We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“take away rubbish” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Massala

Royal Massala
Polmear Hill, Par, St Austell PL24 2AR, England
01726 816 333
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 12 restaurants in Par
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Par, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“take away rubbish”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

ordered take away .... 3 different dishes, rice and nann's
which tasted like it had all been cooked in microwave! rubber dried crap! very disappointed !!!!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

71% Recommend
    15
    11
    2
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not good indian food.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

After a great weeks holiday in Par sands holiday park we decided on our last night to visit this restaurant that we passed every day. We were not greeted on arrival, eventually led to a table, eventually asked for our drink order and then told we could go to the buffet in 5 minutes or so as it was getting topped up.

For a buffet the choice was very limited. 2 starters, only 3 chicken mains and 2 vegetarian, rice and nan bread.

Starters were okay. No sauce for the pakora.

On plating the food.....thin sauce..........on eating...........disgusting!!!

All dishes tasted much the same.

Very dissapointed!!!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Cannot Cook Chicken Tikka”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Generally the food was average for an Indian but what let the whole meal down was the way the chicken tikka was prepared and cooked. It felt and tasted as though it was cooked in a coonventional oven so that it was hard and leathery on the outside. As we order 3 of these for the 5 of us it ruined our meal. Would not go back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nan bread was cooked in a microwave!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

Popped in here as heard mixed reviews, ordered a small take out before taking the plunge to dine in.

Had to feed the nan bread to the ducks on par sands, needed soaking up with water as was like rock!!

Appauling, always seemed quiet so glad we did not all sit in... Come on, basic nan bread and they can not get that right.

I have tried many curry houses up and down the UK and would not rate this at all, situated right outside par sands caravan park so even if they get one visit of each holiday family they will be quids in, avoid... Go to the ship inn and buy a roast dinner for just over £5!

Don't waste your money even if you crave curry, trying to cash in on holiday makers, complete tasteless food.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Massala, General Manager at Royal Massala, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Hello. Thank you for your review. I can assure you that we have never cooked a nan bread in the microwave! We have a Tandoori oven and all our nan breads are cooked in that. Nan breads are not basic to make either. I am sorry to hear you have had a bad experience. I would like to invite you to the Royal Massala and hope you have a better experience. Once again I apologise on behalf of Royal Massala on your bad experience with our food.

Kind Regards

RM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brocton, Staffs.
2 reviews
“Sensational!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Turned up on spec for quiet indulgence of my birthday whilst holidaying in Fowey. My taste for fish curry catered for perfectly and vegetarian range extensive. Everything prepared and presented in complete harmony. Our 4 year old was unfortunately asleep when we arrived and slept on a comfy padded bench seat throughout the event, missing out on the beautiful aquarium too. Everyone was totally chilled and pleasant. Good to have Bangladesh women providing the service. Charming.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Massala also viewed

 

Been to Royal Massala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Massala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.