We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Penarwyn House” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Penarwyn House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Par
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Penarwyn House
Save
You added Penarwyn House to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Pentour | St Blazey, Par, St Austell PL24 2DS , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 20 Par B&B and Inns
Harborne, null, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Penarwyn House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Mike is very helpful and the breakfasts are amazing
well worth the money and will be back again

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penhouse, Owner at Penarwyn House, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you Craig we are pleased that you enjoyed the breakfasts and your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you again
Regards
Mike & Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
69
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We were recommended this Guest House by friends, and were fortunate they had a vacancy for a couple of nights. Although our main reason for being in the area was to visit the Eden Project (and Penarwyn is ideally situated for walking to this) the rooms were so comfortable and well-appointed, and the hosts Mike & Jan so welcoming, we stayed an extra night. Mike's welcome, complete with tea-tray and local knowledge of restaurants, was a great way to begin our stay. The breakfast was superb, and tailored to our taste with ease. The other residents were obviously being looked after with equal care and attention to their preferences. The bedroom and bathroom were furnished to a very high standard, and the inclusion of a 'silent-running' fridge in the room was an unexpected bonus. We highly recommend Penarwyn.

Room Tip: Our room was "Treffry" and was extremely comfortable. We didn't see the others but ass...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penhouse, Owner at Penarwyn House, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
We would like to thank both Rita for her comments and her friends for recommending us to her. We enjoy whatever we do (Jan tells me to say this, she is so fussy and has to have the house as she wants for the guests) from the basic building works to the fancy bed heads and décor. We love meeting guests and helping them get the best out of the time they spend with us. It was a pleasure meeting you and hope to welcome you again
Many thanks
Mike & Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We booked last minute as we decided to visit the Eden Project. And right from the start Mike was so helpful. We enjoyed our one night stay enormously. Mike recommended a first class fish restaurant in the local coastal town of Fowey. He also provided us with great road directions to the Eden Project. Breakfast was beautifully cooked by Jan and my husband thoroughly enjoyed his hearty Cornish breakfast. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and beautifully decorated. The bathrooms are equally as good with bath and power showers. A good find near to the Eden Project.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Penarwyn House, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Thank you for your review, we are delighted that a 1 night say with us (thanks to the Eden Project 1 ½ miles from us) has you writing such a review. We are lucky to have a house that has enabled us to offer the large rooms and en-suites. We recommend several restaurants the one you went to, Sams at Fowey is one of our favourites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

We found Penarwyn House on the internet when looking where two stay in Cornwall for our two week holiday.

Well what a find - Penarwyn House does what it says and more:
* Excellent location for the Eden Project and Gardens of Helligan
* Spotlessly clean and not showing any wear and tear
* Good size rooms and bathrooms - we stayed in the Treffry room (all rooms are good)
* Good shower pressure and hot water
* White cotton bedding - pristinely ironed
* Small quiet fridge in our room with fresh milk and always a fresh jug of filtered water
* Tea tray with variety of teas - have now been converted to 'detox' tea
* Breakfast was personel with superbly good smoked haddock and a poach egg ordered the evening before
* Filtered coffee that I could drink all day - Mike shared his secret to being his filtered Cornwall water

Mike couldn't have been more helpful in our planing of days out and the best places to park and which way to go - who needs a travel guide when one has a 'Mike"

After 5 days we left for a self catering house in Flushing and if only we could have returned back to Penarwyn House with Mike and Jan we would have - as missed the cleanliness, comfortable atmosphere and the feeling of great house that was being shared with you for your pleasure and comfort.

As Mike said, he and Jan enjoyed being hosts and this was so evident without being overbearing - pitched perfectly.

We would recommend and return without hesitation and having found out that Penarwyn House is listed with the Wolsey Lodges, we will use this when searching for our next stay in a B&B as the standard has been set by Penarwyn House.

