sharps to try. Thanks to Pete the Brewer for showing us around the brewery - very knowledgable & interesting. Our room was at the back of the hotel - spacious, clean and comfortable. There is no mobile phone signal in the hotel (which is brilliant if you don't want yo be disturbed!) but there is free wifi throughout the building. Lovely cooked breakfast each morning & choice of fruit, cereal & toast too and the evening meals we had were delicious too. The staff were friendly & welcoming and I would stay there again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a couple of nights, and the location is great. There is a really good bar on the ground floor with their own microbrewery. We stayed in two different rooms while we were there. The first room was in the annex over the road, and was clean and comfortable but definitely quite small. The second night was in a much larger room, which had good sea rooms - however the standard of decor and repair in this room was substandard, with cracks around the bathroom ceiling and lots of dust and cobwebs. The sealant around the bath was coming away in places. This room could do with a complete overhaul, especially for the price.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Great location, friendly and helpful staff, good well kept selection of beers, food uncomplicated and well cooked. Room prices good, food prices a bit steep, even for this area. Bedroom was simple and clean. The public areas are in need of some care and attention however, starting with a good clean - surfaces and carpets are pretty sticky - followed by redecoration. This is a decent pub, but it's AA 4* rating as an inn is wildly optimistic.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didcot, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We had a seaview room which was small but clean and tidy but basic.Can't beleive you can have exposed wires in a bathroom. The breakfast they served was a large Cornish and was hot and tasty in a restaurant that lacked atmosphere. The walls on the stairs to the bedroom were covered in mould and smelt of damp so a job for the housekeeper to rectify. The bar was well stocked with their local real ales and very tasty. It seems they encourage dogs but not always a pleasant experince when you are sitting having a meal in the bar.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Driftwood Spars B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Driftwood Spars B & B

Address: Trevaunance Cove, St Agnes TR5 0RT , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Agnes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in St Agnes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Driftwood Spars B & B 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
The Driftwood Spars Hotel St Agnes
The Driftwood Spars B & B St Agnes, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Driftwood Spars B & B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.