We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bril” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ponsmere Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ponsmere Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ponsmere Hotel
Ponsmere Road, Perranporth TR6 0BW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Perranporth
West Midlands UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Bril”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2010

After trying this Hotel for the first time a few years ago for a two night stop over we have been back about 5 times. Its really good if you have children - and good if you don't. There is a good play area outside and a nice inside play room - sometimes supervised so you can enjoy a break from the kids. This is usually for an hour in the morning and over adult dinner time so you can enjoy your meal - maybe school holiday times only? There is an early childrens tea or the children can join you in the dining room to eat. There is a kids club which is usually put into two teams and throughout the week they compete for points and end up with a winning team. The entertainers are really good and keep them amused with games and talent shows etc. Also there are family games to join in. We are quite quiet non mixer type people but we do enjoy this - and them famous duck race!! You have to see it to understand .............................. There is an outdoor pool for use in the summer and an indoor pool which isn't big but big enough. The rooms are very nice for the money - we were very surprised at this and the food - though not 'fancy' is very very good. Nice breakfasts - self service so you can have what you want - and friendly waitress staff. It was going to be sold a while ago and demolished for flats - so glad they didn't do this. Also the Hotel is by the beach which is really good for exploring ... caves and having a go at body boarding! I think the website of this Hotel makes it look a little 'rough' and could put people off - but the Hotel is just relaxed and enjoyable. The Annexe rooms are ok but if you pay that bit extra you can get the most marvelous sea view balcony rooms with off rooms for the kids. Large wardrobes - great. When you consider what some Hotels charge its really good value.
If you go with kids take a fancy dress outfit for the fancy dress night and also maybe something to do in a talent show - all good fun.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    60
    23
    8
    3
See reviews for
73
33
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
uk
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

Hotel is indeed dated but excellent value for money in a fantastic location.Visited there in August with 2 teenage daughters (Not the easiest age group to please ! ) and had a fantastic time. Hotel is clean and tidy with the rooms being cleaned daily , breakfast sets you up for the day , entertainment is good i and we were in the room above the ballroom and was not disturbed after 12 o clock. We eat at the watering hole most nights and again this was a brilliant place to go to,slightly expensive but great fun.
Would reccomend to a friend.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

Had 3 nights with wife & 3 year old - GOOD: 1. perfect location on the beach. 2. entertainment content 3. local Chinese take-away 4. staff
POOR: 1. entertainment goes on past midnight - forget sleeping anywhere in hotel until then! 2. rooms are very very old (think 70s - the electrical items will make you reminisce!) & no food room service 3. local Indian take-away 4. outside pool & play area v small

Not the worst but no way near the best - I suppose it depends how much you pay - I think it is worth 2 stars at probably £70 / family room / night - no more

Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huddersfield
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2009

Fantastic place
Easy going hotel
Rooms dated but comfortable and large
Breakfast excellent
Evening meal dated always eat out
Fantastic place for a family holiday to enjoy with friends
Already booked for next year

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
supawipe@aol.com
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

Ok, so we visit Cornwall every year and usually stay in one of Perranporths many holiday flats. This time however we were down for just a few days and decided to stay in the "Ponsmere" for change.
As has been written already the hotel may not be flash or bang up to date but dont let that put you off. We like to surf on Perranporths fantastic beach and this hotel is right there overlooking the sands.
We stayed in a very large sea view room with a balcony and I must say it was great to wake up and look at the sea as soon as your head left the pillow.
When the sun shines there is no better place in the world (and i've been to every continent!) than Perranporth beach.
The hotel has very friendly staff who are most helpful and there is a very nice laid back Cornish way about the place. We stayed half board and I felt the food was acceptable if not exciting. Standard English fayre, personally I would choose B&B in future and book occasional evening meals. There is a dirth of decent restaurants in Perranporth but it just gives you more flexibility.
Generally the Ponsmere is clean and tidy (I'm a cleaning contractor and employ 40 people so I know good standards) and the bedding and towels are of well presented.
The pools are excellent and all the facilities are designed with the needs of families in mind.
Entertainment in the club room was very good and I began to wish there were more people around on our week to appreciate the effort that is obviously being made.
The management really do want you to have a great summer holiday.
So with that said we'll definately stay again and may even consider the New Year package as an alternative holiday.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

I have been going to this hotel for nine years and it never fails to disappoint. The rooms are a little outdated but that is the only fault, however they are large with plenty of space. The bar is confortable and a great place to sit and chat with friends. The entertainment in the ball room during the summer is fantastic, there is also a host who does bingo for all ages and a disco after the entertainment.
I have never found any problems with the staff and the receptionists are friendly and helpful. This hotel is also in a perfect location for the beach as it is practically on it! Complete with stunning views.
For a friendly, family suitable stay, this is the perfect hotel.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2009

The ponsmere hotel is a brilliant hotel best spent with friends, the pools are clean and a good size and the food is very good, the hotels location is fantastic and the entertainment is always varied everynight so there is something for everyone to enjoy.

Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ponsmere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ponsmere Hotel

Address: Ponsmere Road, Perranporth TR6 0BW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Perranporth
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Perranporth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Ponsmere Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ponsmere Hotel Perranporth, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ponsmere Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.