We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful house overgrown with neglect” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Nanscawen Manor House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Par
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nanscawen Manor House
Save
You added Nanscawen Manor House to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Prideaux Road | Luxulyan Valley, Par, St Austell PL24 2SR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 20 Par B&B and Inns
Bath
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A beautiful house overgrown with neglect”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

In Daphne Du Maurier's 'Rebecca', the narrator is travelling up a drive that had been returned to nature to the trees. Indeed that is the case travelling up the drive to Nanscawen Manor house. Our host greeted us warmly and showed us to the room.
Our hearts sank further. A vase of dead carnations were waiting for us on the dressing table, in a vase that had not seen fresh water for many days.
we tried to be positive and took up our hosts offer tea after our long journey. The tea was presented in lovely china complete with a plate of bourbon biscuits, hungrily we bit into them! Alas like the dead flowers the freshness had long gone.
The bedlinen was old and thin, the valances had not been washed for many months!
Breakfast promised fresh fruit and promises were all we recieved. The coffee however was freh and hot. This B&B promised top end facilities and charged a top end price. What was offerred was tired outdated and sad.
The only positive was its nearness to the Eden Project a mere 5 minute drive. The only other good point was leaving knowing we never have to return.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    7
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
2
33
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

We booked Nanscawen as we really needed a really restfull break. It didn't dissapoint....on the welcoming Manor House that is Nanscawen, it's welcome that is Keith, the room that is the Rashleigh, and the Jacuzzi that has the views!! Thank you Keith for letting us share your home, we loved it. Wendy & Martin XX

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

This beautiful manor house is in the middle of nowhere and has absolutely beautiful grounds. We were made extremely welcome, with tea and biscuits provided on our arrival in the lovely drawing room. The room had glorious views and was well equipped. We were only staying for one night on this occasion, but we will certainly stay here again when we can.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belper, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

Our stay was superb: Beautiful location, splendid accommodation, and a host who pays full attention to the needs of his guests. Nothing more could we have wished.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

We found Nascawen Manor Hotel by Googling for accommodation close to the Eden Project and, certainly, we couldn't have ended up much close. The hotel is within a mile or two, almost close enough to walk. Mind you, we had to find the hotel itself first, and this was no easy job. The turn onto the steep driveway is easy to miss. Sat Nav for the postcode will not lead you to the door.

The hotel is set well back from the road and commands a splendid view from its position on top of the hill. The view from the swimming pool is even more impressive, but more of that later.

The building itself is hundreds of years old and clearly has a somewhat faded grandeur about it that has survived the test of time, rather like a very comfortable but well worn pair of hand-made shoes.

The hotel offers a number of suites, each with en suite that appear to have been converted from an adjacent bedroom. We have now stayed in two of these and each had its own attractions; both were perfectly comfortable. Keith, the owner, welcomes you [back] with tea in the large lounge before showing you to your room.

Breakfast in the morning is in a much newer conservatory and features all the usual offerings, including the Full English and, my wife's favourite, scrambled eggs with smoked salmon.

Should you wish to take advantage of the swimming pool then, be aware, it's a bit of an "expedition". The route you have to take is somewhat overgrown (needs attention Keith!) and there is a distinct danger of bashing your head on an overhanging branch, so take care. However, the result is worth the effort, when the weather is favourable. This is a natural sun-trap.

The car park is a bit of an ordeal: the angle of the drive means that reaching it from a stop-off to drop off your bags at the door involves a very sharp turn. Reversing up to the door is a challenge, as I found to my cost.

We have now stayed here twice and would have no hesitation about staying again. Yes, it is a little on the pricey side but not outrageously so. For the peace and quiet and especially for the convenience of the Eden Project, its worth it, as repeat guests, not just ourselves, would testify.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keffers, Owner at Nanscawen Manor House, responded to this review, August 4, 2010
Thank you for the review, the pathway to the pool is being worked on. The garden and grounds amount to 5 acres incorporating a 3 acre paddock a small woodland lawns and a medieval orchard. It's a very large green gym for me when I'm not looking after visitors.
Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2009

We spent 4 nights at Keith Martin's luxurious secluded B & B. Lovely room, peaceful and spacious. Pool with stunning views of Cornish countryside. Excellent location for visiting Eden Project, Lanhydrock and Heligan. Lovely breakfast in the conservatory. Keith was very welcoming and knowledgable of where to visit and where to eat. We'll be back!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witney Oxfordshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2009

How many times do you get fresh bathrobes in a country B&B? It was simple touches that made our break a holiday to remember. It is also less than 1 mile from the Eden Project, which was the main reason for our trip, but we found this gem of a place, and will certainly visit again. Thanks Keith for making us feel really welcome. Next time we'll bring some Tiptree jams so you can feel at home!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nanscawen Manor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nanscawen Manor House

Address: Prideaux Road | Luxulyan Valley, Par, St Austell PL24 2SR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell > Par
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Par
Hotel Class:4 star — Nanscawen Manor House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nanscawen Manor House is a delightful country house set in an idyllic location. Only 2 Miles from The Eden Project. It stands in 5 acres of grounds & gardens with lovely views Southward over a valley. There are Four luxury en-suite rooms all bathrooms have spa baths and 3 with showers. The elegantly furnished drawing room leads into the conservatory, Where breakfast is enjoyed. Gardens and Swimming Pool You are welcome to enjoy the peaceful, tranquil beauty of the gardens. The large outdoor swimming pool is heated and has wonderful views to the South over unspoilt country side. This is available from Mid May through to Mid September. Our guests may luxuriate in the hot spa tub, which is beside the pool and is heated to 97f, this is available in the summer months. We look forward welcoming you to our home. Many good restaurants are within easy reach. An ideal base for touring all of Cornwall. Places to visit- Heligan garden 8 miles, Fowey 5 miles, Lanhydrock House 6 miles ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nanscawen Manor Hotel
Nanscawen Manor House Par, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nanscawen Manor House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.