We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best ever Easter Holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Perran View Holiday Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Agnes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Perran View Holiday Park
Save
You added Perran View Holiday Park to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Trevellas, St Agnes TR5 0XS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
“Best ever Easter Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

we have been to a few Jhon fowler holidays but Perran view has got to be the best the stripeys were amazing and the chefs food was delicious the apartment was really clean and looked after we had no problems it was a great location. Cant wait to go back in August to see everyone again it was amazing so I don't understand why there is any negative feed back. The receptionist could have not been more helpful when my mums wheelchair broke and when she and her partner needed a number for the dentist. There was one bad thing when my mum went to hospital and me and one other person got left to stay up as we had a little boy with us we feel asleep and when my mums partner phoned the in case of an emergency number nobody answered so they had to sleep in the car until one of us woke up but other than that definitely go to Perran View and while there vist Landsend and Perranporth. Istayed there for 7 days and I could not have asked for more out of it.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Perran View Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
What a wonderful 5 star review, thank you, we really appreciate it. Your comments have been passed onto all departments.

We are extremely proud of our entertainments team this year, the effort they put in is amazing. They are all doing a brilliant job, and work extremely hard to ensure everyone has a great holiday. I am also delighted to hear that you enjoyed our catering - I will pass on your remarks.

We look forward to welcoming you back in August.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    72
    34
    34
    65
See reviews for
206
31
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cullompton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We've just come back from a three night break at Perran View. Having read the negative reviews before we went, we were feeling a bit pessimistic about what we were going to find but we need not have worried. The chalet was clean, well equipped with everything we needed including heating which we did need thanks to the British weather and though a little tired, it was very comfortable. We were greeted warmly when we arrived and and felt happy that if we did have any complaints (which we didnt) that they would be dealt with quickly. We didn't use any of the entertainment facilities except the play park so cannot comment on on this, though the swimming pool did look clean and very inviting. Yes, the chalets are grey and not especially pretty to look at but there weren't endless rows of them like there are endless rows of mobile homes at most holiday parks and we had views over a ploughed field one way and views over the central green area and play park with far reaching country views the other way which were very pleasant. If you're looking for luxury accommodation then you'll be disappointed but if you want somewhere to stay thats comfortable, inexpensive and in an excellent location then perran view is a great place to stay. We will certainly be going back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Perran View Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you very much for leaving us such a fantastic review, we really appreciate it. Your comments have been passed to all departments.

We are at a loss to understand why some people post such poor reviews for all to see. This is something that is general throughout the industry - we are not the only victims. Sadly, review sites are anonymous and it is virtually impossible to trace the reviewer and investigate their comments..

You are quite correct about the park setting. With just over 100 units and lots of open space, it enables our guests to have a nice quiet stay in pleasant surroundings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Having read the bad reviews, we came armed with cleaning materials but they were not needed. There were some issues with the place which we reported and the maintenance man was very helpful.
It could be an old army camp and the site does need some TLC and updating.
However it is cheap and cheerful and in a great location for visiting the fabulous beaches, etc nearby.
The staff were great and we had to race back every evening for the Foxy club which our little one absolutely loved.
If you have high standards then this is not the place for you but as you get what you pay, it was great value and we would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Perran View Holiday Park, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at our holiday park and for leaving such a honest review.

Your comments have been passed to all departments and our housekeeping team will be especially delighted to read your thoughts.

We really hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

The park kind of looks a little like a war camp or concentration camp. Identical grey building. The grounds could do with freshening up. We didn't have kids with us but we did go to the bar for a drink on the first night. We didn't return maybe it would have seemed a little better had we taken children with us.
The apartment itself was basic. The bathroom was dirty my mum went out to buy cleaning products to give it a good fettle. Thankfully the weather was lovely so we didn't spend much time in the apartment.

On the plus side the location of it is excellent. Perranporth is a lovely little town. It's also easy to get to attractions such as lost gardens of helligan, eden project, newquay etc. It's also much cheaper than other places in Cornwall.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Perran View Holiday Park, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at our holiday park. You are quite right, Cornwall is such a remarkable county – so much to see and do.

