We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easter break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beacon Country House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Beacon Country House Hotel to your Saves list
Beacon Country House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Goonvrea Road, St Agnes TR5 0NW , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in St Agnes
droitwich
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Easter break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

We had a late check-in due to distance of travelling gratfully appreciated, very welcoming and friendly, lovely location and beach ten min walk amazing....visited lands end only took 25mins by car, the place where my fiancee proposed to me! Our room was very clean and bed extremley comfortable, breakfast was relaxing and food was good, one of the best places i have been too, higher rated hotels dont give a personal touch but this one did, was worth every penny and would go back in near future with my mother-in-law too. thanks for a lovely stay deb and trev x

Room Tip: book early...good rooms are booked out first but our room was still good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    16
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
65
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
bodmin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Wow, what a fantastic hotel with superb hospitality and views. We visited on a mini-honeymoon and were made to feel special throughout our stay. John and Lorena are warm, welcoming and jolly hosts who make you feel relaxed and welcome. We enjoyed both the breakfast and evening meal during our stay. Both were superbly cooked. The menu gave a range of choices and catered for all. The food was faultless and we left both evening meals and both breakfast sittings fit to burst! The hotel provides fantastic views out over West Cornwall and is well situated to provide easy access to a range of coastal and morrland walks. What a fantastic trip- we will surely visit again!

Room Tip: Room 2 has panoramic views for miles of moorland and coast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Devon
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We have just had our second visit to this family run hotel and found it to be equally as good as the first visit - some 18 months ago. It is situated in an excellent location for exploring Cornwall, within it's own grounds and having a fantastic outlook overlooking St Ives Bay. The view is stunning. The hospitality is amazing: guests are made to feel so welcome and nothing is too much trouble. The food is plentiful, varied, beautifully cooked and served with much of it being locally sourced.
Rooms are clean, tidy, well presented and all recently decorated. Nothing can be faulted.
Book your stay at this hotel and you will not be disappointed.
Do not miss the opportunity of walking to the top of the Beacon at the back of the hotel. The view from the top is well worth it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

I went down to Cornwall to see my daughter at the weekend and ended up staying in the Beacon Country House Hotel and would highly recommend anyone going to the area to do likewise.The owners offer everyone a warm welcome and couldn't be more helpful. The hotel is in a beautiful location, the rooms are clean and tidy,the beds are excellent to sleep in and breakfast is five star.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012 via mobile

One of the cleanest hotels I have stayed at for a long while. Owners extremely helpful, maybe a little over powering , but better than way. Food from breakfast to dinner most enjoyable. Go for the fish !!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

This hotel is quite probably the friendliest and most generous spirited hotel we have ever stayed in. The welcome is first class as is the relaxing atmosphere - as others have noted in their reviews, nothing is too much trouble.
First came here last year and had no hesitation in booking again when the opportunity arose to return to St Agnes; will definitely be back as it is a wonderful place to stay - wish we were there for longer. Room well appointed with plenty of space, comfortable bed and fantastic view. Food excellent quality with good range of options for breakfast and dinner.
Very refreshing to stay somewhere without the "mass production clone" impression given by so many hotels - this hotel is different. Special.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

Very clean, very friendly, beautiful location, quiet, good food. Just couldn't have asked for more. Already booked for this summer and trying to convince my wife that we should also book for the post Christmas/new year period.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beacon Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Country House Hotel

Address: Goonvrea Road, St Agnes TR5 0NW , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Agnes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in St Agnes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Beacon Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Beacon Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Country Hotel
Beacon Country House Hotel St Agnes, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beacon Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.