We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Britannia Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Britannia Inn to your Saves list
The Britannia Inn
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   St Austell Rd, Par, St Austell PL24 2SL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 20 Par B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Logan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

My sister and I enjoyed our stay at the Britannia. Initially we were shown to a double room. When we told them that we had booked a twin room we were upgraded to the Carlyon room. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and we found them to be very friendly. The evening meals were very nice and breakfast was adequate. Our room was very large and comfortable. The only thing I didn't like was the electric room freshener. It smelt so bad that the first thing I did when we walked into the room was switch it off. Problem solved. There was a lot of traffic noise throughout the night as well,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    18
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
20
37
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed at the Britannia Inn last week. There are only around 5 rooms. Te one I was allocated as huge - around 25 feet by 12 feet. The rooms have all been recently refurbished in a very modern style and are very comfortable. All the staff are welcoming and solicitous of your needs. I ate in the restaurant 4 out of the. 5 days. Each meal was very nice and I couldn't fault it. He hotel also has free wifi so hat you can catch up on emails etc in the evening. Very good place to stay if you are on business and looking for somewhere in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne, Dorset
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Just returned after a lovely nights stay at the Britannia, room was lovely, loads of space, sofa bed and travel cot fitted in with plenty of room. Very tidy rooms, lovely en-suite. Evenng meal was lovely, staff were incredibly friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was also fantastic. All round could not fault a single thing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

What can I say, my wife and I have just spent a 4 night stay (10th-14th sept) at the Britannia Inn and we werent disappointed. The Carylon Suite we stayed in was excellent. The food prepared by the chefs was of a high standard and well presented. As for the staff nothing was to much trouble and they were very polite. Overall Excellent and well worth a visit.

Room Tip: The suites are the larger rooms + they have a bath and shower combined
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Just home from a fantastic weekend at the Britannia Inn. I booked all the rooms for friends staying in Cornwall to join in with our wedding celebrations. We are a family of four, two adults and two children. Our room was amazing, very spacious, light and airy. These rooms are very high spec, they are beautifully decorated with top quality furnishings, the beds were so comfortable and cosy and the bathroom was of really high standard and very clean. Would 100% recommend these rooms to everyone. All my guests were more than happy with their accommodation.
Breakfast was also very good with lots of choice in a lovely dining room which again was very clean and tidy. The staff are all welcoming, friendly and helpful, they also made the children very welcome which always helps makes your stay less stressful.
All in all more than happy which the whole package. Thank you to the Management and Staff at the Brit for a great weekend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Simply put the Britannia had fantastic staff, fantastic facilities, fantastic rooms for a great price. A central location to travel easily around Cornwall. The events on the large outdoor area were excellent. Thanks to all of the staff who were all very friendly and couldn't do enough to help us have a great holiday.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Read previous reviews on here and on Expedia and it did NOT dissappoint. Fantastic hotel, gorgeous modern family room spleeps 4 very comfortably, a bed each for the children and good comfy beds,large bathroom large white fluffy towels. Food amazing breakfast freshly cooked to order and NOT pre-cooked and kept warm in those awful self service things. Dinner outsatnding though prebook as they get very busy. Bar has good selection of real ales, beers, wine. & sprits, no wonder it's got the AA **** rating. Staff very helpful and very accomodating for example we did not have a reservation for an evening meal and dispite being full they put themselves out and accommodated us,nothing was too much trouble. Massive outside sitting area and play area for children,good size carpark Very central to everywhere Perranporth beach 40mins away Eden project 5mins away, Falmouth 50 mins away. Definetly go back but, for longer next time. perfect for weekend get aways great value for money for this time of year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Britannia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Britannia Inn

Address: St Austell Rd, Par, St Austell PL24 2SL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell > Par
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Par
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Britannia Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia and its friendly team continue to welcome all visitors from young to the young at heart since 1982! Easy to find and favourably located Freehouse, family owned & established for 30 years featuring Waves restaurant, spacious and relaxed dining area including carvery (new 2012), 5 stylish and comfortable en suite guest rooms (new 2012), traditional lounge bar with original 16th century fireplaces, modern main bar with great selection of real ales & fine wines also providing televised sports and scheduled live entertainment. Bar snacks, great pub favourites and a la carte menu provides every dining choice preferred. Our function suite offers private and spacious refinement for meetings, seminars, weddings, birthdays and large party bookings. Outside boasts a large free car park with good disabled access, beautifully kept secure and sheltered beer garden, various patio dining areas and a large children's play area. An all year round heated and covered smoking area is available as is an outside bar and BBQ in the summer months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Britannia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Britannia Inn Par, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Britannia Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.