We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second stay not disappointed one bit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parkdean - Mullion Holiday Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mullion
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parkdean - Mullion Holiday Park
Save
You added Parkdean - Mullion Holiday Park to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Ruan Minor, Near Helston | Cornwall, Mullion TR12 7LJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Second stay not disappointed one bit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for the second time this year and not disappointed one bit staff so helpful caravan was amazing central heating dvd player clean planning to return next year thank you for a fab stay!!the surrounding area has so much more left to explore id recommend it to anyone who loves the cornish coastline

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    133
    81
    36
    48
See reviews for
241
50
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Having stayed on many camping and caravan sites when my children were young, Parkdean, didn't seem to have that many facilities for children. The indoor pool looked small, the outdoor paddling pool seemed adequate, but I should imagine in high season, it would be overcrowded.
I can't comment on the food as we didn't eat there, if the take away was to go by, I'm glad I didn't, but in saying that the restaurant was always busy.
The caravan we stayed in was clean, double bedroom was a bit of a tight squeeze on either side of the bed, just room to move.
The Park itself was well maintained, clean, tidy and some lovely floral displays.
We found the staff cheerful and helpful, the location is lovely, some beautiful places to visit near by. We booked for the area, and just wanted a base so weren't too bothered about the facilities. I think this site would suit families with younger children, as it seems to cater more for that age group.

Room Tip: Would ask for one of the newer caravans or chalet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Plus points... Was cheap. Staff friendly. That's it!

The caravan was horrid, it stunk of damp and mould. My 5 year old was telling us how much it stank on an hourly basis! The hot water was practically non-existent. Having a 4 month old with us and not having hot water to wash bottles with was quite annoying.

There was blood on the bedroom curtains, mould on the matresses, make-up on the bathroom curtains, crumbs all over the place, mouldy carpets, broken cabinet in the double room with a screw hanging out.

The kettle had to be held to be boiled! Every time we used water (toilet, sink, shower) the drains gave off a disgusting smell. The plates, cups and glasses all had to be washed before use.

I could go on and on... The facilities there weren't too bad, the swimming pool was clean, the life guards were nice, the staff in the restaurant were lovely, the arcade was so-so. We didn't see any entertainment whilst there so can't comment on that. The soft play however was dirty, bits broken, food all over the floor and as it is not staffed people are doing whatever they like.


The local area is very nice, beautiful sea, friendly people, nice shops, Sainsburys is only up the road in helston, petrol was cheap there.

I would recommend the chip shop in the lizard, it is the most southern one in the UK, lovely chips, lovely people. They serve local fish too!!

All in all the holiday park was a disaster! Definitely one to avoid. I have taken pics and will complain asap!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed at Mullion 21st - 24th Sept in a Gillian (2012 model) caravan (A53) which was located very close to the main amenities. Check in was painless and reception staff were very welcoming. My wife & I prefer to pay extra for top range accommodation because quite frankly, we like decent home comforts.
We were not disappointed as the caravan was spotless with excellent central heating / double glazing & a huge flat screen TV. The kitchen was tops, with utensils all good quality. Credit to Maralyn who prepared the van for our arrival. It would be nice, having paid top price, that beds could be made up for you on arrival.
We mainly use the park as a base and spend little time using the Park facilities, however, we did have a few meals in the Kynance Restaurant which I have to say were very good. The waitresses were so pleasant and couldn't do enough for us - prices were reasonable and compareable to other mainstream pub outlets - we dined one evening in a pub in Mullion & it was a disaster !
The shop was well stocked with all the things you need daily & more- yes, a bit pricey but hey, this is a remote area-we city dwellers are used to all the big supermarkets on our doorsteps ! Whilst we stayed in our caravan most evenings, we did go to the main clubhouse on the Sunday night and were entertained by the Troopers who performed an 'Urban Edge' set - absolutely brilliant ! I sometimes think its easy to write bad reviews but not write good ones, I believe some people are born to whinge about anything instead of looking at the bigger picture, yes, the place needs a makeover and perhaps some of music/ entertainment is dated but overall, I would consider returning to Mullion in the future.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for all those home comforts
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed at the park on 14th-17th September with my partner and 1 year old son. The park itself is lovely, swimming pool, shop, restaurant and entertainment all in one place.

