We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended and doggy friendly.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tzitzikama Lodge

Tzitzikama Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tzitzikama Lodge
Save
You added Tzitzikama Lodge to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Rock Road, Rock PL27 6NP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Rock B&B and Inns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Highly recommended and doggy friendly.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Tzitzikama lodge is in such a lovely area of Cornwall. So close to lovely restaurants and bars. Very clean, light and airy hotel room. Extremely spacious room. Bathroom was clean and modern with a fantastic power shower. Really comfortable and great value for money. We took our dog (a 7 month old Great Dane) who was made very welcome throughout our stay. Breakfast was freshly made and plentiful. Very tasty indeed. I would definitely go back and highly recommend others to go there.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    12
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
13
28
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Needing to stay in Rock, but not willing to pay the St Enodoc rates when we are also paying full whack for a meal at Nathan Outlaw's restaurant, we found a remarkable lack of choice in the locality, so Tzitzikama Lodge it was.
The stay didn't start well - we were in reception for upwards of 10 minutes, trying the offered phone line etc to get some attention, until the lady (owner?) turned up. It was her we had seen leaving the site just as we were getting out of our car!
The overall impression is of 'bland', as if someone has taken the decorating principle of 'neutral' to its extreme.
The room was spacious, well equipped, comfortable etc. The biggest surprise though was to be resting on the bed and then seeing other guests walking past our window. It turns out that there is another exit from the b&b that leads right past our room's window, so curtains had to be drawn.
Breakfast choice was extensive enough, though if you want 'continental' you have to tell them the evening before or be prepared to wait 30 mins + as they cook the bread products to order.

My full english was ok (shame that, like most places now it is hash browns rather than fried bread on offer) but of particular note was that the toast was also a member of the bland club, having hardly seen any heat. It was practically still bread. Also I cannot recall when, if ever, when opting for my morning coffee it came as a single cupfull rather than a cafitiere or some ready means of accessing a machine for refill (though I accept I didn't aks so don't know if a refill would have been given).

So, not much wrong with the place for a bried stay, just mostly bland.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Been staying here on and off for over 10 years and it ofers a perfect base for our annual golf jolly down to North Cornwall.
Management and staff always welcoming and friendly.
Usually stay in one of the rooms as opposed to the self catering apartments. These are always clean, spacious (ensuite too) and reasonably modern sanitary ware and fittings.
A decent full English breakfast with a couple of other choices (kippers and the like) but I always go for the former.
No bar and very quiet but that suits us as there are plenty of decent pubs and restaurants within a 15-30 minute drive.
Excellent location for a leisurely walk down to Rock, exploration of the bay, a short ferry trip to Padstow or just exploring the wonderful area of North Cornwall.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towcester
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in one of the self catering studios. The room was very spacious and had double doors onto a little patio area (sadly due to the great British weather we didn't get a chance to sit out on it!). The kitchen was well equipped with everything you'd need. There were a few small stains on cushions and the walls but nothing too off putting. The location is great, local shops (spar, fishmonger, baker, butcher, deli and an excellent chippy) are a 2 min walk and it's only a short stroll into Rock itself which has some nice bars, lovely beach etc. Try the dining room restaurant which is only about 100 yards away - it is excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We have been enjoying Tzitzikama Lodge in Rock for the past 10 years or so. Why do we keep returning? Obviously, it is where we want to be... The stretch of the North Cornwall coast from Padstow to Boscastle calls us every year for our holidays & short breaks. Why choose Tzitzikama Lodge of all the places to stay in the area.. Immaculately clean, large, comfortable rooms, friendly hosts, dog friendly... what more do you need?
No real negatives, occasionally other guests take advantage of the dog friendly status (let their dogs roam around the enclosed back garden - they can find their way into your room if your back door is open) but you can't blame Tzi for this

Room Tip: Get yourself a tide time table. Make sure you use the Rock - Padstow night ferry. The more expensive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daresbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed at Tzitzikama Lodge sept 2011. Ideal location for visiting this great part of Cornwall.Ferry over to Padstow within walking distance. Clean and comfortable room. Great cooked breakfast with selection of lovely home -made marmalades and jams. Fridge in lounge/breakfast room for guests to help themselves to fresh milk - a really nice touch, as I amongst many I am sure, really dislike cartons of longlife milk.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We found the Tzitzikama Lodge to be clean with bright rooms and comfortable beds, well appointed and spotlessly clean. Our room had a shower but other rooms have baths, our children were in a double room which had an enormous bathroom with a shower and a bath. It's about a half mile walk to the beach and there are some good pubs and restaurants to eat and drink at in Rock see front. Their was marmalade available and the coffee was great, still served in cups. Staff friendly and helpful. Wifi available but a little slow compared to what I am used to. All in all we think this is one of the best B&Bs we've ever stayed in in England.

Room Tip: If you prefer a bath ask or you may get a shower. There is parking on site Our room was at the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tzitzikama Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tzitzikama Lodge

Address: Rock Road, Rock PL27 6NP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Rock
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tzitzikama Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Tzitzikama Lodge Rock, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tzitzikama Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.