We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You only have one life. Get out your credit card and get yourself booked into Penarwyn House!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Penarwyn House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Par
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Penarwyn House
Save
You added Penarwyn House to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Pentour | St Blazey, Par, St Austell PL24 2DS , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 20 Par B&B and Inns
Stoke-on-Trent, U.K.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“You only have one life. Get out your credit card and get yourself booked into Penarwyn House!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

My wife and I wanted to take a romantic break in Cornwall to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We planned on going to the Eden Project and the lost Gardens of Heligan, as well as some of the atmospheric Cornish fishing villages such as Mevagissey, Polperro, Looe and Fowey.

Our first decision was where to base ourselves, and we decided that a good central base would be the St Austell/Fowey/Par area.

Our second decision was choosing the accommodation. We try to avoid chain hotels as they can be bland, boring, lacking in character and impersonal. We generally prefer the uniqueness and personal service of bed and breakfast accommodation. However, bed and breakfast accommodation can vary tremendously, from absolute horror shows to tremendous establishments.

We count ourselves very lucky that over the years we have had the good fortune to be able to travel extensively around the world, staying in a range of hotel and guesthouse accommodations in Bangkok, Paris, London, New York, Cape Town, Rome, Barcelona, Toronto, Dubrovnik, Amsterdam, etc, and we can honestly say that we have never come across anything better than Penarwyn House.

Penarwyn House is a large Victorian property, set in its own grounds, that oozes character and charm.

A magnificent property.

Magnificent rooms.

Magnificent breakfasts.

Magnificent hosts. Mike and Jan are superbly caring hosts who go “the extra mile” to ensure that everyone has a truly memorable stay.

Does it cost more than the standard £60-£70 per night that most bed and breakfast accommodations seem to charge in the U.K?

Yes?

Is it worth it?

Yes! Yes! Yes! A thousand times yes!

You only have one life. Get out your credit card and get yourself booked into Penarwyn House.

Experience and enjoy!

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Penarwyn House, responded to this review, July 15, 2011
This is the first time we have responded to a review and we must say how pleased we are with all previous views posted and appreciate the time guests have taken to make them.
To Boneycat’s we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and the comments made by yourselves and hope that Robert, the very boney cat’s health has continued to improve.
Jan & Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
69
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

I couldn't recommend Penarwyn House more highly as a place to stay to explore this part of Cornwall- the rooms are large, immaculate and elegant and the attention to detail is superb-like fresh milk in the mini fridge, and a welcome cup of tea on arriving!
The breakfast is wonderful and the whole house is lovingly kept, and in a great position to go exploring!
I was travelling alone and much appreciated Mike and Jan's advice on where to visit and good humour!
I would love to go back....

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

We stayed in the suite which was delightful, the massive bed was very comfortable and it had everything we could want. My wife had 2 baths just for the enjoyment!

Mike and Jan were perfect hosts - they said that they love what they do and I believe them

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Riding of Yorkshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

We stayed 4 nights at Penarwyn House and found it very, very nice. We were well looked after by Mike and Jan. A very attractive Victorian house and the breakfast was superb and much more than we could eat. The full breakfast would keep you going all day. Situated in a very quiet area.

Room Tip: We had a suite but all the rooms are very large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

From the moment we arrived at the residence Jan & Mike made us feel so welcome. We have stayed in some 5 star luxury hotels all over the world, but what Jan & Mike are offering is really something special. You will find great accommodation, outstanding friendliness and a highl level of professional service. Jan's pancakes are so delicious! We will be back as this is the best b&b/hotel we have ever stayed in.

Thank you very much Jan & Mike. Everything was perfect.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

This was one of the best B&Bs I have stayed in anywhere in the world. The town in which it is located is rather non-descript, but the B&B is on a little road behind the town's school and is in a world of its own.
We stayed in the Treffry room, which is the smallest and the cheapest (besides the single), but it was still absolutely huge with a stunning bathroom with corner bath and a little dressing room. The room was perfectly decorated and perfectly clean, with lovely little touches. It was light, airy and romantic. As was the rest of this period property. The dining room and conservatory are lovely, but they have nothing on the snooker room which is like something out of an Austen novel.
I would recommend this place to anyone, whether for a romantic weekend (which was our objective), a stop over on a road trip or a luxury getaway with a friend.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpool
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2011

Arriving at this stunning gentleman's residence Jan & Mike made us so welcome with tea and home-made lemon cake. We have stayed all over the world and this hotel offers stunning accommodation outstanding friendliness and professional service nothing was too much trouble, in-fact I think this is the one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in we will be back to visit and have told all our friends about your stunning home and welcoming and warm manner fabulous people Mike and Jan. You deserve all you have and i'm sure you will continue for many years to come to provide a quality haven with such a friendly welcome purely brilliant

Mark & Luke

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Penarwyn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penarwyn House

Address: Pentour | St Blazey, Par, St Austell PL24 2DS , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell > Par
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Par
Hotel Class:5 star — Penarwyn House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 Gold Star Luxury B\B In a large Victorian gentleman's residence. Free off road parking & wi fi, large luxurious rooms and en-suites with separate baths and walk in showers.Award winning Cornish breakfasts using local produce whenever possible. All served with a smile. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Penarwyn House Par, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Penarwyn House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.