We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic views with great pub food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rashleigh Inn

Rashleigh Inn
Polkerris | on the beach, Par, St Austell PL24 2TL, England
01726 813991
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 14 Restaurants in Par
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic views with great pub food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Ate at this pub - and came back twice more in one week. Great pub food a definite cut above the rest. The views from the outdoor seating are great and with friendly service. Just recommend to avoid Friday as the kitchen got overwhelmed - but the good quality and fabulous views more than made up for the wait!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    83
    29
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Bad, over priced food, poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

I ordered the sea bass, the meal I received was half a bass fillet on top of a salad for the price of £13.00. The bass wasn't well cooked the skin was not crispy the flesh was slightly over cooked. The salad that made up the rest of the dish consisted of 3 tomatoes cut in 4, 3 or 4 potatoes advertised as new potatoes but they were clearly not because of the size and earthy taste and a few olives. The waitress didn't ask if we enjoyed our meal and when serving my wife she almost dropped her food off of the side of table, luckily my wife caught the plate. Overall very disappointed, would much rather eat next door at Sams on the beach next time I'm in polkerris.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, MI
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“When you want to feel like a real Smuggler...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

It's not easy to get to Polkerris, whether by the cliff paths, by boat or by car down through the narrow lane from Par. By whatever method, you will likely arrive in this smuggler's cove with its wraparound harbor wall sweating - from exertion or tension...
We came for lunch on a blissfully sunny day in July on a rising tide, anchored off in the shelter of the harbor wall, and ferried in on the dinghy to meet those in the family who had walked around from Fowey.
We've been to the Rashleigh in mid-winter in the teeth of a gale, and it has always proven welcoming, warm and snug, with all the cosiness anticipated of such a pub. But this summer day was hot like the Caribbean, and the bar was comfortably cool and inviting with its several draft ales, ciders and lagers. The weather had encouraged a number of people to come and enjoy the beach, but the Inn coped with the influx in a friendly and easy way.
We ate on the patio overlooking the harbor and enjoyed watching the whole scene. The Rashleigh's menu is varied with interesting specials, which are ordered inside and then delivered to the table. We had moules/frites, various salads and a curry. The portions were generous and well presented. My curry, with its saffron rice and serving of mango chutney, could have been more spicy, but was very flavorful.
As the sun moved over the yardarm, we waddled down to the dinghy and I helped the others get off, before my group headed up onto the cliffs for the coast walk out to the Gribbin and back around into the scenic pleasure of Fowey.
The Rashleigh Inn is worth the trip.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lived up to expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Having seen photographs taken from the balcony and read the reviews on this site, this was our first choice for a meal on our stay in St Austell. It did not disappoint.
I loved the ploughmans and the seafood platter went down very well. The ale was excellent, especially "Doom Bar".

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious food, stunning view and excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

An unplanned visit to Polkerris beach on Saturday evening and as hungry and worn-out holiday-makers we found ourselves on the doorstep of Rashleigh's Inn. We didnt really expect to get a table without reservation on a busy Saturday evening but hostess Samantha went out of her way to find us a table while we enjoyed a couple of drinks at the bar. She kept informed all the way through and soon enough we had a table overlooking the sea enjoying the sunset. The service was quick and the food was delicious and very generous in serving. Take it from a vegetarian who struggles with pub-grub. My friend who ordered mussels also enjoyed her meal. Lovely atmosphere and tasty food made for a very pleasant evening in Polkerris.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rashleigh Inn also viewed

 

Been to Rashleigh Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rashleigh Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.