We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dining Room

The Dining Room
Pavillion Buildings | Rock Road, Rock PL27 6JS, England
+44 1208 862622
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 11 Restaurants in Rock
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: A small, family run restaurant in Rock, Cornwall
Welford Upon Avon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Having had a holiday home in Rock for the past two years we have tried most of the restaurants in the area including those in Padstow but had somehow managed to miss out this one despite being the nearest to our house.

What a fantastic surprise to find the food experience is the best of the lot. The exterior is not so inspiring but once inside the service and food easily make up fo it.

Brian and Vicki

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    12
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newquay, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Just wonderful...go & experience it!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

A friend and I decided to go this little restaurant as we've been promising ourselves all summer. We only wished we tried it sooner!
We decided to share a starter as my friend wanted to have dessert but had insisted that she couldn't do it all so we shared the plaice which was delicious. All the flavours mingled in quite well & we were both 'oohing' and 'ahhhing' over it!
For our mains I had opted for the venison & my friend had the chicken. My venison was cooked to perfection & we just couldn't stop gushing how good it all was. These are quite big dishes but we finished the whole lot as it was too good waste!
After all that we decided to share a dessert! We are small people but really just wanted something small to end the evening so we went for the apple tart with the blackberries and it was just perfect! We ate every last crump!
We had such a lovely evening, the atmosphere was warm & friendly. Even on a quiet Wednesday evening, they still seemed relativity busy.
We really enjoyed all the little extras that we had before our meal, particularly the spiced butternut squash cracker & the little soup in a tea cup with truffle pasta. The attention to detail were just amazing! Even the cute petit fours, such a lovely touch to go with our coffee's!
I could gush forever about this place so if you've not tried going here or have wondered about it, then go as you won't be dissappointed!!


    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Ok people! We can all say we've eaten here there and everywhere; but I've never had a 3 course meal ordered off the menu that was this good for this kind of money. This restaurant has 5 stars for a reason. Go now!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torpoint, Cornwall.
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“An Amazing Dining Experience!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Spotted this restaurant online while trying to find somewhere new to eat while at our caravan in Newquay last week, and although it took us about 40 minutes of windy roads to get there and back, it was more than worth the effort. Although this is only a small restaurant, the attention to detail was exceptional from the decor, the music, the tablewear, the welcome, the service and the superb food & wine. We had to try all 3 courses and all were excellent aswell as the little nibbles brought out at the beginning, the 2 types of home made bread with their own churned butter, but my personal favourites were the potato & white truffle veloute with a parmesan pasta parcel on top (Not exactly what it was called, but heaven in a tiny cup), the dark chocolate Delice dessert. YUMMY! and the Merlot was Stunning. This Chef obviously enjoys what he is doing and I think every single thing we ate was 'homemade'. I can't wait until our next visit to Newquay next year so we can go back again as this was one of the best meals we have ever had, and not over priced to make it out of our reach. Very well done!! My one and only annoyance was that as usual we forgot to take our camera out so I could not take photos of the food!!, but I will next time.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This was a new restaurant for us. A friend suggested we try it and see how it goes one night.
Wow what a wonderful experience. Quiet understated welcome with a very friendly welcome and then very good service with all our questions answered with confidence.All six of us enjoyed our meals and were wowed by the taste combinations and high quality cuisine. The meals varied from Monkfish, Chicken and Venison.
We will certainly be going back. Probably in November and December when we understand they are doing 3 courses for £30.
A great restaurant.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dining Room also viewed

 

Been to The Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dining Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.