We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ponsmere Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Ponsmere Hotel to your Saves list
Ponsmere Hotel
Ponsmere Road, Perranporth TR6 0BW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Perranporth
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location, good stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Myself and my two year old son stayed here for 3 nights (Fri-Mon) as we were going to a wedding on Perranporth beach. The location of the hotel is fantastic - 2 mins from the beach and Perranporth town.
We had a family en suite annexe room which was perfect as I could park the car just outside our door. The room was spacious and had adequate facilities - what you would expect from a basic hotel room. Plus it was clean and comfortable. Being separate from the main hotel it felt more private and was suprisingly quiet too.
We had dinner on the first night in the hotel restaurant - the food was good and generous portions. However, because we were out of season, there was no early childrens tea, so we had to eat at 6.30pm with everyone else and there was no kids menu - the kitchen did manage to rustle up some chicken nuggets and chips on request though.
I chose the hotel mainly for location but also because it was child/family friendly. However, as we were (just) out of season, there was no kids club or kids tea, and the hotel seemed to be in 'coach party' season and we were somewhat 'lost in the crowds'. It didn't matter to us as we were there for the wedding, but for anyone else with young kids coming out of season, this may have been a disappointment.
Staff were courteous and helpful when approached, but mainly preoccupied with the coach loads of guests staying.
Overall, it was a good base for our visit and we had a pleasant and comfortable stay - I would stay at the Ponsmere again.

Room Tip: Family annexe rooms (on the ground level) are very handy for families with a lot of luggage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    65
    26
    9
    3
See reviews for
81
40
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Billericay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Just came back from our 3rd visit to the Ponsmere. We enjoyed the location, breakfast was self service, which we like, reception was updated and clean looking, however the room (101) was on the first floor, above the bar, who played music all afternoon, which is not so good after a long trip and wanting a nap. The room was not private enough, over looking the outside bar seating area. We would come back to this hotel, but would only stay on the second level and up the other end of the hotel, where we have stayed previously.The room was clean and roomy.

Room Tip: do not go for the room 101 if you like a nap in the afternoon, or the sound of tractors in the early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plympton, Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We always enjoy are annual visit to the Ponsmere as we are lucky to have a room with a seaview and the view is just perfect . The lobby had been decorated this year and looked very good , the dining room is always clean & presented well and the self service breakfast is perfect . The bedroom could do with a bit of updating but was clean and comfortable . The Sunset Bar which is attached to the hotel does a great lunch .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

ideal for your family holiday....park the car and forget about it.....everything is with walking distance, great beach, nice little town with a choice of places to eat...

As for the hotel itself, nothing to complain about....apart from the toaster machines!!!!! everyone had either bread or burnt toast lol...... rooms were well sized, clean and tidy....will return next year

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Just come back from another holiday at the Ponsmere. We have been going for 12 years and have already booked again. The hotel is brilliant for the kids - good kids club and entertainment. The hotel is situated right on the beach and would recommend sea view rooms as they are large and have stunning views.
Ok there are problems - the receptionists are miserable (except Mel who is always pleasant), our room on the 1st floor was noisy due to creaky floorboards whenever anyone moved up above, the tussle with the toasting machines at breakfast is a nightmare, the cost seems to be going up each year.
However they are only minor problems and I would recommend the hotel to anyone with children - you see the same people year after year - the hotel just has something about it.
Entertainment for adults is generally good as well with Tony working as hard as ever.
Food is good with lots of choice.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I bought my partner a sea/beach activity weekend last year for his birthday. We decided upon Perranporth after being convinced by the reviews for this '4 star' hotel and the pictures of the stunning beach location. The beach did not fail, however the hotel did - or should I say the annexe - miserably! The main hotel itself could have just about passed for 3 star on a good day, however the annexe was littlle more than a glorified mini dorm, nothing more than a place to sleep. Quality just did not come into it! The decor dated back to the (very early) 1980's at least and you could hear every, yes every sound made by those in the room above. I've stayed in hostels better than this for half the price. Whilst the accomodation was clean (as expected), it did not live up the standard I have experienced in 4 and even 3 star hotels that I have stayed in at home or abroad.

There are so many rave reviews on here about the rooms, I am only assuming that these refer to those in the main hotel and not in the annexe or something is very wrong...

Room Tip: Stay away from the annexe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Once again the whole family 20 plus of us had a great weeks stay at the Ponsmere Hotel. Staff are really friendly and helpful. Position of the hotel is unique being virtually on the beach in the middle of Perranporth bay.

Evening entertainment was excellent once again.

Room Tip: The Sea view rooms away from the ball room are best if you have children or wish to go to bed earlie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ponsmere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ponsmere Hotel

Address: Ponsmere Road, Perranporth TR6 0BW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Perranporth
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Perranporth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ponsmere Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ponsmere Hotel Perranporth, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ponsmere Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.