We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kim Wonderful value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lansdowne Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Redruth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lansdowne Guest House
Save
You added Lansdowne Guest House to your Saves list
42 Clinton Road, Redruth TR15 2QE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Redruth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rochester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Kim Wonderful value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed here last week, while visiting my family. I could say it was like home from home, but its better than that. Really cozy room, great shower, and great breakfasts, if a little to much scrabbled eggs, really light and fluffy, you need a big appetite. Was made really welcome and Mark is always checking to make sure you have everything you need. Well placed for High street and bus and train links as well

Room Tip: I had single room facing the tor at the back of the house, so nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
21
18
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed with Mark and Marnie last week and had a great time.

The hotel is a beautiful building and our room was a lovely, bright and airy en-suite with all the facilities you'd expect. The hotel has a library of books to borrow to keep yourself entertained and a tonne of information about things to do in Redruth and Cornwall in general. We even made use of the Wi-Fi which was a lovely touch.

Breakfast was fantastic and Mark made sure that we didn't go hungry. They also have a microwave facility in the dining room in case you need to heat up anything of your own (great for people with babies!)

We left feeling like we definitely wanted to go back to visit as soon as possible, I guess I know where my summer holiday will be this year! Thanks again guys.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Unfortunately I had to travel from Western Australia at extremely short notice, just before Xmas as my grandmother was in a nearby care home and was very ill. My 2 nights turned to 6 nights while i watched my grandmother pass away. The accommodation was lovely and comfortable, and Mark was a true host. To the point where if I had been stuck in redruth due to the severe flooding and weather warnings, I was invited to their family Xmas lunch! Thankfully I made it up to London on Xmas eve so I wasn't alone. Highly recommended to anyone :)

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Wonderful building, wonderful rooms, wonderful breakfast, wonderful hosts... what more can I say? I must say this has to be about the best, most welcoming B&B I`ve ever stayed in, nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are comfy and well appointed and the breakfasts are freshly cooked to order and served with great service and good conversation. Now that I`ve found this wonderful place I know exactly where I`ll be staying when I`m next in the area.Thank you so much Mark and Marnie for your kind hospitality.

Room Tip: Don`t worry if there is only a standard room available, these are still well appointed and the facil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Very clean, smaller room, single bed. Shared bath was very modern and clean. Owner friendly. Breakfast choice of cold Buffett or the traditional English, both very good. Reasonably priced, and close to rail and town centre. Spring water, biscuits tea all in room on arrival. Fridge space available in dining area for guests. They use solar for the hot water, never an issue.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I stayed here for 6 nights, One word describes this Guest House "FANTASTIC". Ideally located to explore this area of Cornwall within easy reach of Penzance ,Falmouth, Penlyn, St Ives etc. The Breakfast is outstanding, The rooms are of a V,Good standard

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodmin, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Interesting building,nicely and newly decorated room and communal areas.Excellent breakfast.Comfortable room with good facilities.Good location in the centre of West Cornwall -good access to Coastal areas.Nice host.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lansdowne Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lansdowne Guest House

Address: 42 Clinton Road, Redruth TR15 2QE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Redruth
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Redruth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lansdowne Guesthouse offers its guests high quality Bed and Breakfast accommodation and service with a warm “home from home” feel. An Impressive Edwardian town house, recently refurbished and extended to a very high standard, Lansdowne provides modern comforts set within a stunning period property. With country views to the rear, but just a 5 minute walk from Redruth Town Centre, with its Bus and Rail Links and other amenities, Lansdowne can offer the best of both worlds. Centrally located and within a World Heritage Site, Redruth is an ideal touring base to explore West Cornwall, with its breathtaking scenery and iconic engine houses. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lansdowne Guest House Redruth, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lansdowne Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.