We attended the park via The Sun Holidays. We arrived early so could not book in when we got there. This was fine, the booking in was stated 4pm anyway. So we had a look round then went to view the local beaches and area, the local area is beautifull and scenic and the area itself is very reccomended.

When we refurned to book in the lady was very friendly and helpful. We were allocated a 3 bedroom caravan at the front of the park near the Main facilities and entertainment which was nice and actually not too loud as I thought it would be. The caravan itself was a nice size and although obviously quite old everything was nicely presented. However upon inspection the cleanliness was not up to standard. The bathroom sinks were not clean and there was a smell in the living room we could not pinpoint until I discovered a dirty nappy in the corner. Although slightly hidden not in a place that was unreachable to be cleaned and checked.

I would say the staff in the bar&grill and child entertainment although friendly, seemed slightly unfoccused and as if they preffered not to be there. There was also lack of amount of serving staff at the bar/takeaway and restaurant. 1 person seeming to be available on each although the park was packed. No wonder staff hace no motivation if they are made to work the job of 3 people alone. Food waiting times were awful due to the low staffing.

I would not reccomend this particular park again but would try another parkdean venue. As I have heard ithers are much nicer. The surrounding area though I would fully reccomend if you could find other accomadation

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

After reading several reviews before we went away, I was not looking forward to our accommodation, how wrong I was, we were allocated a 'bungalow' on arrival, it had double glazing a fairly new fitted kitchen, heaters in all rooms & a flat screen TV in the lounge. All the rooms had been cleaned well, I definatly had no complaints especially with the gale force winds and pouring rain we had from late Saturday night until lunchtime Sunday, once the door was shut we couldn't hear the storm outside. We took our quilts with us and I am glad we did, this being my only moan, the 2 single quilts were very thin and looked like they had seen better days.
We tried the club on the Saturday night and my 5year old was most insistant we went again on the Sunday night, the not a none brand of vodka & diet coke was £1.90 so I had no complaints about going back the second night.
We found all the staff very friendly & the whole weekend well worth it, we shall be going back next year with the grandparents & my sister in tow.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Stayed here on a bargain break in in one on the chalets. The unit had been modernised to a good standard and was bigger than the average caravan. No noise. Beds were so, so. For £20 a night it was excellent. The site is well located for exploring the Lizard and Penwith. This is a very interesting and unspoilt area that should be visited. No complaints. The site is easy to find and sits beside the man Lizard road. There is a very large Tesco and smaller Sainsbury's as you come into Helston from the west, so need need to carry provisions on your journey.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Parkdean - Mullion Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkdean - Mullion Holiday Park

Address: Ruan Minor, Near Helston | Cornwall, Mullion TR12 7LJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mullion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Mullion
Hotel Class:4 star — Parkdean - Mullion Holiday Park 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lively park with a legendary Lizard!We're talking about the breathtaking Lizard Peninsula. Mullion is ideall located for discovering beautiful beaches, hidden coves and quaint fishing villages. A day exploring this Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty is a must, if you can bear to leave the choice of facilities at Mullion, from indoor & outdoor pools and adventure playgrounds, to relaxing sun terraces and of course, our crazy kids' clubs with Sid & Lizzie! * A lively park in a pretty countryside setting * Five miles from spectacular Lizard Point * Close to pretty fishing coves and coastal walks * Visit the nearby historic town of Helston * Fantastic Showtime Entertainment ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mullion Holiday Park Hotel Mullion
Parkdean - Mullion Holiday Park Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parkdean - Mullion Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.