We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic venue, great pizza, attentive happy staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sam's On The Beach

Sam's On The Beach
The Old Lifeboat Station, 14 Polkerris | Polkerris, Par, St Austell PL24 2TL, England
01726 812255
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 16 Restaurants in Par
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: 25 years of Sams in Fowey has now enabled us to bring all our experience, fun, ambience, staff and fantastic locally sourced produce to create something truly unique in the old Fowey Lifeboat House here on the waters edge overlooking the bay.3 Ingredients that a successful restaurant needs are "Good Staff, Good Food, Good Ambience" and Sams on the Beach has all 3 in abundance!Enjoy!And the views not that bad too!Sam Sixton
Taunton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic venue, great pizza, attentive happy staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Not to be missed but do book a table or gamble that it will be sunny and wait for an outside table (picnic bench). At high tide the sea can only be 30 metres away. With the sun going down, a pint of cider and a great pizza- what's not to like? We will be back :-)

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    359
    145
    44
    20
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
watford
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Food, great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Gem of a restauarant, food was amazing, service 1st class, perfect location and the vibe was great. Definitely recommend this gem of a restaurant

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanrwst, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Enjoyable evening.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We booked a table for eight and had a lovely evening as the sun set over the sea. Five of the party settled for sea food and the rest had a pizza. Unfortunately they had run out of lobster and I therefore ordered a steak which was beautiful and tender. Lobster was tasty served with a salad as were the seafood spaghetti and the scallops. A tasty meal in more than pleasant surroundings and we were happy with the service.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Amazing birthday meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Booked a table for a birthday celebration for 9 plus kids. Staff very helpful and happy to help with bringing out cakes etc. Food and service excellent. Loved the fact the children could order mussels and proper fish dishes, my 5 year old loved her mussels and chips. Something for everyone food wise- steak, pizza, fish and the most amazing seafood platter. For £40 for two we had sardines, tiger prawns, shell on prawns, scallops, and an enormous bowl of mussels and clams with bread, truly a treat. Puddings were great and the kids loved the bocca's. Definitely book as they were constantly turning people away throughout lunchtime.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chepstow, UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“We return here, year after year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Over the last week (holiday in Cornwall), we ate here three times - once inside (65th birthday meal for my mother-in-law), once on the tables outside, and once take-away pizzas to eat on the beach.

Unfortunately, the service for the meal inside let the restaurant down a bit, but not enough to spoil the meal. As ever, the food was excellent, and a decent view over the harbour is just the icing on the cake (you can request a window seat when booking, but be prepared to book a few weeks in advance...). My daughter has to eat gluten-free, and they have gluten free bases for their pizzas (they never used to keep them, but were happy for us to take our own - and had sold out for one of our meals, so it was a good job we'd bought some with us!). I'm not a seafood eater myself, but my wife and her mum are, and they say the seafood is excellent - whether on a pizza, in a salad, or as a main meal. Plenty of options for the meat-eaters, too. Recommended.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sam's On The Beach also viewed

St Austell, Cornwall
Fowey, Cornwall
 

Been to Sam's On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sam's On The Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.