We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Animal lovers will love it!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Feadon Farm Wildlife Centre

Feadon Farm Wildlife Centre
Feadon Lane, Redruth TR16 4PE, England
01209 844136
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 9 Attractions in Redruth
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Zoos & Aquariums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Feadon Farm Wildlife Centre offers a wealth of wildlife experiences, nature trails, falconry, night walks and rock pooling. We are passionate about sustainability and the environment. We carry out recycling, energy conservation and community support, and believe that offering engaging wildlife activities for young people creates an awareness of man’s impact on the environment. We support the Cornwall Wildlife Trust and hold a David Bellamy Conservation Award.
Southern England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Animal lovers will love it!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

As someone who adores foxes, I was very excited to find somewhere where you can feed them!

Although aimed at children, adults are also well catered for (we went as a couple and really enjoyed it!)

We fed goats and chickens, stroked a reindeer, saw 2 hawks, ferrets, rabbits, field mice, held a snake, fed 3 totally gorgeous foxes (Todd, Copper and Meadow) and then held a barn owl. Greg was absolutely amazing, really nice guy who very obviously loves animals and knows loads about them.

I recommend this to anyone who loves animals (particularly those I mentioned) and I will be going back to do it again, and to hopefully take part in a night walk!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    0
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic Activities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We had a fantastic time on the two trips we did with Feadon Farm Wildlife Centre while staying at Gwel an Mor.

Firstly Gary, who ran both trips, was excellent with the children and put them at ease straightaway. In fact one of our sons has Autism and is normally very wary of new people, yet Gary had him at ease within seconds.

Firstly, we did the rock pooling trip and this was superb. Gary helped us find all sorts of sea creatures and made the whole experience really interesting for us and our children. He kept us occupied for a good 2 hours and we only started coming back once the tide was coming in. All equipment was supplied and all we needed to bring was warm clothing (it was December after all!) and a camera.

Secondly we did the night walk. Firstly we met lots of rescued animals in the Farm and Gary helped us all fly the barn owl and feed the foxes. He again put both children at ease quickly, especially our son with autism, as he is often very wary of animals, yet he ended up happily flying the barn owl and feeding the foxes. We then ventured out to find some wild animals and saw a wild fox in one of the meadows surrounding Gwel an Mor. Obviously this bit of the trip is an unknown as you are looking for animals in the wild, and this time we didn't see any other wild animals, but it was a cold, wet night. However, the children and us had a great time and Gary told us lots of very interesting things. Again, this trip lasted about 2 hours which was just about right for our children.

All in all, the activities we did were well worth the money and we will definitely be doing trips again when we next stay at Gwel an Mor.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Feadon farm fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

What a wonderful experience. We spent 2 hours on meet the animals with my husband Tom and 18 month old daughter Isabella.

Gary who runs Feadon farm was friendly, knowledgeable and showed such love for the animals it was wonderful to see.

I would highly recommend the experience the highlights being seeing the reindeer, the bats and feeding the foxes. Wonderful for children of all ages.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Magical!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

We spent three delightful hours being entertained, educated and amazed by the very knowledgeable Gary on a thoroughly enjoyable Wildlife Experience Walk. I was truly captivated by the rescued foxes and barn owl, but in all honesty enjoyed stroking the grass snake and slow worms too!
Great value, great fun!
Tips: It could have been my lack of navigational skills, but we struggled to locate the site, signage is limited. It's part of the GwelanMor site. We had to drive through Portreath to get to it. Give yourself plenty of time.
Part of the walk goes through a small wooded area. If it's been raining wear something appropriate. It was very muddy the day we went even though it was a sunny day.
Take a camera. We got some beautiful photos of those stunning foxes.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Loved it, loved it and loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

The animals are not the only stars here - Gary & Alison, who run the wildlife tours, are magnificent. They are a comedy double act in the making. Gary is so informative and enthusiastic that you can't help but become involved and I enjoyed the tour as much, if not more, than my child. Feeding the foxes was a dream come true and we had the opportunity to handle the owls, buzzards and hawks. I can truly say that I have never been on such a fun, interesting and money for value outing. Try it - you won't regret it. There is also a farm in beautiful surroundings with goats, chickens, pigs and reindeer. Brilliant.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Feadon Farm Wildlife Centre also viewed

 

Been to Feadon Farm Wildlife Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Feadon Farm Wildlife Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.