We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ponsmere Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Ponsmere Hotel to your Saves list
Ponsmere Hotel
Ponsmere Road, Perranporth TR6 0BW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Perranporth
Somerset, England
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Overnight stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We booked two rooms here for a Friday night as our daughter was doing a parachute jump at the nearby airfield and had to be there at 8 am. At our request, the hotel provided breakfast at 7 am, although not cooked, this was appreciated. Staff at all times were friendly and accommodating. Our rooms were large, clean and suited us fine. Yes, the hotel downstairs was a bit institutional, and could do with updating, but this didn't bother us, given our short stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    65
    26
    9
    3
See reviews for
81
40
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bradworthy, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

The hotel was in a great location with lovely views of the beach,ample car parking.The staff were polite and helpful.The bedrooms were a good size but need a bit of updating.Breakfast was ok but bacon was overcooked and no yoghuts were available and not much selection of cereals.Overall a nice hotel on a great location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, Warks
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Have just returned from a six day break at this hotel with my disabled sister. Staff were very helpful in providing a room with a great view and walk in shower for her (232) and a large room for myself next door. We had reserved a mobility scooter for our stay and staff were helpful in providing a space for it in reception near a charging point.Food was very good, plenty of choice, well cooked and very hot. Breakfast was self service with plenty of choice, full engilsh, cereals and masses of fresh fruit, something for everyone. Restaurant staff were friendly and efficient and would put themselves out to please you. Rooms were very clean. For those that require it there was entertainment most nights, bingo, quiz, vocalist etc. The second bar is open to all for lunch with a reasonably priced and varied menu, Large Portions for the hungry!
Can recommend this hotel and we hope to return soon.

Room Tip: room 232 is a double or single sole use room that is very quiet, away from entertainment with a grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here to mark our anniversary as we love Perranporth.
Friendly staff, clean rooms but really needs updating as stuck in the 60/70s as far as decor is concerned.
Entertainment was fun and the location is awesome with breathtaking views.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

We decided to treat ourselves to a last minute weekend away and as our first choice of accomadation was unavailable we booked in here. We originally wanted two nights but could only book one through the website we had chosen to use. We arrived on Friday afternoon and had a warm greeting from the receptionist. Our room turned out to be a family room so we had plenty of space and it was spotlessly clean. After unpacking we went down for a swim in the indoor pool .You have to obtain a code to get into the pool area from reception and there was a life guard on duty. While I had a nap hubby asked at reception if it was possible to book a second night. They said yes but it would mean a room change which we didnt mind. The second room was a double room obviously smaller than the night before but plenty big enough and again very clean.The staff moved our case to the new room for us.The buffet style breakfast was good and if you wanted either poached eggs, kippers or a continental breakfast you just had to ask your waitress. We found the staff with the exception of one slightly grumpy man on reception very friendly and helpful.The hotel has plenty of free parking and is ideally situated as there are stunning views from the bar or decking area and a short walk from the town. Picking up on some critism from other reviews I agree that certain areas are a little dated but it did not not take away from the enjoyment of our stay. The sunset bar is open all day for food and drink and is very reasonably priced. We had lunch in there with some visiting family and the portions are very generous. I think this would make an excellent base for a holiday or a long weekend as we had in Perranporth itself. The beach is very accessible and there are plenty of places to eat and drink to suit all tastes and budgets.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We spent many summer holidays at the Ponsmere as children and have just returned from a week with the next generation of the family, aged 5 and 2. We had 2 rooms between us, one family room with a sea view and balcony which was very spacious and one on the land side for 2 people, which was smaller but still perfectly adequate. Had expected the children to have children's tea, but in the end they had dinner with us and did not struggle to find something to eat each night. Breakfasts and evening meals plentiful and good quality, you only had to ask if there was something specific you wanted. Waiting staff were excellent. Ladies on reception very friendly and helpful in my experience. Kids Club was great and our two were more than happy to go and play there while we finished our dinner in peace. Children's entertainment good also and the girls running it all worked very hard. Had expected to be disappointed that the outdoor pool no longer existed but the new decking is lovely and a great place to watch the sun go down or the tide come in (which can be very spectacular!). Hotel bar is not open during he day, but the Sunset Bar next door is - presumably to avoid non-residents traipsing thought the hotel. Indoor pool is small, but with beach literally on the doorstep it's plenty big enough. Door to the pool has a digilock, again, presumably to prevent any old person from wandering in. You only have to ask for the code from reception. Decor is a little dated in places but with the set-up being so geared up for children you don't have to be on edge the whole time in case they damage anything. We had a fantastic week and would go again in a flash!

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london uk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This hotel could do a whole lot more for itself....if only they had the staff to do it. Weird.. the bar is closed during the day. Can you imagine if the bar was open and the food was running on tap the business they would reap.
I'm a vegan , So I never expect much for my breakfast from hotels alike.. I did put a special request in (just for some fruit) Is that special?.. well I got my fruit.. 1 banana and 1 apple.. JESUS So I paid £5.95 for 1 pieces of fruit. I did explain to the staff at breakfast that I don't eat whats on offer. She was not at all interested. buy the shrug of her shoulders. I persisted and ask for more fruit... another 2 bananas if possible.. or any fruit at all... I'm not fussy.(Honest) " well were not suppose to give fruit out" she said. I could clearly see this as no fruit was on the table,.. or croissants. SAME STORY the following day.
but in all the hotel was ok.. décor need redoing big time. the rooms where brill in the size.
It's up for offer apparently for £5 million. Now I understand the Can't be bothered attitude of some staff. ((breakfast staff))
The swimming pool was totally empty.. why I hare you ask.. it's about 15ft by 15 ft and only 12 people at a time. It's locked at all times and taking the Mr & Mrs grump on reception...who you just don't want to ask...
The town is cute. lots of fish and chip bars. lots of other places to eat too.
Day time staff for the restraint where really kind and helpful. thanks god for the co-op at the end of town where I had my Breakfast, lunch and dinner. :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ponsmere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ponsmere Hotel

Address: Ponsmere Road, Perranporth TR6 0BW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Perranporth
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Perranporth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ponsmere Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ponsmere Hotel Perranporth, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ponsmere Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.