We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Tomato Cafe

Blue Tomato Cafe
Ferry Point, Rock PL27 6LD, England
+44 1208 863841
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 11 Restaurants in Rock
Price range: $8 - $31
Cuisines: Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Situated on the bank of the Camel Estuary, with amazing views across the water to Padstow. Child friendly, Dog friendly. Kids and dogs menu's! Extensive range of coffee's, tea's, wines and food. Something for everyone, from tea cakes to lobsters........
West Yorkshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“WOW!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

The Blue Tomato was recommended to us and we were not disappointed.

Fantastic greeting and service, from one of the best hosts I have ever met.

Wonderful choice of dishes on the menu, wished I was there for breakfast lunch and supper! However surprisingly as a confirmed meat eater, I was strangely drawn to the Halloumi burger, with a side order of sweet potato fries. Oh my goodness this was sensational! You need to try it!
The other dishes which were being served to other tables all looked equally delicious.
Followed main course up with coffee as too full for pud.. Portions are a good size, it's not the cheapest cafe but you will feel you have received more than value for money!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    86
    38
    23
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“What a lovely place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Outward appearances can be deceiving. We nearly kept on going to find somewhere else. Fortunately, we went on in, and found a bustling resturant, excellent service, and lovely food. We will be going back, when we are next in the area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottershaw, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Now THAT'S a breakfast!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Sunday morning, my birthday and not wanting to cook! We waited for The Blue Tomato to open at 9am and shot in there, although we weren't the first!! We both had a Cornish breakfast, £11 each, but we had: 2 sausages, 2 bacon rashers, tomato, a cup full of baked beans, 2 hash browns, a fried egg, potato wedges AND a round of toast!!! Coffee was extra though... I can't fault the breakfast and I've not eaten anything for the rest of the day!!

I highly recommend the place, the setting is gorgeous, the staff so friendly and open before 10am on a Sunday!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Lunch at the Blue Tomato Cafe 5.11.13”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We had a lovely lunch here. The food was great and the service was most definitely with a smile. So lovely to have happy staff and good food..

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Delightful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We had dinner and lunch during the October half term week - made the point of visiting as we had had such a warm welcome on a previous visit. Very busy and buzzy. Efficient and quirky front of house. The comfortable and casual environment does perhaps mean that people expect lower prices - the food, however, is very special and worth every penny. Child and dog friendly. Very highly recommended. Thank you Blue Tomato.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Tomato Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Blue Tomato Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Tomato Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.