We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good old fashioned English seaside hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ponsmere Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Ponsmere Hotel to your Saves list
Ponsmere Hotel
Ponsmere Road, Perranporth TR6 0BW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Perranporth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Loughton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“A good old fashioned English seaside hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

Stayed at the Ponsmere in Perranporth for 4 nights as a base to tour that part of Cornwall.
Booked directly with the hotel and asked for a sea view room on a top floor. Upon arrival that is exactly what we got which gave a wonderful view directly over the very expansive beach.
The room was large and comfortable and would no doubt only be available as a full family room in peak season as it was capable of sleeping 5 people.
We firstly had a walk around the town which was just a few metres away. Perranporth does seem a little run down as is often common with many English seaside resorts but everyone we met in the shops were very welcoming and friendly.
Returning to the hotel for dinner we were promptly shown to our table which was retained for the length of our stay. In season the service is buffet style but we had full waiter/waitress service much of which we learned later was provided by the family who own the Ponsmere. Food was of an excellent quality with a reasonable choice.

After dinner entertainment is in the ballroom and was headed by Tony King. It starts with the ritual bingo each night followed by music for dancing. Tony has tremendous enthusiasm and does his best to whip up a good party atmosphere. Unfortunately while we were there only about 20 people came into the entertainment area and they were all of quite advanced years which made his task extremely difficult but he must be given ten out of ten for keeping going each night until about 11.00pm. A lesser person would have given up long ago.

Drinks at the bar and in the dining area were served by the bar manager Darren who provided superb service. Nothing was too much trouble for him even when we observed guests asking for things that would normally be outside his sphere of work.

Breakfast is buffet style as is found in most hotels these days with just the tea or coffee being served. Again the food quality was excellent.

It is great to see a family working together in a business and indeed the MD served at dinner most nights and had a natural aptitude towards service and mixing with his guests. The only slight criticism that we would make relates to the younger female members of the family who perhaps should learn to smile more and also learn to communicate with guests. Sorry but you do come across as rather frosty ladies. All in all though a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Book sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    72
    29
    10
    3
See reviews for
82
47
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

Lovely location right on the beech but hotel very dated and in need of refurnish.
Food good, some staff excelent especially waiting on staff.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Excellent location right on the beach.
Self service buffet was better than waitress service.
Good entertainment in the evenings.
Close to bus stop for Newquay and Turo.

Room Tip: Try and get a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mold, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

Went on a 6 day coach holiday and stayed for 5 nights. Lovely comfortable room with a balcony overlooking the beach. Put in a Family room with 5 single beds in 3 rooms. Plenty of space and had three wardrobes. First time that I had sufficient space to empty my suitcase and put it all away.The beds were lovely and comfy and I slept very well (probally helped by a spot of you know what!) Breakfast was standard but well cooked and tasty but the evening meals were absolutely delicious with plent of choice and quantity.The Staff were very pleasant and efficient especially in the Restaurant.Will definitely be staying there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

we stayed here on the 2nd of sept.2011..
we had had a very long drive from brum and were very tired,we booked in for the one night and was planning to move to a bigger room next day as they had limmited we were asked about the three room ratings,basic view,country view or sea view, all indicated at differnt prices? we had country view,when arriving into our room which was very small very basic, i drew the curtains to look at our fab country view and we were greated with a brick wall,we were told breakfast was at 8am to 9, when arriving in the breakfast room we were told lose yourself for half an hour your to early! we eventually had breakfast which was removed from us when we hadn't finished accompanied by very unprofessional staff ,
we did not stay another night and checked out right away, the only thing it had goin for it was the stunning beach view that was 3 parts around the hotel... but you can get the same view just by standing on the beach....dissaponting..

Room Tip: dont bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

we stayed here for two nights, as we were attending a wedding. I must say this is the worst hotel we have ever stayed at. We only booked as it was voted number 1 in Perranporth on Trip Adviser, and we will be sure not to base our decisions solely on this again.
The room was filthy. the bathroom was even dirtier and didnt look or smell like it had been cleaned in months.
Directly outside our room were two cupboards used by the cleaners and we were woken up at 7am both mornings by the cleaner slamming the doors, dragging hoovers out of the cupbaords and generally talking outside our door for ages.
Breakfast was only served for one hour and was worst than school dinners.
We complained to the manager and were told that our room was due to have a new bathroom put in at some point soon as they were aware that it was "very dated". He offered us a mere £25 off our stay and that took 15 minutes to get that from him.
WOULD NOT STAY HERE AGAIN IF YOU PAID ME.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

We stayed for one night at the Ponsmere in a family room above the 'ballroom'. Difficult to rate this hotel overall as although it is left back in the 70's in decor and ethos, it is what it is and has an enduring charm bringing back happy memories of childhood British seaside holidays. This hotel has absolutely the best location in Perranporth overlooking the beach with access to the beach and to the main street via a number of steps. The family room was the only room available when we booked but myself and partner loved having the extra space and the huge window gave great views and would have been fabulous if we had a sea view which we would aim to book next time. The decor throughout was extremely dated, but overall this hotel had an old fashioned appeal and seemed to have a lot of very happy returning customers. The hotels Sunset Bar was more like a social club with friendly regulars, but the views from the beer garden were fabulous over-looking the beach with sunsets weather permitting. The lift gave plenty of laughs/annoyance as you have to get very familiar with other users to avoid setting off the DIY door sensor alarms which have to be reset to get the lift to work!! We hope that this will be the first area of modernisation before the next years season! Although more of a hotel for families, we would return for a few nights, as it's close to the beach and The Watering Hole (beach bar).

Room Tip: Ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ponsmere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ponsmere Hotel

Address: Ponsmere Road, Perranporth TR6 0BW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Perranporth
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Perranporth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Ponsmere Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ponsmere Hotel Perranporth, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ponsmere Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.