We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Lovely Stay"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Manse

The Old Manse
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pendeen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Manse
Trewellard, Pendeen TR19 7SB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Pendeen B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“"Lovely Stay"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night as part of our Coastal Walk. Our room was located at the front of the house with the sea view and of the garden. I have to say that there was more than adequate space in this room for 2 people plus our luggages. Our bathroom was also quite large and well lit due to the big window located in the bathroom. No worries though as the glass is frosted!
The funny thing that happened to us was that we couldn't figure out why we couldn't get any hot water, hence my husband and I both took a very cold shower that evening. It wasn't until later that we discovered that one had to pull the switch cord that was hanging from the ceilingin order to turn on the hot water. We had a good laugh about this!
Not to digress, we found this B&B excellent! The bed was comfortable. Our breakfast selection was large with fruits, yogurts and cereals. The cooked breakfast was more than enough!
Our host was very friendly and chatty which I enjoyed. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ilminster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

A friendly welcome and room to park on the drive, as well as good sized en-suite bedrooms, which are beautifully clean and well appointed, puts this B&B above many.

We had the room at the front of the house, overlooking the garden and the sea. Simple modern decor, plenty of room and storage space for those staying more than one night. There are tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms and full size shower gels are provided, so you can use what you need and leave the rest for the next guest. Very comfortable bed and we had a excellent peace night's sleep.

Breakfast is taken in the dining room and there is a good range of breakfast options, using locally produced eggs, organic bacon and sausages. You place your order the night before, so that the owners can make preparations for you to dine at your chosen time. The proprietors - Neil and Paulene - are friendly, happy to chat and will offer advise about the local area.

All in all, this is a very pleasant place to stay, in a good location for exploring this stretch of coast and is within easy walking distance to three possible eateries for evening meals too.

Room Tip: The room at the front to the house has the sea views and weather permitting, the sunsets, but the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed for one night whilst walking the south west coastal path. Friendly owners and gorgeous cooked breakfast.
Lovely sea view room with en suite shower.
Pubs locally serve evening meal.
The scenery is truly wonderful.

Room Tip: Front double sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Midlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights with our friends ( John and Alison ) on the 7th and 8th September.
The Old Manse is very clean and the owners are both very friendly.
The cooked breakfast is served on warm plates and you get a good selection.
Our room was at the front and had a lovely view of the coast.
The room was very clean and spacious.
The ensuite was very modern.
We had a good evenig meal at both Trewellard Arms and The Meadery.
I would recommend The Old Manse.
Thank you for a most enjoyable stay.
Steve and Kim.

Room Tip: The double room has excellent seaviews.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We had one night's stay at The Old Manse when walking the South West Coast Path. The only disadvantage of this b&b is that it is located quite far from the path, which you notice after a day's walk from St Ives...
Apart from that, there are only advantages. Our room was excellent, large and clean, with a very spacious bathroom. And breakfast was excellent. We can certainly recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

We were walking the coast path and had one night at the Old Manse. The location was very peaceful, the room was spacious, the breakfast just what was needed for a good walk. Had a good dinner at the Trewellard Arms nearby - the portions were enormous but excellently cooked.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the Old Manse before moving on. The B&B is easy to find and after a very warm welcome from Paulene & Neil we were shown to the front bedroom with stunning views. There are good restaurants within easy walking distance. After a comfortable night we had an amazing breakfast on both mornings with everything you could wish for. We would thoroughly recommend this bed and breakfast in this outstanding heritage area. Thank you.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Old Manse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Manse

Address: Trewellard, Pendeen TR19 7SB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Pendeen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Pendeen
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Manse is a traditional granite house dating from around 1870. Situated in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, in the village of Pendeen. There are three pubs and a restaurant within walking distance and we are within easy walk of the coastal path.Ideally situated for exploring the Lands End Peninsular and places such as St Ives, St Michaels Mount and Porthcurno. All rooms are spacious with en-suite. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Manse Pendeen, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Manse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Old Manse to your Saves list