We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alright for what you pay.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Perran View Holiday Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Agnes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Perran View Holiday Park
Save
You added Perran View Holiday Park to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Trevellas, St Agnes TR5 0XS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Stockport, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Alright for what you pay.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Me and my new wife took our 3 year old son here and it was ok, Reading through some of the reviews on here it seems we were lucky, We stayed in number 13 as well.

Very basic, Single glased rooms, Very cold and all the windows were wide open when we arrived which makes me suspect that there may have been a damp smell prior to us arriving, we never noticed anything whilst we were there.

The Laundrette is very expensive as is the food in the bar or "chefs corner" as they call it but I was quite upset with my Microvawed pastie as it was my first experience of a "proper" cornish pastie and it was obviously Microwaved as it was soggy. and from then on we just ate in every night, The Fridge (With built in freezer) and the Microwave Seemed fairly new but as for the rest of the appliances they were not, Looks like they took the cooker and kettle from my mums Kitchen sometime in the mid 90's.

The upstairs seemed like it had been "Bodged" together many years ago, the bathroom especially, The bedding seemed cleen but the bed was freezing and quite uncomfortable, There is NO central heating but the heaters that are on the walls wich were little or no use, my wife pulled up one of the sofas closer to the heater downstairs and still complained she were cold.

The Tv did work...On some channels mojority of them diddnt work, as we had a 3 year old we went to the "Foxy Club" until 8 then we headed back to the room. as for any repairs they were pretty shoddy, The little handle on the lock of the smallest bathroom in the world had obvioulsy been pulled/snapped/fell off and replaced with a screw. The Sofa was one of the most uncomfortable things I had ever sat on, Now we shall move onto the "Foxy Club"

Well it may have been the time of year we went but it wasnt so much of a club more like a Free for all for your Kids, The club started at 6pm and finished at 7pm all it is they put some loud music on and the lights for 3/4th of an hour and let the Kids run around While Barry Makes balloon animals (He was brilliant and a really nice guy, Hope he and his wife enjoy there retirement) then at around 7.45pm the curtains would open and out would come a Giant animal were there would be a song and a dance, Few photos and thats it. game over. the animal goes away and the kids can run around again whilst John fowler staff sells there Bingo Tickets.

There is an on site shop which did seem so stock the essentials Bread, Milk, Eggs, Bacon, Beer and the most expensive cigarettes I have ever bought in my life as I had ran out and had no choice. If you do stay here its very very very very very advisable that you drive as there is very little to occupy the kids during the day time and with Perranporth & St Agnes 2ish miles away there good places to take them as there is a beach at both and shops as the onsite one is open from 7am until 8.30am and again the same kind of hours in the evening (Times from memory)

But all in all like I said its OK, For what we paid it was liveable......Small & very basic but liveable, im just glad it was only a week we stayed and not the 2 we had initially intended on doing.

Room Tip: you dont get to choose, One gets allocated to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick J, Guest Relations Manager at Perran View Holiday Park, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at our holiday park. As you can read, most reviews paint a totally different picture.

It is not true to say " You don't get to choose, One gets allocated to you". If you are not happy with your accommodation, it is far better to tell someone at the time, rather than wait until you get home to air your views.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    72
    34
    34
    65
See reviews for
206
31
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

We came away had a brilliant holiday it's great for all family e.g families, children and every1 will Defo come again, the entertainment was gd Barry and Suezan and jess was lovely there's loads to do on the park with the kids and you have got a big green area so you can play on there too, there's even a shop on the site what sells everything

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick J, Guest Relations Manager at Perran View Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review.

Your comments have been passed on to all departments, especially the entertainments team, who will be delighted to hear your thoughts.

We really hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ash Surrey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Love this place been yearly for 5years now yes you get what you pay for on the accommodation side but the staff and entertainments team are the most wonderful people ever and all go that extra mile!!! My daughter has learning difficulties speach and mobility issues and autistic behaviour and she is welcomed and included in all the kids stuff I will continue to be back year after year!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick J, Guest Relations Manager at Perran View Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
What a wonderful review, thank you, we really appreciate it.

Your praise will mean so much to the management and staff at the park. They all work extremely hard to make everyone’s stay enjoyable.

We hope to welcome you again for another 5 years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

me and my familey have been for 3 year i think nrunning although u must go off site but it it a brill place to go at night wh hav eere there is bingo open the box and quizes also you have the AMAZING staff they are brill then u get to no them it is GREAT

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick J, Guest Relations Manager at Perran View Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
What a wonderful review, thank you, we really appreciate it.

Your praise will mean so much to the management and staff at the park. They all work extremely hard to make everyone’s stay enjoyable.

We hope to welcome you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Lovely holiday clean villa although basic, wonderful staff and good food, very quiet when we went but thats what you get for going on holiday out of season, but the Entertainments team tried their best with the limited people in the club house. We loved party night only about 20 of us in but Suezan got everyone up and taking part, cabarets were really good as well but could of done with more of them but i guess when it would be a waste of money with few people around. So sorry Suezan and Barry are leaving I am sure it will effect the park as we won't be back because of this the company should find some way of persuading them to still be a part of things as after four years for them to go is going to be pretty odd. Thank you for a great holiday

Room Tip: P)rivate units are better than fowlers
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick J, Guest Relations Manager at Perran View Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review.

Your comments have been passed on to all departments, especially the housekeeping team, who will be delighted to hear your thoughts.

You are quite right, of course, this year's entertainments team will be a hard act to follow. But don't be too down-hearted, our agent has a knack for finding good people as he has proved in the past.

We really hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

the entertainment team here are fantastic, they make the holiday fantastic and they are the reason that we have returned for 4 years in a row if it wasnt for the entertainment team then we may not have returned so many times... all i can say is a huge thank you to the entertainment team... I would recommend Perran View to anyone :-)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick J, Guest Relations Manager at Perran View Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you very much for leaving us such a fantastic review, we really appreciate it. Your comments have been passed onto all departments.

We are extremely proud of our entertainments team this year, the effort they put in is amazing. They are all doing a brilliant job, and work extremely hard to ensure everyone has a great holiday.

We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We had our 3rd holiday at PerranView in June`12 to celebrate our 30th Wedding anniversary with members of the family, The accomodation allocated to us was clean when we arrived and we soon settled in. I`ve read elsewhere that the place resembles a council estate or an army camp, so what ? No shame in coming from a council estate , we certainly never earned enough to buy our own house but that`s for another forum. During our stay there were no `jeremy kyle` types about and other holidaymakers appeared to be having a good time. The weather could`ve been kinder to us but, This is england after all ! The clubhouse hadn`t changed a bit when we went in and we were glad to see Suezan & Spongebob again, they really do work hard to make sure people have a good time, personally i don`t drink that much but my husband was happy to see his favourite ale on sale at the bar. Can things be improved ? Well, the car park could do with re surfacing and the properties could do without the `pebble dash` look but that`s only my opinion. We will probably visit again next year but there will be a new entertainment team then as the current team are moving on and we as a family wish them all the best for the future.

Room Tip: Book early !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick J, Guest Relations Manager at Perran View Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you very much for leaving us such a fantastic review, we really appreciate it. Your comments have been passed onto all departments.

We simply do not understand why some people choose to post negative reviews, when all the staff work really hard to make everyone feel welcome.

We hope to welcome you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Perran View Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Perran View Holiday Park

Address: Trevellas, St Agnes TR5 0XS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Agnes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in St Agnes
Hotel Class:3 star — Perran View Holiday Park 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Also Known As:
John Fowler Holiday Park At Perran View Hotel Perranporth
Perran View Holiday Park St Agnes, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Perran View Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.