We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience the high standard of food at a reasonable price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Outlaw's

Outlaw's
St Enodoc Hotel, Rock, England
01208 862 737
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Outlaw's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 11 Restaurants in Rock
Price range: $47 - $70
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Overlooking the Camel estuary, Outlaw’s at the St. Enodoc Hotel is the perfect place for a memorable meal, showcasing modern British Seafood cookery and locally sourced meat. In fine weather diners are able to enjoy their meal whilst taking in the fantastic view from the terrace.
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
250 helpful votes 250 helpful votes
“Experience the high standard of food at a reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Nathan Outlaw runs a 2 star fine dining restaurant within the St Enodoc Hotel. But he also run the Seafood & Grill Restaurant which also boasts very high quality cuisine as well as stocking rather fine wines at affordable prices. The front of house Staff are very helpful, extremely knowledgeable and they will ensure your dining experience is up to and equal to that of the fine dining restaurant.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    57
    36
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
cornwall
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Splendid location, lovely food, good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Went for lunch on Sunday with family. With the patchy weather this summer, we were delighted to be able to sit outside! The hotel itself is located overlooking the Camel estuary at Rock and we were able to see the "shrimpers" competing. As we arrived, the waitress greeted us and we chose an outdoor table. Nathan's menu is simple, local, no frills food. I liked the approach, choose a fish or meat, then a sauce, then some veg. No nonsense. Pickled herring to start, sweet pickled and very tasty, two good meaty fillets with pickled cucumber - then haddock with basil & lime mayo and hand cut chips (I stole a bit of the chilli garlic broccoli from the wife!) good firm fish, beautifully cooked and the mayonnaise set this off well. Staff were a delight, very relaxed atmosphere, would definitely recommend!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Very simple food, well cooked but excessively priced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

The concept at The Seafood and Grill could not be more far removed from that of the 7 course taster menu offering at the Fine Dining Restaurant. Do not go here thinking you're getting a cheaper equivalent without the 3 month waiting list. Although the starter options follow a fairly traditional formula, the main course concept is simple to the extreme - you choose from a selection of fish or meat, select a sauce and add optional sides. There are no "cheffy" plated dishes. Not one.

The complimentary bread was excellent, a second portion gratefully accepted. The raspberry bellini I ordered was a long time in coming and no attempt had been made to clean the spillage on the inside of the glass which was heavily splattered with rather unappetising globules of puree and raspberry seeds.

Dining at midday, we gave starters a miss, opting instead for grilled whole plaice with shellfish sauce and char grilled pork chop with barbeque sauce. The plaice was good but the drizzle of sauce lacked any depth or structure - not the silky, heady nectar I had envisaged. Likewise, the chop was adequate but the sauce again was watery and unable to stand up to the smoky agression of the char-grilled meat. The side dish of broccoli with garlic and chilli was particularly good, as were the new potatoes- though we did find it a little odd that no chips were on offer as surely offerings such as haddock with tartare sauce invite the familiarity of a good english chip

Although the meat and fish were cooked well, we found the pricing structure frustrating and generally very excessive. The frustrating element - £40 for a whole lobster is fairly standard and more than acceptable, £3 for sides expensive but unfortunately quite common. However to charge £20 for a small-average sized plaice is ridiculous, not to mention £19 for mackerel. The profit margin on that is absolutely disgusting. Even if such a dish were garnished to high heaven and executed with great skill, I really would resent paying so far beyond the odds. £3 for four small florets of brocolli?!

Irked by the price tag we opted to share a dessert (all priced at £9, £7 for icecream selection!). The blueberry cheesecake was tastless and needed some citrus or other fruit to enhance the blueberry flavour. There was in fact a rather nasty salty undertone. The yoghurt sorbet was silky but unremarkable. A very small serving and barely more than a generous teaspoon worth of sorbet. I have had many many better desserts for several pounds less.

The service in general was good. Although the terrace was full, the glass wall which fronts the resaturant concertinas out allowing diners at the front of the restauant to have the best of both worlds.

Overall, an OK meal but for the prices charged here, OK is simply not good enough.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Exile 56
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Have the oysters”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We had lunch on the terrace, looking out across the Camel Estuary, with a gentle breeze cooling the warmth of the sun.
Service was friendly, informative and attentive.
I'm not a lover of oysters, but my wife is. She had oysters to start and I had mussels. To have an opinion, I tasted the oysters. Wow! They were magnificent. With a simple shallot and vinegar dressing, they were succulent. The mussels were also lovely.
We both had the char grilled mackerel. Tender, moist and tasty, it did not need the basil and lime mayonnaise.
The wine list is interesting and not exorbitant.
It was our second visit in 2 years and will be back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Worth it for the view only”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

We had wanted to eat here despite the mixed reviews as we had eaten at Rick Stein's the night before we wanted to compare. In short there is no comparison with Mr.Stein's our preferred option, even the fish we had for breakfast there was more expertly cooked and presented than Nathan Outlaw's. When we go out to eat we want to be impressed by the ability of the kitchen and not comment that we could have done better ourselves. The service was pleasant and attentive and the view is very special, however as an eating experience it is very ordinary. The concept of choosing your fish, sauce and veg is a good one but when the average cost of this is over £30 per person it would be fair to assume that this would be fabulous unfortunately it isn't. The bread (made with doom bar beer and cheese) was delicious but the plaice was swimming in a clumsy oil,garlic and herb dressing and sea bass(ok) was served with lime and basil mayonnaise (delicious). A fennel and radish salad was mostly mixed leaves and very under dressed. We wanted to try deserts to see if that was the high point and whilst they were better than the fish they did not represent value for money. Two scoops of icecream and a wafer for £7.00 and strawberries and burnt clotted cream with strawberry sorbet for £9.00 delicious but no great skill involved and overpriced as it was tiny. Our bill with a soft drink each and a 10% service charge added on was £80. We have no problem paying money for good food but this felt ever so much like we were being ripped off.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Outlaw's also viewed

 

Been to Outlaw's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outlaw's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.