We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food great view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sam's On The Beach

Sam's On The Beach
The Old Lifeboat Station, 14 Polkerris | Polkerris, Par, St Austell PL24 2TL, England
01726 812255
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 16 Restaurants in Par
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: 25 years of Sams in Fowey has now enabled us to bring all our experience, fun, ambience, staff and fantastic locally sourced produce to create something truly unique in the old Fowey Lifeboat House here on the waters edge overlooking the bay.3 Ingredients that a successful restaurant needs are "Good Staff, Good Food, Good Ambience" and Sams on the Beach has all 3 in abundance!Enjoy!And the views not that bad too!Sam Sixton
cornwall
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“great food great view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Super place to go with family especially on a hot day when windows are open to the beach. nice casual feel about the place , simple but well prepared and presented food with pleasant staff

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    359
    143
    44
    20
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“SAMs at Polkerris”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Another very good meal at Sams. Great vibe, specials menu had several fish dishes that were fantastic. Good service, great food, and you can dress up or be casual. Not cheap but you get what you pay for.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“My favourite restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I have eaten here on so many occassions and it is always spot on. From the tasty fish dishes to the gorgeous (huge) oven baked pizzas everything is yummy. View straight onto the beach is fab and staff are always friendly. Only thing I would like is a more extensive puddings menu. But overall the best the Cornwall has to offer! The sister restaurant Sam's in Fowey is brilliant too

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlestown, Cornwall
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

wow what can i say the welcome we got amazing for amazing coclktails amazing i dont think i can say anything else apart from everything was fab n cant wait to go back again

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, UK
Top Contributor
308 reviews 308 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
303 helpful votes 303 helpful votes
“Excellent food in a stunning location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I visited this restaurant during our recent stay in St Austell.

Car parking: not very good. It is up a hill with quite a walk to the restaurant so we (and a few others, we noticed) parked in the next door restaurant's car park instead.

Atmosphere: noisy even though there aren't many tables. Booking essential as they were fully booked a couple of nights that we tried to get in previously.

Staff: Friendly and cheerful; service fast.

Food: Excellent quality and good choice. If you don't like sea food there are pizzas available as well. These were lovely. Prices reasonable for the quality.

Location: You probably couldn't get a better one! Right on the beach but unfortunately as we visited at night we didn't see anything.

Definitely worth a visit (preferably on a nice sunny day in the day time) if you are in the area.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sam's On The Beach also viewed

St Austell, Cornwall
Fowey, Cornwall
 

Been to Sam's On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sam's On The Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.