We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view !!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sam's On The Beach

Sam's On The Beach
The Old Lifeboat Station, 14 Polkerris | Polkerris, Par, St Austell PL24 2TL, England
01726 812255
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 14 Restaurants in Par
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: 25 years of Sams in Fowey has now enabled us to bring all our experience, fun, ambience, staff and fantastic locally sourced produce to create something truly unique in the old Fowey Lifeboat House here on the waters edge overlooking the bay.3 Ingredients that a successful restaurant needs are "Good Staff, Good Food, Good Ambience" and Sams on the Beach has all 3 in abundance!Enjoy!And the views not that bad too!Sam Sixton
Truro, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Great view !!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Great view looking out onto polkerris beach , very tastefully decorated in the beach theme , great wine , good food , although my lobster was over cooked and a little chewy!! Heard lots of good reviews from friends ,so will give it one more try !

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    335
    133
    39
    19
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alhaurin el Grande, Spain
Top Contributor
253 reviews 253 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Top food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Sam's on the Beach, is a little gem well worth visiting. just outside Fowey, down the coast to the small village Polkerris. On the beach a few meters from the sea, you will find this odd restaurant with exelent food and service. Try their Thai mussels still, very good. Belly pork with crispy skin is another delicacy. There is much that draws on their menu. They also have children's menu. Reservations are recommended.
Do not confuse with the pub next door to Sam 

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fowey, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Booking essential”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Sam's Pizza's come fresh from the wood-fired oven and are large and appetising. The seafood menu doesn't disappoint and the setting is unique. Shame about the walk from the car park , but Polkerris is tiny.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Wow factor!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

From the moment you walk in and see the view, it has the complete wow factor. The service was great, the staff friendly and accommodating. The view was amazing to look at whilst whiling away an afternoon. The food was good, we generally thought the flavours were interesting but didn't quite hit the mark, however saying that, we still enjoyed it. We had black pudding and scallops which was served with salad, and it could have done with something to balance it was our personal opinion - it was cooked really well, just not quite right with the flavours. Would we go back? Most probably not and we are also glad we went.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great views and food in lovely setting with first rate service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

We walked over from Fowey which made for a lovely stroll (albeit muddy at the moment!). The view as you drop down to Polkerris beach through the woods is fantastic and then there, right on the beach, in the old lifeboat station is Sams. The ambience was lovely - glass fronted building, open kitchen, wooden floors and big wooden tables including a couple of booths. The young staff were friendly and helpful and completely relaxed about our muddy wellies. We were lucky to get a table as we hadn't booked.....the food and service were excellent. The children had home made pizza, moules, chicken strips, pasta - all freshly prepared and presented lovely. The adult menu was extensive and all looked excellent with plenty of fresh fish. As we were eating out later we plumped for the beach salad which is a meal on its own or you can add either goats cheese, whitebait or smoked chicken. The salad itself was delicious with olives, green beans, artichoke, sun dried tomatoes, aubergine etc to accompany 4 or 5 salad leaves and my addition of whitebait was excellent - plump, fresh and delicious as well as a large portion. Others went for the smoked chicken, also excellent and with Parma ham added to it as a welcome surprise. All the other food we saw being brought out looked first rate including scallops, crab and proper homemade pizzas. So, great food, excellent staff and a to die for ambience and location. We will be back and then also there's the original Sams in Fowey to try too....!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sam's On The Beach also viewed

St Austell, Cornwall
Fowey, Cornwall
 

Been to Sam's On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sam's On The Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.