We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!!! Area real find :)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Talland Bay Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Talland Bay Hotel to your Saves list
Talland Bay Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Porthallow PL13 2JB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Porthallow
uk
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing!!! Area real find :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

It's a pet friendly hotel which is great as they are animal lovers but rightfully do not let animals into the dining room!
I have stayed in some of the best hotels in the world but the sea view from this hotel blew me away as did the food which was truly great! Great staff great place and will be back!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    55
    11
    7
    6
See reviews for
75
329
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
england
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

Just returned from a few days at the Talland Bay. What a find. We had room 19 and our parents had room 17 both at the cheaper end of their rates. They were both very nice. Room 19 was more contemporary and 17 could probably do with an update but they were both large, comfortable and spotless.
We loved the relaxed and informal atmoshphere. All the staff were really helpful and friendly. We ate in the bistro and the restaurant with both being excellent. We've had food in many Michelin starred restaurants which was not as good as the hotels 'fine dining' restaurant.
We loved the decor and the views...Oh the views. The owners have only been in situ for 7 months and they really deserve success with this wonderful place. We will return!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

An amazing & comfortable country hotel with breathtaking views overlooking Talland Bay. Perfectly located for a relaxing holiday with walks along the spectacular coastal paths, untouched nature and beautiful beaches. Very friendly and helpful staff.
A special thank you for the pet-friendliness.
Very tastful decorated, comfortable and pet friendly hotel. Beautiful views from the rooms. Lovely gardens. Excellent food. Friendly & helpful staff.
A very warm thank you to all staff at the Talland Bay Hotel for their friendliness and hospitality in making our holiday so special. We loved it! See you again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, England
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
231 helpful votes 231 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

We loved our stay at this hotel. Rooms spacious and well appointed. The most luxurious beds, quilts and pillows so we all had a really good sleep! Stunning sea views across the bay from our room and the terrace. Excellent service from start to finish, lovely food both at breakfast and dinner. Very good coffee. The whole hotel is tastefully decorated. Can't think of a thing to say against it except its a long way away, and there is no mobile coverage - or at least O2 has no signal. No bad thing maybe!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

We booked in for the 'Romantic Break' for 2 nights and when we checked in & was shown to our room, found out we had been upgraded to this totally amazing room, No.27 the superior sea view room, we were lost for words!!
The Food was fabulous, both from the main Restaurant & the Brasserie, the staff & the owners could not do enough for you, very friendly making sure all their guests were happy. It was the most Romantic break ever, with the best location & views looking out from the Hotel. can't fault it in any way, and really looking forward to going back there very soon.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

We stayed for 3 nights and it wasn't long enough. The hotel is beautiful, the room lovely, bright and spacious and the view from the lawn is breath-taking. The food was high quality and the staff were incredibly helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. The perfect place for a quiet get away. The only very slight gripe was the shower was not very effective. But that is not enough to stop us going back very soon.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

The hotel is lovely having recently been refurbished to an extremely high standard. Its grounds are well maintained, and it stands in a location with a magnificent view of Talland Bay. Our bedroom was perfect, and it was a pleasure to eat in the restaurant where the staff were friendly and efficient, the food excellent.

We would always choose to go back to The Talland Bay Hotel whenever we visit Cornwall in the future.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Talland Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talland Bay Hotel

Address: Porthallow PL13 2JB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Porthallow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Porthallow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Talland Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a magical location overlooking the bay this is a very special hotel privately run with caring attentive owners and staff whose aim is to please. We have an elegant 2 star AA rosette restaurant with sliding doors where, weather permitting you can sit on our terrace and enjoy the views. You’ll know you’re somewhere special as soon as you arrive at Talland Bay Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Talland Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talland Bay Looe
Hotel Talland Bay
Talland Bay Hotel Porthallow, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Talland Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.