We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday for our 25th Wedding Anniversary” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St Georges Country Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added St Georges Country Hotel to your Saves list
St Georges Country Hotel
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   St Georges Hill, Perranporth TR6 0ED , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Perranporth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sleaford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Holiday for our 25th Wedding Anniversary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Alan my husband found this hotel on the internet. We were very impressed with the write up about it so decided to book it in January 2013 over the internet which was very easy to do with no problems. We checked at the end of June to make sure everything was still ok with the booking since we had booked some months before. No problems and was looking forward to seeing us
.
We arrived at the hotel at 1.30pmish to be greeted by Sharon one of the owners, who made us very welcome, we were introduced to Sue the other owner a little later. We were shown around the hotel and then shown our room.
We had the room with the 4 poster bed which was very comfy, shower en suite (never without hot water), tea/coffee facilities. The rooms were tidied every day.
We were very impressed in what we had already seen.

We could use the rooms downstairs just as if it was our own house.
Living room with a big television, big sofas and chairs to sit on, books to read board games to play toys for children including DVD's for both children and families to watch.
Room where the breakfast was to be had a bar which had every drink you could think of and plenty or comfy sitting space.

You couldn't fault the breakfast- it would be your own fault if you were still hungry
On offer each morning there was fresh juice, tea, coffee, cereal, yoghurt, toast, and a full English breakfast.
You could have an evening meal for an extra charge as long as you let them know first thing in the morning

Outside was a lovely garden that you could go and relax in either in the sun or in the shade if you wanted.
There's plenty of room to park your car of the road.

Sharon & Sue was very helpful if you wanted to know anything about the area.

We would recommend this hotel to anybody who wants to go somewhere that's like home from home. We will certainly be going back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgeorgeCornwall, Owner at St Georges Country Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
We were really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you so much for your kind and detailed review. It was a pleasure meeting you and we hope that you will come and see us again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    30
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
36
78
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My husband and I had such a lovely overnight stay at this hotel and the service really was above and beyond the call of duty! We had got lost walking the coastal path and were soaking wet. Sharon came out to find us and took us to the hotel, dried our wet clothes for us and generally did a fabulous job of making us feel welcome.
The lovely lounge and bar area are perfect for meeting fellow guests and the delicious meal provided made it a special evening. Breakfast too was yummy.
The room was lovely and cosy and the bathroom quite adequate.
If we lived closer, we would definitely go back and stay longer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgeorgeCornwall, Owner at St Georges Country Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you for your review. We were glad to be of help in that very wet weather. What a pity the heavy rain forced you to abandon the rest of the coastal footpath! Hopefully your extra few days in London made up for it. It was a pleasure meeting you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanelli
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

