We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Damp, Uncomfortable beds - DO NOT GO” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Trenython Manor Hotel & SPA

Save Saved
You added Trenython Manor Hotel & SPA to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Trenython Manor Hotel & SPA
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Castledore Road | Near Fowey, Par, St Austell PL24 2TS, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Par
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Damp, Uncomfortable beds - DO NOT GO”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We visited here in September and was due to stay for a week - we checked out after one night. Both myself and partner were in so much pain due to the rock hard bed in majority of it but large dip in the middle. The smell of damp in room 207 was very apparent as soon as we had climbed the stairs to the top of the hotel - no lift and it was only to get worse. Towels were thread bare, the wallpaper was peeling off in many places, no mini bar and the damp around the patio doors was so extreme that the paint had not only come off but the plaster was thinning. Never again. No apology was made from guest services, however the receptionist was vey apologetic. Thought it very strange that nobody even came to see the points that we were pointing out. Very bad experience of hotel

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubLaCostaWorld, General Manager at Trenython Manor Hotel & SPA, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. The hotel is currently undergoing major refurbishment which is well on its way to completion.

Unfortunately the room available on your arrival has yet to undergo refurbishment and did not reflect the high standards we seek to introduce and maintain. I apologise for that and I am sorry that you felt you did not want to move to a refurbished room when one became vacant the next day but do understand your disappointment.

We enjoy many very positive comments but we welcome all feedback as it is important to us to be able to monitor our satisfaction rates and I regret that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations.

Nick Waddington, Resort Manager, Trenython Manor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    128
    86
    42
    15
    13
See reviews for
81
149
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed here for a week in September 2011 in one of the two bedroomed chalets. Accommodatin was good, facilities in the chalet were of a high standard and we had a beautiful view across the downs all the way to,the sea at Par Sands.

The facilities in the main house were OK.. The bar and additional room for relaxing or watching the large screen TV was welcome. In the bar area there was evening entertainment for the few guests that bothered to go.

All in all, the stay was good and the area is outstanding for the small coves and Cornish towns.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We have stayed twice before at Trenython Manor. They were both discounted holidays and we had to attend a sales presentation.

This time we were private paying guests so weren't harrassed by the CLC sales staff.

We had a wonderful time and were only sorry that we couldn't stay longer. The room was lovely. Not a very good view but very big with two large windows. The bed was enormous and extremely comfortable. A large en suite with full size bath and shower over. The only criticism was that there is no long mirror in the room. There was plenty of wall space and this would have been a very welcome addition.

The breakfast was a banquet. It was all laid out in a small room adjoining the dining room and guests were encouraged to fill their own plates with whatever they wanted and in whatever quantities. Delicious and plenty of it.

Every morning we sat by the front window with a stunning view down the valley to the bay and Par docks.

The grounds are extensive but, unfortunately, not well kept. There was bindweed covering everything. I think they need an army of gardeners to get it under control.

The staff are all very pleasant with smiles and cheery greetings.

Although the accommodation was very expensive - far more than we would normally pay - we felt that it was well worth it and we will start saving up now so that we can afford another short stay in a few months time.

Thank you very much to the CLC staff for such an enjoyable holiday.

Room Tip: We have stayed in the second floor rooms before and, although still very comfortable furnished, it c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Two night bargain break booked thru voyage prive. Included B&B plus entry to the Eden Project. I think we must have been unlucky with the room as it was the smallest dullest tattiest room ive ever stayed in anywhere.
However the hotels facilities are good, nice pool, spa, steam room and sauna. Breakfast fine as well as was dinner the one night we ate there. Staff friendly .
Eden project was a bit disappointing really, give me Kew Gardens anyday, but it made a day out on a nasty wet weekend which rather took the shine off things, but thats not the hotels fault of course!

Room Tip: if you get put in the room with the peeling wallpaper and view of a flat roof... complain!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights. First impression was a shabby rather dated hotel with a bit of a musty smell. Had a family room in the hotel. Bit shabby but had all the requirements. Overall however we had a great stay as Staff were excellent, very friendly and very helpful. Shay from kids club was a big hit with our three young girls, he had a great manner with them, and him and Ken taught us all some archery. Four giant rabbits were also a hit with the girls who enjoyed feeding them with Shay. Great outdoor play area and swimming pool, which was very warm. Food good. Great rock pooling beaches nearby. Value for money particularly if you have kids who need entertaining in bad weather, as most hotels in Cornwall with an indoor swimming pool are very expensive.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millom, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We have just returned from Trenython Manor. We stayed 4 nights in the Cherry Lodge. Probably the best self catering I have visited, they had thought of everything, milk, butter, bread and washing up materials we have had to take those with us in the past. We even had towels provided! The staff in reception and the bar, restaurant were very friendly the food was good the one night we ate there. The views over the bay from the terrace are amazing. It's well placed for most of Cornwall but still nice and quiet in the evening. There was a couple of small shops about a mile away for newspapers,milk etc. a car is a must but I think that counts for most of Cornwall especially if you want to explore all the coast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Forest
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed one night in the hotel with our toddler and baby. In fact, we had the bridal suite which was a huge room with a lovely view across the bay. Shortly after arriving, we took the little ones to see Mr Wacky the childrens entertainer. They loved it and Mum and Dad were very happy too with a complimentary glass of champagne, nice touch. There's a lot here to keep the children happy with an indoor pool, outdoor play area and a kids club. We had a fantastic dinner in the restaurant, the cajun sea bass was superb as was the sirloin steak. All locally sourced and the bread rolls were gorgeous and baked on site. Breakfast was just okay as it is not cooked to order but self service from hot platters, a little disappointing. We found the staff to be welcoming and friendly. The only downside were the sharky salesmen. Hot tip: pretend to be interested in buying a timeshare and stay for a week for the same price that we payed for one night!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Trenython Manor Hotel & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trenython Manor Hotel & SPA

Address: Castledore Road | Near Fowey, Par, St Austell PL24 2TS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell > Par
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Par
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Trenython Manor Hotel & SPA 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in beautiful landscaped grounds overlooking St. Austell Bay, Trenython Manor has earned the reputation of being one of the premier locations on the Cornish Riviera for fine dining, luxurious accommodation and total relaxation. The elegant manor house itself has tremendous character, featuring many exquisite Italian details, particularly in the magnificent entrance hall. Tastefully renovated to the highest standards, the resort skilfully combines Italian architecture with English charm to offer an oasis of tranquillity and a truly unique holiday experience.The extensive range of on-site facilities includes a fully equipped gymnasium, sauna and indoor swimming pool, while the treatment rooms offer the ultimate in relaxation and rejuvenation, specialising in Elemis spa-therapy face and body treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Trenython Manor Hotel & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trenython Manor Hotel And Spa
Trenython Manor Hotel & SPA Par, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trenython Manor Hotel & SPA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.