Lee and Marcel

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikeandjanrussell, Owner at Penarwyn House, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
We thank Lee & Marcel for the kind words and say it is always a pleasure greeting new guests as we believe you come on holiday to enjoy yourselves and that feeling rubs off on us. We have always worked hard to ensure that the house is a it’s best with cleanliness, the best local produce, comfy beds, plenty of hot water and of course a Smile.
I was sorry to hear that the self catering part of your holiday was not quite so good but I enjoyed meeting you in Falmouth at the concert the choir gave on the Saturday

Mike & Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foggathorpe
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We had high expectations of Penarwyn House, being familiar with the standards of Wolsey Lodges - but our hosts and their humble residence surpassed these expectations with consummate ease! Jan's gracious charm (not to mention her absolutely top-notch breakfasts) and Mike's valuable local knowledge, willingness to assist, and wry sense of humour all contributed to what turned out to be a truly excellent four-night R & R.
As the hosts, so the accommodation; unbeatable. All the bedrooms are finished to a very high standard, spotless and exceptionally well-maintained. Our room (the Prideaux) is the best room we have ever stayed in; well-appointed, spacious and with a staggeringly comfortable bed that afforded us four of the most restful nights' sleep we can remember. The en-suite bathroom is intelligently planned and very smart!
And the icing on the cake is a games room with a proper grown-up snooker table, of which we made good use in the evenings.
A memorable stay in every way. Thank you Jan and Mike; we WILL return!
Ted & Rosie (12-16 March)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikeandjanrussell, Owner at Penarwyn House, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
We would like to take this opportunity to thank Ted & Rosie for the time and thought put into this review. We enjoyed your company and point out that sense of humour is always close to the surface the Wryness a response to Ted’s own humour (thank you)
A note to Rosie we are still watching the Olympic countdown clock and will raise a cup in a toast to your new future from that day.
We would also take this opportunity thank all of our other guests who have left a review in the past and apologise for not responding to each one. Your comments are much appreciated and helpful to us, one of my new years resolutions is to respond to all future listings (honey do list allowing)

Mike & Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivybridge, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

We arrived at Penarwyn House on the evening of our wedding for a two-night stay. Mike came out to greet us and help us with our bags, and Jan put my bouquet in water. Then Mike insisted on driving us to Austells, the fantastic restaurant we had booked for the evening, AND picking us up. They couldn't have been kinder or more attentive.

The room was superb (we stayed in the Treffry room which I thoroughly recommend) and the attention to detail was incredible. There was a choice of hard or soft pillows and even a dressing room. Loved the corner bath and the fluffy dressing gowns.

The hotel is a testament to the love and passion Mike and Jan have put into it. Every item of furniture has a story - these are pieces that have been carefully picked out and discovered rather than bought wholesale from Ikea. Jan has made all the blinds and recovered many of the chairs, - love and time has been put into making this a beautiful place.

It is a very real and honest house, full of interesting nooks and crannies. The garden is a delight and the conservatory, drawing room and billard room are all welcoming, relaxing spaces. The house feels loved and its energy is really positive and engaging.

Mike and Jan are interested and interesting hosts, full of information about the local area and stories of Cornwall past and present. They have created a beautiful and informal home and we absolutely felt like guests rather than customers.

The choice of food and detail of breakfast was excellent, and everything we could have wanted seemed to have been thought of before we even mentioned it.

This guest house has richness, character and texture. Thanks to Mike and Jan our stay was unforgettable, and our experience there had depth and feeling. We were treated with such warmth and kindness, and it made our short little honeymoon an absolute delight. I hope that we will have the chance to go back again.

Other guest houses pale in comparison. All the criteria Tripadvisor offer cannot sum up the extraordinary pleasure of staying here. It is about far more than clean rooms and comfortable mattresses - it is the feeling and atmosphere of the place and the personalities of the owners that put it head and shoulders above anywhere else we have stayed.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

We chose Penarwyn as we enjoy comfort and quality, and it was the right decision.
We stayed in the Trefrry Room, and were more than satisfied with the choice. Mike booked a couple of meals for us in exellent restaurants.
The full English was just right for me,though some may decide to miss lunch.
Not so much a house, more a mansion with a big drawing room for guests complete with grand piano, and the next room has a full sized snooker table with plenty of space around it.
Comfortable, very clean and excellent hosts.

Room Tip: We were shown all the rooms, and they were all large, comfortable and spotless. We stayed in the Tre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Penarwyn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penarwyn House

Address: Pentour | St Blazey, Par, St Austell PL24 2DS , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell > Par
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Par
Hotel Class:5 star — Penarwyn House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 Gold Star Luxury B\B In a large Victorian gentleman's residence. Free off road parking & wi fi, large luxurious rooms and en-suites with separate baths and walk in showers.Award winning Cornish breakfasts using local produce whenever possible. All served with a smile. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Penarwyn House Par, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Penarwyn House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.