We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would come back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eden Project

Eden Project
Bodelva, Par, St Austell PL24 2SG, England
01726 811911
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 9 Attractions in Par
Type: Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Trek through the world's largest indoor rainforest, take in the sights and smells of our Mediterranean Biome, and explore our huge outdoor gardens. At the Eden Project you'll discover the fascinating relationships between plants and people. You'll also find a full calendar of family events throughout the year and music festivals in the summer. As an educational charity we run transformational social and environmental projects locally and internationally.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Sofia, Bulgaria
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“I would come back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

It's amazing what they did here. I love both the Rainforest Biome and the Mediterranean Biome. You need to spend at least half a day at Eden Project. There's a place to eat.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,920
    1,176
    647
    318
    177
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Albans
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nothing special. Over hyped! ”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Very disappointed. I love the idea behind Eden Project; turning an abandoned mine into something of use. I also thought the restaurants were great. They must have a decent management team there.

But you don't visit these places for the food. The main reason is for the biospheres. These were really disappointing. It's no where near as excellent as the Lost Gardens of Heligan which give visitors a really beautiful jungle experience which felt more true to its exotic roots. It felt very natural.

The Eden Project on the other hand felt very plastic by comparison.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigtown, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Not Only Dinosaurs ..... Crocodile Queues Too!!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We were waiting in a queue of customers to pay to enter The Eden Project. It must have taken about 45 minutes to reach the payment desk. We now realise why the long wait. This is due to various sales pitches made by the staff who are trying encourage the visitors to buy other things on top of their entry charge. We realise that the staff have to do what they are told. We would suggest sell the tickets first, cut down on the lengthy waiting time for elderly and young alike, and do the sales pitch in a separate area. A much more customer friendly way to serve the public. It was very stuffy in the ticket sales area. Air conditioning might be a welcome addition.

I know you can buy tickets in advance on line but not everyone has access to the internet for various reasons.

The Dinosaur attraction again caused more queuing before you dared to enter the "Dinosaurs Unleashed" exhibition. It's a very good Dinosaur growling over its prey. Another creature lying in front of it and looking to be partially disembowelled. But I can't think of anything else in there apart from the illustrations on boards with information about the different extinct species which you could read whilst queuing.

I was sorry that the rain forest was too hot and humid for me to see all of it. The Mediterranean dome was interesting and it led me to rethink some of my garden in an attempt to cope with our increasingly warmer summers. A lot of the plant life had already flowered but some of the planting concepts were interesting, especially the herbs in gravel with nice white granite edging. May well do this in our garden.

There were what seemed like loads of eating places surrounding the domes. The gift shop and plant centre was excellent. Lovely cacti on display.

Our visit was marred somewhat by the terrible rain. Thank goodness for the trains ferrying visitors back up the hill to the bus stop. The buses were very welcome and took us right back up the road to our car park.

Would we go back? Probably yes but at a quieter time of year when the kiddies are back to school.

Would try to buy our tickets on line too which might improve our overall impression of The Eden Project.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good day out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We spent the whole day at Eden on our recent visit to Cornwall. It was already a warm sunny day so the biomes were even warmer inside.

Some tips and advice (especially after reading other reviews):

Book online to get a reduced price ticket, and you also get to avoid the (very) long queue into Eden. Once inside Eden, the ticket can be upgraded to an annual ticket for no additional cost.

Eat in the Mediterranean Terrace - it's probably the best "museum food" we've had. Alternatively take a picnic - in a rucksack, because you'll do lots of walking. Staff were happy to keep refilling our water bottles (for free).

The landscaping and exhibits were beautiful. We've been to Kew Gardens in London in the last six months and you cannot compare them. Eden is much bigger, better signposting and labelling, and more modern. With more stuff for kids. Other exhibits like the T-Rex and Kids' Explorers areas also kept the little ones more interested.

For teens, I'd recommend booking them on the zip wire which goes over the whole of Eden. That will keep the most grumpy of teenagers buzzing for a while.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Wow what an amazing place. Really wasn't quite sure what to expect or even if I would enjoy but as we were able to get bargain tickets through tesco clubcard vouchers we thought we would give it a go. We had a wonderful day here so much to see wold recommend to all.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eden Project also viewed

 

Been to Eden Project? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eden Project, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.