We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Driftwood Spars B & B

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St Agnes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Driftwood Spars B & B
Save
You added The Driftwood Spars B & B to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Trevaunance Cove, St Agnes TR5 0RT , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in St Agnes
Amersham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“nice place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

stayed at the driftwood in september, very nice rooms, lovely location and a good breakfast. The only minus point would be the dinner in the the restaurant was not up to a very good standard. The bar area is very popular with the locals and if a good band is on the place is packed to the rafters, so if you want to party you will enjoy it but certainly not a place to chill out.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    62
    18
    23
    10
See reviews for
29
91
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I must apologise for the late writing of this review but i've wanted to show our appreciation for a while so here it is:

We stayed here for 3 nights in June after the Croyde Oceanfest and it was an excellent and chilled out break. We were met by a pvery professional young chap who could only have been 13 or so but was on the balla and polite. We got our room key and the room was excalty as expected, clean, comfortable and with the excellent sea view as promised.

The bar serves an excellent array of local beers and their hoebrew is both varied and refreshing.
Food in the restaurant was exceptional and good sized portions, otherwise there is a traditional fish and chip shop opposite.
Only a coupld of minutes from the beach, you have everything you need here in St AGnes for a chilled out break. very impressed, especially for the money.

MIke

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Sea, sand and yes, at times sun. Plus, evening bands. (Fri & Sat), at no cost, if you don't count somewhat expensive bar drinks, but that is relative.
Many would say hotel is in a perfect position, 200mtrs or less from shoreline.
Hotel has its own car park with designated spaces for persons staying.
Bar is comfortable, atmospheric, filled with a mixed clientele, you may not want to leave! Very dog friendly, unfortunately.
Has three bars in total, none have a price list, I asked three staff and they said `we don't keep a price list`, is that legal?
Room was reasonably spacious and comfortable, and very quiet despite the hotel being packed out and people enjoying themselves till late hours of the morning.
Breakfast was good without being exceptional, but full english is cooked to order.
Found the staff to be very helpful and pleasant, despite being under pressure, this is a very, very popular haunt and in all deserves the success it obviously has.

Room Tip: Ask for detail in what you are looking for, and ask to see the room. Stairs are steep and if on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed yet again at The Driftwood in a room over the road from the main hotel. Lovely room, if a little noisy from upstairs guests.
Staff all very friendly and welcoming. Excellent breakfast.
Parking was a problem on the night when group played at the pub as my allocated space had been taken as had ALL other parking. I parked in only available staff bay, but no idea what would happen if this had been taken. Parking needs to be addressed urgently.
Apart from that would thoroughly recommend

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I was searching google for somewhere different to visit for a quick and this place came up. we made the short trip from crantock to st agnes and was over the moon when we pulled up outside.

this is a very attractive pub in a great olde world setting. we only popped in for drinks but could see the food they were serving to other guest and and can say that the food looked great.

We did have our dog with us which wasnt a problem as he was also welcomed in.

We have already planned to eat here when we return in to cornwall in october.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewkerne
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This place brings back such happy memories of yesteryear. A beautiful beach, rock pools that you only find in designer photos but you're actually in them! This is film set stuff, which apparently it has been, and Annon and spouse have just spent a couple of days there at the Driftwood. You must remember that this place advertises itself as a "pub with rooms" and as long as you don't forget that, it's great.
A traditional local's pub downstairs serving pub grub - all the usual fayre - although I have to point out that £10 for a crab sandwich was slightly over the top and my cheese sandwich was made with stale bread ( I should have sent it back, my fault because I know there would have been no problem and a fresh one served). The hake I had for supper was the finest I've ever tasted and cooked to perfection. We had dinner in the restaurant that night, slightly lacking in atmosphere but fabulous view towards the sea. The following evening we spent outside before we ate, with the locals. Makes you wonder why we don't up sticks and move down to join them. We ate in the upstairs bar/restaurant - full of atmosphere, being part of the original building.
The room no 2 as a previous "tripper" had been allocated, was fine although perhaps needs updating, as it is a little tied, but, clean and comfortable.
Will we be back?
Oh yes, yes most definitely.

Room Tip: We only saw the one room no 2, would suggest you request a room away from the kitchen extractor fans...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

just returned from a week staying here and although enjoyed our stay, i wouldn't class it as 4 star. the room we had...no.2 was nice,spacious-big enough for our big boxer dog to lay out!- clean but just felt like it needed a face lift!! the canopy over the bed had dust in it along with untold how many dead flies, the wallpaper was dirty and peeling in some places and we only had one very small wardrobe to hang our clothes. these might sound like little picky points but when you read 4star you expect better.
the food was ok...some dishes better than others but the breakfast every morning was brill..lots of choice and good sized fried brekkie!
the very short stroll to the beach is great apart from coming up...very steep little slope!!!
the pub itself has lots of choices of local brews and the staff were always friendly
been coming to cornwall for over 40 years- on and off- so know it really well give this place a fresh overall and we'll return

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Driftwood Spars B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Driftwood Spars B & B

Address: Trevaunance Cove, St Agnes TR5 0RT , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Agnes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in St Agnes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Driftwood Spars B & B 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
The Driftwood Spars Hotel St Agnes
The Driftwood Spars B & B St Agnes, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Driftwood Spars B & B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.