We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Greenacres Cottages

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Greenacres Cottages to your Saves list
Greenacres Cottages
4.0 of 5 Cottage   |   | Penpillick, Par, St Austell PL24 2RU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Par
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We have just returned from a long weekend here and the whole place was an absolute gem, The cottage was clean, spacious and the greeting we received was impressive.........we arrived at 12.30, after being u at 2.15am and a very long drive with a 4yr old and a 1yr old. I asked of we could please use the pool for a while, even though we were early, so we could let the kids have a play while we waited for family to arrive at 2pm.....not only was the response 'of course' but we were very kindly brought towels for us to use also. After apologies that we could not have our cottage until 4pm, it was made available to us just after 2pm! We were very grateful for this.
I would say make sure you stock up on loo rolls and washing up liquid etc as we ran out after the first day and had to make a dash to the shops, and be aware that reception is rarely manned (the owners are available by phone in an emergency), but there are great hospitality packs available to tell you what is on and where.
There were some issues with the hot water in the mornings, where it transpired that previous guests had locked the settings for the boiler, but this should be sorted now that the staff have been made aware.
The kids loved the mini-farm, play area and pool and we loved the garden and the BBQ. Our neighbours were really friendly too - we would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    12
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
BOURNEMOUTH DORSET
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

My family of four adults and two children had a fantastic bank holiday break here, we arrived late and went straight to our cottage. It was spotlessly clean, warm and inviting. Every part of the cottage was well equipped especially the kitchen!

The views were outstanding and we had a lovely garden for our children to play in, our little boy is special needs and it was a safe environment for him to be in.

The rooms had lovely thick curtains which blocked out any light in the mornings which was brilliant when having young children, we opened the curtains every morning to see the cows in the field.
We swam in the heated pool every morning and evening, and had days out to the nearby beaches.

I could go on and on but I really enjoyed it here, nice and relaxing and the children where happy.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012 via mobile

One weeks stay from 31st March 2012.
Clean, spacious cottage. Loved the underfloor heating!
Ensuite shower room, bathroom, downstairs cloak/shower room - spoilt for choice. Kids loved the warm, clean indoor pool. Nice and central for so many beautiful areas. Highly recommended. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Just returned from a four night break at Green Acre Cottages.Lovely clean spacious modern cottage with fantastic views over country side. Cottages are well equipped and has everything for a self catering break. There were two shower rooms which was great when sharing with two teenage girls! The indoor pool was a bonus although could do with opening earlier than 9.30am as would have liked a swim earlier before setting out for the day.The cottage was in a good location for sight seeing. Visited Fowey, Looe, St Mawes and went over to Perranporth on the west coast. St Austell is 10 mins away and enjoyed an evening at the cinema and there is a small shopping centre with clothes shops. On the way to St. Austell there is a big Tescos and an Asda, good for if self catering for a week. Can't fault this place and hope to try one of their other cottage complexs that Travel Smith own.

Room Tip: Had cottage 7 which had great views over country side. Some have better views than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mk
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Place is fantastic cottage well set out and well furnished vies good nice hot tub the problem with this place is staff no one to show you around on arrival had couple of problems rang number left message but no one contacted us waited for reception next day problems still not sorted was given light bulbs but had to fit them sofa was broke and told part was ordered so had to sit on broken sofa internet was not working was told to try later but still didnt work couldnt get heating to work properly was told to give it 24 hours to settle it never did

Room Tip: We had cottage 10 with hot tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012 via mobile

We were a party of six and we had an absolute fabulous stay. Would defiantly recommend to anyone. The facilities were first class. Clean, comfortable, and the staff were friendly and helpful. An ideal base to visit many locations in that part of Cornwall.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

Had a lovely stay at Green acres which does everything it says on their website. Cottages are lovely - bathrooms particularly good. The heating is fantastic - very cosy and warm. Kitchens well equipped. The pool is a nice addition and the on site laundry facilities are very handy (if a little pricey - £4.00 each for a cycle of washing and drying). It would be nicer if the cottages were closer to a pub or restaurant, but if you're content to spend your days out and about and your nights in the lovely gardens and cosy cottage then this is the place for you. Very friendly staff too, and high standards of cleanliness.

Room Tip: Dog friendly cottages have lovely views and no 3 has an enclosed garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Greenacres Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenacres Cottages

Address: | Penpillick, Par, St Austell PL24 2RU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell > Par
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Par
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Greenacres Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Greenacres Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenacres Cottages Hotel Par
Greenacres Cottages Par, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greenacres Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.