We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful get away from it all” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caunce Head

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mullion
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Caunce Head
Save
You added Caunce Head to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Predannack, Mullion TR12 7HA , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Mullion B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Berlin, Germany
1 review
“wonderful get away from it all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Caunce head is a wonderful place to escape to and relax. I could happily have stayed all day in bed and read books with the wonderful views and cosy and lovely aesthetic environment. The entire house is lovely, original, bedrooms are well sized and beautifully decorated with an eye to details such as art, books, antique mix of furniture, walls in farrow and ball tones, beds were very comfortable, the original sash windows are lovely, well functioning bathrooms-not typical for the UK! Sarah and David are great hosts, breakfast, cooked by David in the glass winter garden is both generous and delicious. Sarah and David offered all manner of helpful advice, and intelligent, fun conversation. We also had a dinner there which was again very generous portions and delicious. In spite of some rain I did not miss a minute to explore the stunning nearby coastline which at jogging distance was inspiring as the sea always is for me. The location is a great base from which to explore the area which has tons to offer. I brought my elderly mother here on a get away trip after she has had a very hard year moving house and both she and I thoroughly enjoyed our time. It was like being part of the family! Thank you both-

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
39
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I love it when a plan comes together! The weather held up its side of the bargain for 10 days and we met the most perfect of hosts in a remote Cornish Guest House. On arrival Sarah and David made us immediately welcome by wrestling our suitcases from us and hauling them up to the spacious and very attractive Studio Room!
Breakfasts were superb and it was only my better half who prevented me from having 'the works' every morning, which included the tastiest Black Pudding outside the North!
Our hosts were great fun and an endless source of information; more than once did we follow their advice in our efforts to discover the attractions of Cornwall, and by the final evening's Brass Band concert, which we all attended together, we felt very much at home and quite reluctant to leave. This was our first but certainly not our last visit to Cornwall and to Sarah and David at Predannack.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godstone, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Had the most wonderful stay . . Sarah and David make you feel like one of the family. Never had such fantastic 'customer service' if that's what you'd call it.
Delicious breakfast, thank you David
and a very unexpected but hugely welcome lift to our special event, thank you Sarah.
The rooms were incredibly comfortably , spacious and had a beautiful view .
Not enough amazing words to describe our experience...........we are goin back !!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergisch Gladbach, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

A marvellous house, lovely, spacious room and bathroom, nice view, thick carpets! Wonderful breakfast in the garden with no wishes left. Because the German name Hartmut was too difficult for Sarah, she called him Alfred. We laughed a lot about this even after we had left. The coast path nearby with its breathtaking views makes the place an excellent point of departure for walks along the coast. We would like to come again and stay longer than just the 2 days we did.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lifton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We have just come home after staying at Caunce Head for 3 days. What a fantastic break we had, Sarah & David made us very welcome, and the breakfast each morning was superb, scrumptious fruit, & eggs laid by their chickens, just heaven! A big thank you too comes from Harvey (our black labrador) who looked forward to his sausages each morning!! Lovely stay & one we would recommend. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Our Room was superb, the bed, the furnishings, the bathroom, the view, spacious and beautifully decorated.Clean beyond a dream. Excellent breakfast in the morning. David and Sarah are lovely hosts. We could go on and on praising but there's no need, it's all perfect. Believe us we're fussy !!

Room Tip: All three rooms are lovely. Two of the rooms are doubles and one is a twin I believe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Caunce Head is a beautiful place in a truly stunning location. The whole area of Lizard is breathtaking and this B&B is 5 minutes walk from the SW coastal path.
The room we had was large, lovely, bright and clean with a sea view stretching out over the countryside and St Michaels Mount in the distance. We were made to feel very welcome and breakfast in the conservatory was also very good. Lovely fresh fruit and good choices for nice warm freshly cooked breakfas to start the day.
We were looking for the perfect B&B away from the hustle and bustle and this was it. The Lizard Peninsula is one of my favourite parts of Cornwall, in fact the UK.
A m,ust to see in the area is Kynance Cove, Lizard, Cadgwith and many other places which are are all so easy to get to from here.
I look forward to when we can go back and will be staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caunce Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caunce Head

Address: Predannack, Mullion TR12 7HA , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mullion
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Mullion
Hotel Class:3 star — Caunce Head 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Caunce Head Mullion, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caunce Head, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.