We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely break at Tricky's.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tricky's Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Tricky's Hotel to your Saves list
Tricky's Hotel
Tolgus Mount, Redruth TR15 3TA, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
50% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 9 Redruth B&B and Inns
MK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Lovely break at Tricky's.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We booked a Hotel at Tricky's last minute and really enjoyed our two night stay. The hotel has everything you need and is only minutes from a lovely beach at Portreath and great shopping in Truro. The booking in was very efficient and the room had a generous supply of milk etc for making hot drinks. The room was very comfortable and spacious and there was even a table and chairs in our Family room. The Breakfast was amazing especially the coffee but our best experience was in the Restaurant. The food is delicious and service was very prompt. The quiz machine was also a highlight for us along with the Cornish lager. We were travelling around Cornwall and stayed at other Hotels but could not find any to live up to the Restaurant at Tricky's. We are looking forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travexLondon, Owner at Tricky's Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor and wow what positive comments - please be assured we will pass these onto our team. We look forward to welcoming you back when next in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    24
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
18
Solo
0
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Stayed here for just one night while touring but it was certainly the best place we stayed at. Friendly staff, good service & spacious clean room. Food in restaurant, well cooked and tasty , bar price's good. Plenty of Parking on site.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travexLondon, Owner at Tricky's Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor and for your positive comments which as always we will pass onto our team. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We only required one nights accommodation and my husband booked Tricky's on price and location. Friendly reception staff greeted us when we arrived but quickly told us that unless we'd already booked an evening meal it was unlikely we'd get in as they had an event on that night. However they rang the kitchen and they said we could have seating in the BBQ area. Although this was undercover we could not be served till 8pm by which time the weather and temperature had changed so we went out. The room was basic with a double bed although the mattress was a little on the soft side, tv, tea/coffee facilities and a bathroom with only a walk-in shower in it (my husband prefers baths). We did not get disturbed by the evening entertainment although the car park became full and the doors in the hotel would bang with others guests moving around. Despite this we both had a decent nights sleep. The breakfast was the highlight though, buffet for tea/coffee, cereal and toast but the served full English cooked breakfast is not to be missed. Definitely set us up for the day of sightseeing ahead.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travexLondon, Owner at Tricky's Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor and for your mainly positive feedback. It is always sensible to make a reservation to dine in advance of your stay as we do get very busy especially at - if you subsequently decide to dine out you can always cancel the table reservation. We were surprised that you found the mattress to be soft as all the beds are new this year and we haven't had any negative feedback in fact quite the opposite! We also make it very clear on the our website and all the usual booking sites that we have wet rooms with a power shower so it shouldn't have been surprise that there wasn't a bath.
We are delighted that you enjoyed breakfast and hope that you will visit us again when next in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Tricky's Hotel (or Tricky Dicky's) bar & restaurant has been up and down over the years. We used to be regulars always getting great food and family atmosphere but then Tricky's was sold to,new management and atmosphere went and the food very much went down hill with it.
Well it been under new management again since 2012 (I believe) and they got a new head chef in to sort out the food. Looking for a place to take the family out for a roast we decided to try Tricky's.
...soo glad we did. The family friendliness is back and the food is great again. There were15 of us which including 6 children, which is challenge enough for any restaurant, but Tricky's staff coped very well.
The roast is not a self serve carvery, but comes in standard and small sizes, a choice or 4 meats served with a huge Yorkshire and around 5 different veg. Service is timely and the portion sizes are very good, providing a full plate without it being a mess of food piled on food as many seem to do at carverys. Nice and seems rare to be offered is the fact that having the beef we were given the option as to whether we would like it rare.
Well it seems Tricky's is back on form and we will certainly be going back again.

Room Tip: We did not stay over night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travexLondon, Owner at Tricky's Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor - it is nice to welcome you back!
You are right, sadly Tricky's went through a difficult patch but since purchasing the site in November 2012 the new team have certainly put the place back on the map with all parts of the business, the hotel, the restaurant, bar, and gym all being busy. We now have an excellent function room which is getting booked up for weddings etc well into 2015!
It is great to get your feedback that we are heading in the right direction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We booked Trickys while finding it hard to get a family room.We were tired,hungry and hoping to get a good nights rest after a dreadful first night in Exeters Cedar Lodge .
We were so pleasantly surprised!The receptionist was welcoming and professional .We were shown to their spacious ,well designed family room ,which I gather is a disability friendly room also ,making it a large ,spacious,well designed space.It was great for 3 people,and even a fourth would have fitted in comfortably.We went to the restaurant to eat ,not knowing that the restaurants close earlier here than on the continent.At 9.20 the staff cheerfully served us and the chef even came out to say hello,although closing time for the restaurant was 9.30.
The food was excellent and the waitress's lovely.
We had a great ,peaceful nights sleep and a beautiful breakfast in the morning.A special mention for the receptionist Veronica who was so nice.
I would wholeheartedly recommend this hotel,exceptional value for money!
Karin

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travexLondon, Owner at Tricky's Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor and for your positive comments. The family rooms are a great size for those guests who want a little more space and they have a king size and single bed as standard but there is plenty of space to have a z bed for an additional child. These rooms are also designed to be wheelchair friendly with wider doors and the usual range of wheelchair friendly facilities in the en-suite wet room.
We are delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harleston, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We were delighted with our stay; everyone was so friendly and helpful. The food in the restaurant was fantastic so much so we did not eat anywhere else during our stay.

It was also delightful to look out on to green fields with animals grazing.

Our sincere thanks to all the staff and especially to Leigh and Amanda. Hope we have spelt the names correctly!

Thanks again, Sally Gordon & Louis our cocker spaniel who loved being there too!

Room Tip: rooms facing the fields
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travexLondon, Owner at Tricky's Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review on Tricky's - it is great to have your feedback and we are pleased that everything was to your liking. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed at Tricky's for 2 nights August 13. Arrived late in the evening and checked in at the bar as previously agreed with reception, this was a good start as it always has potential to go wrong. The room was a good size with plenty of storage space.( we were travelling by Motorcycle ) very clean with an extremely comfortable bed. The breakfast was good and plentiful. Ate at restaurant / bar one evening and can only describe it as fantastic value for money, good quality and lots of it. Overall excellent value for money hotel and definately on the list of hotels to use in future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travexLondon, Owner at Tricky's Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor - we are delighted that you enjoyed the stay. We purchased new beds for every room earlier this year and that was certainly a good investment as everyone has commented on how comfortable they are. The TV's have all been replaced as well and are now a sensible size for the rooms.
We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tricky's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tricky's Hotel

Address: Tolgus Mount, Redruth TR15 3TA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Redruth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Redruth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tricky's Hotel, Restaurant & Bar situated near historic mining town of Redruth, Cornwall. Just off the A30 with Cornish Beaches & attractions all easily accessible. Pub style Bar serving local ales and cosy restaurant with varied menus. BBQ/Hog Roast area. Extensive Gym (FREE for Guests). Serenity Hair & Beauty Suite. FREE Wi-Fi in hotel rooms plus TV, Tea & Coffee facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tricky's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tricky's Hotel Redruth, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tricky's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.