We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel was good but not perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mullion Cove Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mullion Cove Hotel to your Saves list
Mullion Cove Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mullion Cove, Lizard Peninsula, Mullion TR12 7EP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mullion
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Hotel was good but not perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

the hotel is in a stunning location, overlooking the sea, there are several good local walks which mean you can walk or run as far as you like. Good views in the summer. Location was very good and Mullion cove is beautiful. Hotel i found was above average but not excellent. Staff where friendly but some good have been a little friendlier. The room isnt bad at all, i didnt get a sea view room which i was disappointed but i suppose i did get a good rate. The room isnt huge so dont bring lots of luggage but it was big enough for a couple. The room was clean, a little dated but i wasnt worried as it fitted with the culture of the building. Beautiful presented building too. Room has tea making and biscuits which is excellent, bathroom had toiletries which is good, lovely big bath and plenty of hot water etc. Bed was comfy and room was cleaned to a good standard each time. overall room was good. Breakfast was good, lots to choose from and some good delights on the menu. Very happy with breakfast. I ate in the bar a few times as i didnt want to pay the expensive restaurant prices. The food was ok, i had steak both nights, one night was better than the other, food was cooked well and presented well but could have been a little more on the plate etc, i.e steak with no onion rings! Wifi was a little slow in places and could do with upgrading but it worked for what i needed. Overall a good hotel but for me not quite a 4 star but getting there. Lacked that little bit more but it was a good stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    62
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
50
161
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We were staying near by at Mullion Cove Lodge (excellent accommodation) and purley by chance we had a meal on a Saturday night, it was recommended to us. We all had the fish and chips, beautifully presented and wonderfully cooked. The service was excellent and we had a bit of banter with the manager (Chris) and all in all a very nice evening.

Room Tip: Gi in the daytime and not the evening as view will be wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Whilst staying in a self catering house nearby, we decided to venture to this nearby hotel for lunch. We were not disappointed, everything was perfect, service, food quality, ambience and all for a very reasonable price. We had a 3 course meal with champagne for £80 (2 people), which was incredible value - will visit again if in this part of Cornwall.

For lunch I would opt to stay in the bar, it had a nice calm atmosphere, whereas the restaurant was a little too quiet.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nelson
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We have stayed here previously but this time we were in a holiday cottage and were able to take a lovely coastal walk to the restaurant to take advantage of the excellent three course Sunday lunch which I can recommend for qualitly, quantity and price. Obviously roast beef and the trimmings was on but I opted for the fish. Puddings are a feature here and we both left feeling very full but also happy. Hopefully we will return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We've just spent four days at this lovely hotel in a 'partial sea view room' no 224,(upgraded from standard due to a hiccup when we booked). The bed was very comfortable and the room spacious with both a walk-in shower and separate bath. We peeked into a couple of empty adjacent rooms of the same quality and view and they were smaller and only had bath OR shower, so we were very fortunate! There was a lift which we found useful being slightly less mobile. We found without exception the staff helpful, friendly and professional.

My only real criticism was the food options. We ate in the brasserie one night, which was a la carte, but the menu didn't change, and with no 'specials', it was a bit limiting when staying more than a couple of nights. Our four-night offer included a three course meal plus coffee, in the restaurant one evening, which we enjoyed, but found a bit rich for our small/elderly appetites. This did change nightly with nice choices, but at £36 each, plus wine, it really would bump up the cost of the holiday to eat in every night for a week! It would be nice if they offered an a la carte option for the restaurant menu, perhaps to eat in the brasserie if they didn't want to waste a restaurant table? Breakfasts were lovely with nice cooked choices and fruits and cereals, various fruit juices.
Parking: there were a few spaces at the front of the hotel - beware the sheer drop if you don't engage reverse! Public parking just opposite was very convenient, but you had to arrive back early to secure a space. The hotel's own car park was not very accessible for the less mobile, as it was at the far side, and either quite a walk back round, or a short cut through across a very difficult couple of very high steps.(We watched people needing to be helped across from our window). We had to park there on return from the Mullion pub one evening in the dark, and, after dropping me off first, my husband parked and took the short-cut back and he said it was lethal, with no light to help!
We visited The Old Inn at Mullion, a mile away, for food two of our nights and it was very good, and a fraction of the price of the hotel. If you have the money, the stomach and the mobility, this is an excellent hotel to stay in and thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed here recently. It is a recently redecorated and updated 1900s era hotel. Nicely done we thought. Our superior room was large and with a beautiful view of the stunning coast. While not a particularly "historic" property, it was nice and very satisfactory. The staff were superb--friendly and helpful. The location is the drawing card: magnificent coastline that will remind Americans of the Big Sur in California. Walk out the door and start your beautiful coastline walk.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a beautiful position with some great coastal views. We stayed for 4 days having mixed weather. It is very exposed to the elements and the times we had had strong winds they could be felt through the windows. Not sure what it would be like in winter!
We booked a superior room on the second floor in order to ensure we would be dog free, all other levels being dog friendly. This meant we were entitled to a window table at dinner in the Atlantic Restaurant.

Our room was a good size, small balcony, 2 very comfortable easy chairs, plenty of storage and a superb bathroom with both tub and separate shower.

The whole hotel is well decorated and maintained at least that was the impression until we found that in our room 2 light bulbs had failed and the shaver point didn't work. Lights were fixed but the shaver point wasn't going to be until the day we departed.

There is a wide variation in staff from professional to downright amateur and not of a calibre I expect in a hotel such as this. One thing missing is obvious management presence.

The low point of our 4 days was the dining experience. The Atlantic Restaurant is the "formal" restaurant where it is "suggested" that men wear jackets. Most do, some don't.

The menu changes daily offering 4 starters, 4 mains, 4 desserts plus a cheese selection. Lobster and a Chateaubriand for 2 to share are available at a supplement. This fixed price menu is £36 but discounted to £25 if pre-booked by residents.

You also receive an appetiser and coffee or tea with petite fours afterwards.

Where it started to go wrong was the time taken between clearing the starter plates and serving the main courses. On 3 nights this was an hour! Then on several occasions the first choice of either the main course or dessert was unavailable (remember this is a daily changing menu) even down to no vanilla ice cream which did miraculously appeared when my wife said she would not have a dessert.

There is no restaurant manager and the waiting staff are drafted in from other duties plus a few young girls who are pretty much enthusiastic amateurs.

We opted for this hotel based upon Tripadvisor reviews and our experiences at their sister hotel The Thurlestone. Big mistake!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mullion Cove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mullion Cove Hotel

Address: Mullion Cove, Lizard Peninsula, Mullion TR12 7EP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mullion
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mullion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mullion Cove Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mullion Cove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mullion Cove Hotel Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mullion Cove Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.