We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer care was second to none” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beacon Country House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Beacon Country House Hotel to your Saves list
Beacon Country House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Goonvrea Road, St Agnes TR5 0NW , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in St Agnes
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Customer care was second to none”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

John (Cornish) and Lorenna (Welsh) are 'Celtic' charm personified! Really, they couldn't have done more to welcome us and ensure a wonderful honeymoon. We enjoyed their best room (Rm 1) and undivided attention. At an unseasonable time of year we were their only guests and, so, enjoyed the luxury of a personal chef, Steve, who skills and imagination were excellent. As a bonus , we were encouraged to order whatever we fancied! As keen walkers this was a very good base to 'walk from the door'. There's a very good breakfast menu that set us up for 25 miles in two days with 'pit-stops' for luncheon at the Miners Arms and the Victory Inn: We also tried out 'Taste' a new bistro style restaurant with an imaginative menu and cosy ambience in the village; I was a tad disappointed but my wife thought it was excellent. To conclude, we can well understand why guests opt to return to the Beacon, as we will and have no hesitation in recommending it..

Room Tip: Room 1, is double aspect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    16
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
65
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Epsom, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Nothing to find fault with. The welcome was wonderful and the hotel was spotless. We had two evening meals there and the cost was very reasonable. All helped by St. Agnes never failing to impress with its majestic coastline.

Room Tip: We were in room 1 not mentioned by other guests although we found it more than acceptable with lovel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Proprietors very friendly and welcoming. Stout breakfast provided if required - fresh fruit choice was a little limited.
Accommodation, for us, was disappointing in the triple room on the ground floor, with beds on the small/firm side and not much room to move around in.
The shower is about adequate just, but there is no shelving in the en-suite for personal items and it's all a bit cramped.
I think other rooms are probably better equipped, but this one needs a bit of a revamp and maybe more sound insulation between floors as we could hear early morning sounds from room above!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed here in early October. This is an excellent hotel run by wonderful hosts who thoroughly deserve the high praise they receive through Trip Adviser. John and Lorenna work so hard to ensure their guests enjoy both their stay and their Cornish break. A warm sincere welcome, help with luggage, first class rooms, a great staff and delicious food. No worries about where to park. No worries about traffic noise. A splendid and relaxing location. I doubt it can be bettered in the whole of Cornwall.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This hotel thoroughly deserves its Trip Advisor rating. John, Lorena and their family are the most welcoming hoteliers we have come across. Myself and my husband stayed at this lovely hotel for our honeymoon in August and we were welcomed as soon as we stepped through the door and were made to feel very special indeed. Nothing was too much trouble John and Lorena were more than happy to answer a question or to make a suggestion. The food at breakfast and in the evening was absolutely delicious and the rooms were very comfortable and absolutely spotless. The hotel is also very well situated to enjoy most of cornwall at its best, especially if you enjoy walking as much as we do. Thank you John and Lorena, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and we definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feltham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Thanks to John and his team for a wonderful stay at their hotel. This is a truly outstanding hotel, we stayed in superior rooms for two nights, which were immaculately clean, and decorated/furnished to a very high standard. Fantastic views from the rooms. Food was great and chef even baked a birthday cake for us!. It really was a warm and friendly place to stay.. Can't say enough good things about this place...hope to go back soon .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Exceptionally friendly staff - nothing is too much trouble. You can tell how much the owners enjoy running the hotel. The rooms are well laid out, clean and have pretty much what you need. We only stayed B&B so didn't get chance to sample the evening menu but if the breakfast was anything to go by, it promises to be excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will undoubtly return.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beacon Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Country House Hotel

Address: Goonvrea Road, St Agnes TR5 0NW , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Agnes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in St Agnes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Beacon Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Beacon Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Country Hotel
Beacon Country House Hotel St Agnes, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beacon Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.