We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Polurrian Bay Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Polurrian Bay Hotel to your Saves list
Polurrian Bay Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Polurrian Road, Mullion TR12 7EN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mullion
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Newton Abbot
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“lovely hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2010

I have stayed in the Polurrian hotel twice. like the revamp, makes the dining room brighter and more modern. The staff are very helpful and helped make the stay very enjoyable. This time we had dinner. The food was fantastic. Location great, in walking distance to a nice pub and the beach can be accesed through the garden. Look forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    120
    55
    15
    5
See reviews for
151
246
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2010

We stayed at this hotel over a weekend for our wedding anniversary. We know the area exceptionally well so knew this would be quite a central location for the places we wanted to go to.

We have read many of the reviews regarding the staff and the general decor of the hotel but I have to say that I could not agree with them.

The staff were all polite, friendly and always helpful and whilst there is a little "re-vamping" going on, you would hardly notice.

Our room was a four poster but I did find it a bit small really although perfectly adequate. One gripe I had was the hairdryer!! (a silly one I know) - one of those where you have to keep the button pushed it for it to keep working - it becomes really annoying after 2 seconds!.

We stayed on a B&B basis and the choice for breakfast was very good. All in all, we had a great weekend (even lovely weather) and found the standard of this hotel to be what you would expect for the price you pay.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2010

I had a real hunt around the internet for a romantic weekend away with my girlfriend that she really deserved and I just kept coming back to the Polurrian. The pictures of the location looked stunning, a nice restuarant and leisure facilities on site and plenty of good reviews on here!

Anyway, our stay was simily fantastic! From the super friendly woman on reception, to having our room upgraded to the simply spectacular Superior Seaview Room, to the lovely relaxing lounge and beautiful dinner we had a brilliant weekend made ten times better by this hotel. I think the only shame was that we didn't get a chance to use the pool and spa but we will as we will definitely be back!

We've already booked again for later in the year!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2010

A wonderful hotel in a wonderful setting ( on the cliffs, overlooking the sea).great place for a relaxing break. Staff are friendly and service is excellent.....the food too is 'The Best'.
Will certainly be going back again !

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2010

The Pourrian, from our initial meeting with them to discuss our potential wedding weekend through to the event itself was an absoulute pleasure.
The staff were understanding and sympathetic to everyones needs ( including those that were on the beach at 7am!) and everyone contributted to an outstanding "house" weekend that was enjoyed by us as the host and echoed by the letters we received subsequently from our guests.
Matthew, the general manager was empathetic, Sam the event manager understood our needs and Mel the chef, produced a delicilous wedding breakfast.
We do not intend to have another wediing, but if we were, we would go back to the Polurrian and do it again!

  • Stayed November 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janner Land
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2010

My boyfriend treated me to an overnight stay at the Polurrian Hotel on 30 Dec 09. From the moment we arrived we were treated exceptionally. Percy the Porter took us to our room (which had an absolutely stunning sea view) and showed us different areas of the hotel on the way and info that was relevant to our stay. The room was simply furnished and was spotless. We had a complimentary cream tea in the lounge which was a really relaxing room and the decor was lovely. Once again, the views were fabulous. We had a swim and jacuzzi which was just what we needed before our evening meal which was all delicious. All the staff were so friendly and cheery. Don't hesitate in booking this gem of a hotel. It was just what we needed after a busy Christmas holiday. Will definitely return and recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2009

My wife and I stayed for our best friend's daughters wedding. The whole party effectifely took the whole hotel for Friday and saturday nights. We all ate from the standard menu (in small groups) on the first night and were impressed.
The second evening, the meal was part of the reception. Hot food for 80 ish all served hot and efficiently, again delicious.
We had actually booked for the Sunday night as well to make a weekend of it. We remained with the Bride's parents and none of us could stop raving on about the Staff and how hard they had worked to make everything so perfect.
I do have a couple of minor niggles; it was that we were told on booking which room we were having (I liked the one allocated as it had a field view at end of hotel) but shortly after arriving, realised that we had been reallocated to a smaller room with a view of tarmac and a wall. Whilst i appreciated that the change had been necesary to give a family more space, there was no explanation or apology.
The other moan was that we booked on a set rate, but it was the same rate whether sea-view or tarmac.
In fairness to the staff, they did offer us a room change on the 3rd night but we didn't accept it as we didn't want to move all our things.
Nothing would detract though from going there again or recommending it to others, especioally if you want to see the West Coast of Cornwall with it's dramatic cliffs and coves.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Polurrian Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polurrian Bay Hotel

Address: Polurrian Road, Mullion TR12 7EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mullion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mullion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Polurrian Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the cliffs amongst 12 acres of gardens, this quintessential luxury family seaside hotel offers stunning views across Mounts Bay and the Atlantic Ocean beyond. All of the public rooms have a sunny, welcoming feel, whilst bedrooms feature fluffy towels, super comfy beds and spectacular views. You will find an array of child friendly facilities including a complimentary Ofsted registered crèche for younger children and the Blue Room for the over eights. The restaurant features unpretentious dishes prepared with the finest seasonal and locally-sourced ingredients. There is a comprehensive range of facilities and activities on offer from the sanctuary of the Purity SPA to the newly resurfaced tennis court and the refurbished indoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Polurrian Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polurrian Hotel Mullion
Polurrian Bay Hotel Mullion, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Polurrian Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.