We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St Georges Country Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added St Georges Country Hotel to your Saves list
St Georges Country Hotel
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   St Georges Hill, Perranporth TR6 0ED , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Perranporth B&B and Inns
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Was pleasantly surprised. ST Georges a real home from home hotel, great food and wonderful owners, made to feel very welcome by Sue and Sharon, a lovely relaxed atmosphere, will be our automatic choice when we next visit Perranporth, will be recommending to all our family and friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgeorgeCornwall, Owner at St Georges Country Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back one day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    30
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
35
76
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hitchin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We have stayed at St Georges Hotel for the past 4 years summer holidays and the hosts Sharon and Sue could not be more welcoming and we feel we can relax and enjoy the hotel and the food is absolutely excellent. Sue and Sharon are so helpful when finding the special places in the location for days out. We recommend this as a friendly clean and great food Hotel. Mike and Janet

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgeorgeCornwall, Owner at St Georges Country Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
It is always lovely to welcome you back. Loyal guests like you are such a pleasure to look after. Thank you for your review. We look forward to seeing you next Summer. I feel another musical evening coming on! This year's was great fun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

After an intense tour of California in June and July, we needed somewhere to relax for a few days with our dog. This place is friendly, welcoming, well located and great value. Rooms good with a powerful shower (very important). Great breakfasts and catered for us fussy vegetarians! Honey, our 8 month old cocker spaniel loved the big garden, and a playmate in Jessie, the resident border collie. Honey loved it so much shes sulked since she got home! Well recommended and would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgeorgeCornwall, Owner at St Georges Country Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
We still have happy memories of Jess playing in the garden with Honey. It seems a long time ago and we apologise for taking so long to respond. Thank you for your lovely review. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantes, Pays de la Loire, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

For anyone who loves Poldark and are on the look out for locations this Country Hotel is superbly situated in a beauty spot among the cliffs covered in purple and pink Heather which stretch down towards Perran Sands. Our hosts made my daughter and I most welcome and saw to our needs cheerfully and kindly; while our room was comfortable clean and tidy with superb shower and toilet facilities. It would be hard to find fault with our 6 night stay and so I will not all I can say is that I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Sharon and Sue and their establishment because they did what they could to accomodate our needs and we had a very happy time there. The breakfasts (I began with fruit and yogurt and went on to have a full english breakfast every morning) were delicious and all needs considered and catered for. I particularly enjoyed watching the dog in the garden and waking up and opening the window to reveal the surrounding rugged Cornish countryside...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgeorgeCornwall, Owner at St Georges Country Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
It was a real pleasure to meet you and your daughter this Summer and we are so glad that you enjoyed your Poldark fix !! Do come back again soon. There is still masses to see.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Sue and Sharon are the perfect hosts, we were in a beautifully appointed room with lovely country views, Could not praise enough how happy we were with our stay, we only intended to stay three nights, but we decided on an additional night which was catered for no problem, My wife Enjoyed spending a little time with Jess the young collie,

Room Tip: Room 2 Four poster Bed gorgeous views,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgeorgeCornwall, Owner at St Georges Country Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
We were so glad that we were able to accommodate you for that extra night due to a cancellation. Thank you for your lovely review. Jessie really missed you when you left so you need to come back soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This hotel is set in beautiful countryside set on the hill a minute drive above Perranporth. I was staying here for work but I would definitely come back for a holiday and recommend to friends and family.

The room was very clean, recently decorated, with retro vintage styled furniture and a new modern bathroom facilities (always a winner). The full English breakfast was delicious and included delights such as homemade bread, eggs laid by the chickens in the garden and amazing bacon. The owner also does supper if then evening if required (for an additional cost) and meals were equally as sumptuous. The communal spaces include bar and living room. I used the bar area in the evening for wifi/work and it was relaxed and friendly. Overall I thought the atmosphere and service was top notch. This hotel is great value for money. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgeorgeCornwall, Owner at St Georges Country Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will be able to return one day for pleasure rather than work.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Sharon and Sue made us feel very welcome from the moment we arrived.
Our room was adequately sized for a family of 3 and very clean. The beds were very comfortable and due to the countryside location it was perfect for a good nights sleep.
The food was fresh, most of it was home made (particularly the bread, which we miss already) and the choice of fresh fruit, cereal and full English was amazing.
Nothing was too much trouble for Sharon and Sue and the whole stay was just what you want for a conveniently placed country house. They were also full of local knowledge which helped us to plan our holiday activities.

Room Tip: Room no'8 at the top, has a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgeorgeCornwall, Owner at St Georges Country Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review.. It was great to meet you this Summer. Doesn't it seem an age ago? Sorry we have taken so long to reply. We hope you will be back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St Georges Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Georges Country Hotel

Address: St Georges Hill, Perranporth TR6 0ED , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Perranporth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Perranporth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — St Georges Country Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your St Georges Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Georges Country Perranporth
Hotel St Georges Country
St Georges Country Hotel Perranporth, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Georges Country Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.