We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very happy!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of YHA Perranporth

YHA Perranporth
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Perranporth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
YHA Perranporth
Save
You added YHA Perranporth to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Droskyn Point, Perranporth TR6 0GS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Chatham, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very happy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Myself and another girl and 3 guys stayed here for 7 days and it was a lot nicer than we thought! I have been to Perranporth for most of my life and had never even knew this was here! Short walk into the town and amazing view from the top of the cliff. The staff were very friendly and willing to help at all times.
Only issue would be trying to get up the hill with our suitcases on the day we got there!
Apart from this we were very happy and would be willing to stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
2
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kendal, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

What a find! This place is tucked away high above Perranporth and the amazing 3 mile beach, with endless views out across the sand and ocean. We stayed during the spring tides and manager Phil encouraged us to explore the newly exposed rockpools and borrow the free oldskool wooden bellyboards...groovy!
Even in a very cold March the hostel offered a snug retreat from the prevailing wind. After getting thoroughly windswept watching a pod of dolphins swimming with the surfers, we headed in to the lovely living space to read National Geographics and play Monopoly.
The rooms are neat and tidy, as cosy as you may expect from a budget hostel. Showers powerful, hot and always clean. We'll be back again soon. Thanks!!

Room Tip: The larger dorm rooms have the sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Brilliant cliff top location with views out to see and over the beach. Facilities are showing their age, and some damp, and the dorm's are quite small - but it is a hostel! Spacious kitchen and communal areas to relax. Phil was an excellent host. If you get the sunsets as well it'll be the icing on the cake! Whilst ther read the testimonials to see the excellent work done by Phil and his colleagues.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil M, Manager at YHA Perranporth, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Hi Ken,
Thanks for your positive and honest review.
We're always striving to improve our facilities, so all your comments are gratefully received.
This month we're decorating and dry lining the hostel, so that should help give the place a fresher feel and new lease of life.
So, even if there's a good sea breeze, you'll be able to enjoy the stunning ocean view (and hopefully a beautiful sunset!) from the warmth and comfort of our panoramic lounge window.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Best view in the town, I presume is great if you surf but if not don't bother.
We stayed in rim two, the whole room had a toilet smell, windows and floor were unclean and sticky.
Not for families at all, however if you surf and want somewhere to lay your board and head, go for it.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil M, Manager at YHA Perranporth, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Dear Northern Monkey,

We’re glad you loved our amazing views, but are very disappointed the room two didn’t reach your expectations and our usual high cleaning standards. It seems there may have been a small accident or spillage, which wasn’t identified and deep cleaned before your stay, so please accept our sincere apologises.
A large number of families and individuals come and stay with us every year, due to our stunning location, cleanliness and affordability. The majority leave us with wonderful impressions and positive reviews, so once again please accept our apologies.

All the best,

Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perranporth
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Friendly staff, super duper view (best view in Perranporth!), clean & tidy.
Drying room dried off my wetsuit overnight (always a plus), and no noisy TV.
Great to meet new people, it's hard not to meet them due to the "small"!

Facilities to note:
-Clean & goooood showers (hot water and all!)
-Drying room which dries (if you remember to turn things on)
-All self-catering (well equipped and working kitchen)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wooler, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

Perched right on the cliff top so windy but great views of the bays. Friendly welcome. Compact but has all the facilities including a radio. Rooms very small so crampt if busy.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to YHA Perranporth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Perranporth

Address: Droskyn Point, Perranporth TR6 0GS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Perranporth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Perranporth
Hotel Class:2 star — YHA Perranporth 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
YHA Perranporth Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage YHA Perranporth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.