With regard to the bathroom, if you had informed the park manager of your displeasure while you were on the park, he would have insisted the cleaners came back and did it properly - it is always so difficult to deal with the issues after you have returned home. There is certainly no need to “grin and bear it” or do the work yourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harwich
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

we stayed here by a sun holiday so cant really compalin as was chea but still!
we got keys to apartment that was dirty! there was washing up in the sink to start with . so we complained and got moved when we moved we got another apartment the bed was dirty and the sofa was broken. we moaned they changed the bed. and we arrived on a friday and change over day is saturday so the cleaners were out in apartments on the saturday morning at 6 shouting abuse at each other it was awfull i would not recomend anyone going here!!!!!

Room Tip: DONT bother dont go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick J, Guest Relations Manager at Perran View Holiday Park, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
I was saddened to read your remarks regarding your stay at our holiday park. However, we do not ignore negative reviews and your remarks are being passed on to the park manager so that improvements may be made in the interest of future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

We have been coming with the kids for years now we had unit 2 which was lovely and cosy it had been refurbished, the food was great and entertainment team suezan barry and jess are amazing a credit to the site, I was a bit annoyed has for family reasons I had to book four days instead of a week but really wanted to stay til sat so booked another night for forty pounds which I thought was a bargain til I got to the site and on check in I could of paid 25 pounds only so emailed in total six times to john fowlers who didn't answer back!! And another down side was a rather chopsy barman named kevin who was a bit too personal with customers and rude!! I couldn't believe that suezan and barry on their last night wasn't presented with anything for their hard work and dedication to the site apparently the manager couldn't make it but was stood at the bar drinking, such a shame they will be missed badly and doubt most of the regular hoilday makers will be back

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick J, Guest Relations Manager at Perran View Holiday Park, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at our holiday park. We certainly do not ignore any constructive criticism and perhaps there are some areas that could be improved in the interest of future guests.

With regard to the extra-day charge anomaly, the booking office will investigate and will be contacting you shortly.

Your comments have been passed on to all departments and we really hope that you will visit us again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

We got to the park quite late on the Sat evening as we had a really long journey, but check in was fast and soon we were in our apartment. The apartment was basic but homely some of the decor was a bit dated but we weren't planning on staying in the room much anyway, my only complaint really was that we have 4 children and our apartment had two single bedrooms and a double bedroom however the double bed was upstairs and one of the singles was downstairs and I would rather not have my children down by the kitchen or the front door, but it isn't really a big issue as it would have been too much hassle to change so I never complained. The kids loved the playground and the crazy golf although the golf does need a bit of attention. We all enjoyed the swimming pool it was well maintained and clean.

The reception and bar staff were friendly, pleasant and helpful, even though it was the last week of the season they still had time for a chat and a joke.

They don't really have a restaurant but we found that the kitchen staff worked hard to please you, we had a delicious Sunday roast, we found it a bit unnerving as we were sitting by the bar but the area was closed and I think it was more because we got there late on the Sat so had never been in there more than anything else and then the chef brought out ice creams for the kids after, I thought that was a nice touch.

I found the arcade area to be a bit tired my children loved the air hockey, table football and the pool table but there were no actual games for them to play, the car racing game didn't work the whole time we were there and the screen was pink anyway, other than that there were only really fruit machines which didn't interest them.

The entertainment staff were brilliant my kids all absolutely loved Spongebob Barry, Jess and Suezan, none of my kids wanted to go home! And even though it was the last week of the season and Barry and Suezan were leaving, they worked hard to keep everybody happy right til the end, my youngest Izy said she didn't like Freddie fox because he scared her but she loved Spongebob!

All in all we had a great time and would definitely go back if we got the opportunity to!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick J, Guest Relations Manager at Perran View Holiday Park, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review.

Your comments have been passed to all departments, especially the entertainments and catering teams, who will be delighted to hear your thoughts.

We really hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Perran View Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Perran View Holiday Park

Address: Trevellas, St Agnes TR5 0XS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Agnes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in St Agnes
Hotel Class:3 star — Perran View Holiday Park 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Also Known As:
John Fowler Holiday Park At Perran View Hotel Perranporth
Perran View Holiday Park St Agnes, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Perran View Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.