I received a Very warm welcome at St George's country house. I stayed in a lovely room, which was spotlessly clean, a good size with a dressing table, plenty of wardrobe space even if two of you were staying for a week, a full length mirror and a box window seat, I checked in at half 2, which was no problem at all, the en suite was beautifully fitted, with a good size shower, large towels & nice toiletries. The real coffee & cafetiere in room were appreciated, together with organic clipper tea, although no biscuits or water were provided. The wifi was great, i was able to complete some work in the evening, with lovely views of the countryside from the window. Perranporth itself is lovely, with a mice beach & plenty of shops to browse, although it is a very long steep hill to walk back up to the hotel, so not suitable for many who wish to be able to walk to & from the town. I had an excellent nights sleep, Very comfortable bed, like sleeping under a cloud!
I dined at the hotel; as a solo traveller I prefer not to have to search for an evening meal, however there were many places that looked appealing in perranporth. The hotel has a set menu which for that night was crab linguine however I am not a lover of crab and so I was offered spaghetti carbonara instead. I also indulged in a desert of bread & butter pudding which was lovely. The bar was very well stocked, and had an extensive wine list. The house rose was very good.
Breakfast was superb, with cereals, fruit & yogurts available to help yourself, my choice of granola, grapefruit & natural yogurt was delicious. There was Apple & orange juice together with coffee available for you to help yourself to. Pots of Tea were served to the table if that is your preference together with toast made from homemade bread, jam & marmalade. You can then choose any combination of cooked breakfast, again all delicious.
The only downside of my stat, whilst i couldn't hear people in the other rooms, my room was situated above the kitchen and I could hear talking, singing, playing music etc. not a major issue as it was during the evening and had I been part of a couple no doubt I would not have heard it as we would have been talking ourselves.
This is a lovely hotel, with beautiful gardens that I did not get the chance to enjoy, however I will return, perhaps with my family. I would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgeorgeCornwall, Owner at St Georges Country Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time, in what must be a very busy life, to write such a lovely and detailed review of your stay with us. We really enjoyed meeting you and learning about your interesting job and your beautiful family. We do hope that you will visit us again, whether it be for work or not. Apologies for the singing in the kitchen. Sharon is trying hard to control the urge to join in with Emily Sande while cooking!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nacka, Sweden
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed at the St Georges Country Hotel for one night while walking the South-west coast path. Two lovely, friendly and talkative ladies run the establishment, a large and rambling house a few minutes outside central Perranporth. We arrived in the afternoon after a rainy and rather grim walk, and immediately felt at home. The rooms were large, the bed comfy (important after a day's walk!) and the food excellent. We had dinner cooked by Sharon at the hotel, and it was really enjoyable. The breakfast was the best we had for our whole trip, including fresh fruit and berries and homebaked bread. There is a large "livingroom" with a fully stocked bar, and the house owerflows with quaint (collector's?) things, musical instruments and books. This was the one place where we would have wanted to stay longer if our itinerary had allowed it. I highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Sharon and Sue run a first class establishment, friendly, pleasant, helpful - the list goes on. We needed a place close to the SWCP and it is - but so much more. Bedrooms though a bit on the small side were spotless and comfortable. We enjoyed our stay and would love to return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Sharon and Susan are the perfect hosts. Their house is extremely comfortable with large rooms decorated very tastefully. Bed was king size plus which was a delight after a day of walking on the Coastal Path. However, the best was yet to come with their home cooking. To start with they have a fully stocked bar where we enjoyed an aperitif then we had scallops with chorizo followed by a chocolate fondue. Absolutely fantastic. Breakfast was just as good. We definitely expect to return.

Room Tip: Room 3 had the very big comfortable bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgeorgeCornwall, Owner at St Georges Country Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We so enjoyed meeting you and look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterthur, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Situated close to Perranporth, we chose the St. Georges for our trip to Cornwall. It is situated at a country road, so it is easy to find, and parking is provided. Unfortunately, the country road is also a bit of a draw-back, normally I like to walk our dog out of the place we are in, but the cars are driving by with full speed and there is no pedestrian walk way, so at busy times it takes a bit of nerves to start there. However, for dog-owners the reasonable thing to do is anyway to head down to the beach – a two minutes drive. Sharon took me down on our second morning and we walked the dogs together – wonderful. Also, during the night time the traffic subsides to zero, so there are no noise issues – I am normally a light sleeper, but did not have any problems.

The rooms were clean and nicely decorated and of good standard. Our room had a very small bathroom, which made maneuvering around the basin area difficult, however, there was ample space in the shower itself, and it was a good, strong shower, ideal when you are frozen from a day out in the cold.

Breakfast left nothing to desire, with Sharon being an excellent Chef, which she really put on display with the evening meals she prepared for us – we opted to eat at the hotel and a good decision it was. That we are vegetarians never posed a problem, Sharon easily was up for the challenge. What I was missing a bit, though, was a bistro menu. We discussed dinner and all extra wishes (e.g. a cheese platter on the first evening) were eagerly fulfilled, but normally I like to have some sort of menu to be inspired by it – especially since there was a drinks menu. The Bistro rooms were very nice and also tastefully decorated.

As dog owners, we were fully welcome. No wonder since Sharon has a puppy of her own. So our Shina never was a problem in any situation.

Overall it was a stay which we keep in good memory and if we return to the area, we will stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St Georges Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Georges Country Hotel

Address: St Georges Hill, Perranporth TR6 0ED , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Perranporth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Perranporth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — St Georges Country Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and EasyToBook so you can book your St Georges Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Georges Country Perranporth
Hotel St Georges Country
St Georges Country Hotel Perranporth, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Georges Country Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.