We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a warm welcome home from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boslowen Bed and Breakfast

Boslowen Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Par
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Boslowen Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Boslowen Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
96, Par Green, Par, St Austell PL24 2AG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 20 Par B&B and Inns
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“a warm welcome home from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

I stayed at the boslowen for two visits I had to Cornwall this summer, the first time alone and the second time with my partner for my friends wedding. On my first visit Sonia came and picked me up from the train station and both her and her partner made me feel instantly welcome and at home with a cup of tea upon arrival in their conservatory overlooking their beautiful garden, bliss! I went up to my room and it was perfectly equipt and very clean and tidy with everything you could need. The breakfast the next morning was outstanding, the sauages and bacon were locally produced and the eggs were from the free range chickens in the neighbours field out the back. Everything was perfect and I had such a lovely time here. It meant so much to me how welcome I was made to feel :-) I will definately be going back to the Boslowen on my next visit to Cornwall. Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
8
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Only five minutes walk from the railway station. Nicely decorated rooms with all comfort including tea, coffee and biscuits. The bathroom has got both a shower and a bidé. Nice pressure on the hotwater too.
The host and hostess made us feel like we were part of the family. We had breakfast served around a big table that made it easy to talk to other guests. Many of those who stayed there was there for walking. We went to see The Eden project and The Lost Gardens of Heligan. The nice hostess drove us there since you otherwise have to change buses to get there.
It's five minutes walk to the sea and another five minutes to reach a local pub where both the food and price was nice. We had Yorkshire pudding and steak.
Would love to come back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Completed the current phase of the SWCP at Boslowen and as we entered Par we feared the worst. Par is not the most welcoming place. But Boslowen is like a diamond in a coal mine. Welcoming, warm, friendly and good value. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Very well run friendly B&B.
Free WiFi
Bike Shed
Cracking pub down the road.
Showers good

Good breakfast operation.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

It was a fleeting visit, not for a holiday, but a family occasion and we needed somewhere to stay. Some guesthouses in the area are shut for the winter but Boslowen is open more or less year round. We were very grateful to find a room at short notice and only for one night as we had to head back.

From booking to leaving, dealing with Boslowen was wonderful. Quick to respond to emails, eager to be of service (lifts from Par station etc) Sonia and John are the perfect hosts. We arrived at Par station on a blustery rainy afternoon but it held off enough to allow us a brisk walk to the b&b which is very easy to get to and a level walk of less than 500m--although we were offered a lift too.

We were greeted with a very welcome cup of tea and a chat and then shown to a very spacious room with good size en-suite. Many Cornish b&bs and guest houses have small rooms and en-suites are usually no bigger than a wardrobe owing to the historical buildings many are housed in. This would be a great place to stay if you wanted that bit more room to spread out.

Everything was spotlessly clean and the sheets were soft. There were tea and coffee making facilities in the room but we didn't require them. Breakfast next morning was delicious! In addition to the tastiest bacon I have had in ages, the delicious sausages of local butcher Charles Harris in the neighbouring village of Tywardreath up on the hill, the kindness of sharing some Breton blackcurrant jam that John had been given by friends from Britanny. Sonia is a linguist and speaks French and Breton (and probably other languages too!) so you will get a truly international welcome. The area has a long history of encouraging French exchanges.

We were not staying to explore the area but I could recommend it as an excellent base to visit Cornwall. You can easily get from road and rail to the far west including St Ives and Land's End and Cape Cornwall, plus only a handful of miles from the beautiful Fowey, Eden Project, Lost Gardens of Heligan, the Clay Country, and more. Trains from Par station will get you to Newquay (although very few trains in the winter), Penzance and east to Liskeard where you can change for the resort of Looe. Also the perfect location for walkers wanting to explore the south coast. Buses go to St Austell and Fowey and some run late into the evening if you want a nice meal in Fowey for example.

If you base yourself in Par don't forget to visit what is near you too. The village grew to its current size in the 19th century because of the local industry in china clay. You can still see the clay dries at work near the harbour if you go to Par Sands, the nearest beach. There was also a bit of fishing done from the harbour. Par has a few useful shops if you need to get any supplies during your stay.

Take a walk one day up to Tywardreath, made famous by Daphne Du Maurier's The House on the Strand (which is what Tywardreath means in Cornish). In fact read the book before your visit or during! Tywardreath's origins are more ancient than Par and it has retained much of its old world charm, very friendly and home to an elegant Wesleyan Chapel and impressive parish church (dedicated to St Andrew). The New Inn pub is cosy, friendly and somewhere you can easily while away a rainy afternoon if you want some warmth and respite from rain and wind. If you are here in the first weekend of August be sure to visit the village fete--this is a traditional Cornish festival at its best. St Blazey makes up the triad of villages that nestle together around Par Harbour. There is not much there although the church is worth a visit if open.

All in all I can imagine Boslowen to be a great base for any visit to Cornwall, long or short. Your hosts will only be too happy to help you make the most if your time here.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

Stayed for two nights with another couple also in their 30's. We had a very warm welcome and the rooms are lovely as well as spotless. A very varied, nicely cooked breakfast was served in the morning. Nothing was too much trouble for the very obliging owners. At just 60 pounds per night it is excellent value.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccles, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

A lovely accommodation, very helpful and friendly host, good breakfasts and a fine garden! Good value for money and a good choice for walkers; our room was very clean with lots of room for walking gear and the like. For an evening meal try the Indian restaurant opposite the pub and near the entrance to the holiday park. Par itself is an odd little place with very little to see or do!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boslowen Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boslowen Bed and Breakfast

Address: 96, Par Green, Par, St Austell PL24 2AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell > Par
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Par
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel instantly at home in our comfortable relaxed atmosphere. There is ample parking space and a patio and a beautiful garden to enjoy on a fine day. The Eden Project is just 5 minutes away and the beach about 3 minutes walk.All our rooms are doubles but can be used for single occupancy and some as a twin giving great flexibility. The rooms are well proportioned and have digital television, free wi-fi access and a beverage tray. There is also free internet access in the dining room. Tuck into fresh fruit salad, cereals and organic wholemeal toast in our new conservatory overlooking a beautiful garden. Our cooked breakfast with local free range eggs and award winning sausages will set you up for the day. Boslowen is an ideal base for walking, cycling or visiting Cornwall's beautiful gardens and coastline and has plenty of local shops and places to eat nearby. Par Railway station is 500 metres away and there is a good bus service to both St Austell and Fowey. We speak both French and German. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Boslowen Bed And Breakfast Par, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boslowen Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.