We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expansive views of sea/sky from the very comfy bed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Polurrian Bay Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Polurrian Bay Hotel to your Saves list
Polurrian Bay Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Polurrian Road, Mullion TR12 7EN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mullion
Bridport
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Expansive views of sea/sky from the very comfy bed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Arrived late evening hungry, slightly irritated by the clunky checking in procedure, thankfully food still being served. Rebuilt 1920's, refurbished to high standard, large conservatory lounge area, rather vacant sadly on the cold windy Friday evening-the wood burner could have been lit to be the warm hearth that draws people, plentiful large sofas but not enough seating for people with short leg length! Our groung floor room was spacious enough superior furnishings, bed large and comfortable, good quality linen. The bathroom was small just about adequate, no extractor fan-smelt of drains. It is a pity that sound proofing wasn't installed at refurb, the elephants in room above reverberated over our heads! Staff are helpful and seek to meet verybody's needs. I was disappointed by the food, from the standard of cooking, presentation and to mean portion sizes-I've had better in a road side cafe. Didn't use the spa, but the gazing at the sea was wonderfully restoring.

Room Tip: One with a view of the sea, first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula C, Assistant General Manager at Polurrian Bay Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Hello RubyBridport
Thank you for your comments. I am glad you were revitalised by the sea views- they are certainly stunning! I appreciate your comments regarding the rooms and have asked Maintenance to check all bathroom extractors. I am sorry you were troubled by noise in the room above and we don't have many instances of this happening but your recommendation to choose first floor rooms should minimise the likelihood of a recurrence.
I note your comments regarding food and Chef is aware.
I hope you will think of us when you need a top up of sea and sky.
Kind regards
Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    108
    54
    15
    4
See reviews for
145
218
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Devon
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We have stayed at the hotel before but it was about 15 years ago
The staff we most helpful
The hotel clean and tidy
The food was very good, but not that much choice we felt
The pool area needs a bit more thought, walking in with your shoes and then walking in bare feet to the pool via the same area!
I personally did not like the reception arrangement found it too casual, but table and chairs, I prefer a proper counter or desk, but that just me, the lady on reception was lovely
We had a lovely two nights break and we are sure we would visit again.

Room Tip: tell the staff any needs they are there to help
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula C, Assistant General Manager at Polurrian Bay Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Hello richhill
I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Things have certainly changed for the better over 15 years. We are looking at the flooring in the pool area and are considering various options so thank you for your comments.
Hope to see you again.
Best wishes
Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This is a fantastic hotel located in a beautiful location. We were warmly greeted by Sarah who very kindly upgraded our room to a Superior Double Sea View (rm 808). The views were impressive, the room was light & airy with the most comfortable bed that you could sleep in forever. The bathroom was clean & bright with full size Elemis products to use. The kids club 'The Den' is fantastic, you get 2 hours free per day & they have so much to do & the staff are brilliant. Some very tasty cookies were made... There is also a cinema & games room. The Atrium lounge has spectacular views across the sea with beautiful sunsets if your lucky with the weather as we were.. Highly recommended for all parents wanting a family friendly break.

Room Tip: Room 808 Superior Double with sea view - beautiful double aspect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula C, Assistant General Manager at Polurrian Bay Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Hello 66DSX
Thank you so much for your comments. I see we have another baking fan! Thank you for passing on your thoughts and recommendations for room 808- it is certainly one of our more popular rooms but most rooms have the beautiful see view so guests shouldn't be disappointed with the others.
I hope we will see you all again soon.
Kind regards
Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Samui, Thailand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We were lucky enough to visit Polurrian Bay in November when the weather was truly appalling so we did not stray far from the hotel-which was perfectly fine because our son did not want to leave the kid's club! We expected a well laid out kid's club because Polurrian Bay is part of the Luxury Family Hotel group but our expectations were far exceeded. The staff had arranged a gluten free cooking class for our son and many other interesting activities that catered to his every desire.
This left us time to have drinks by the fire while reading our books and taking in the beautiful sea view. Total relaxation.
The rooms are small but nicely appointed with new, plush soft furnishings. Lovely blankets were found throughout the hotel that begged for snuggling. The library and game rooms were across the hall from one another and very well stocked.
I highly suggest for a long weekend during any time of the year.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula C, Assistant General Manager at Polurrian Bay Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Hello ShannonCB
It is great to know how much you enjoyed your stay and I appreciate you taking the time to post a review. We tailor Den activities to suit the children attending so there was no way your son could miss out on baking - it's our most popular activity! The idea with the Den is that parents are able to chill out whilst the children are enteratined and I am glad you could take advantage.
I hope we will see you back for a return visit.
Kind regards
Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had a great weekend with friends on a group booking. The hotel was brilliant, lovely atmosphere, excellent food and in particular, our evening meals were exceptional. All staff were very friendly and went beyond their duty to be helpful. We enjoyed the location, lovely views and coastal walking. Finally, the cream teas are a must!!!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms were an added bonus
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula C, Assistant General Manager at Polurrian Bay Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Hello AMDevon
I am so pleased you enjoyed your weekend and particularly the cream teas! It is great when guests take the time to post reviews and we very much appreciate it.
Please come back soon before you suffer cream tea withdrawal symptoms!.
Kind regards
Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We were booked in for 4 nights and looking forward to our quiet break after booking a "Quiet room with a view" We arrived and certainly the view was spectacular, however it soon became apparent that it was half term, unknown to us, and on booking, I had asked if many children would be staying that week and was told, only about 3 but we will try and make sure you are not near family rooms. That may have been a good opportunity for them to have told us it was half term. There were 30 children booked in and they continually ran up and down the corridors and banging doors non stop. We had 3 large families around us. The doors are poorly designed and as soon as anyone shuts/slams a door, it makes your own door rattle with the effect and also shook against the headboard of the bed which is very close to the door. After a miserable night, albeit in the very comfortable bed, we checked out and went somewhere else, where we had a delightful stay in Falmouth. Be warned... Not recommended for couples without kids. Hardly any room to store your luggage either in the very cheap and sparse furniture.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula C, Assistant General Manager at Polurrian Bay Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Hello Gina247
I am so sorry you felt the need to post this review. We fully understand your disappointment and I did discuss this at length with you on the day you left. As well as apologies I did say we would not charge anything for your stay or your cancelled nights but you offered to pay for breakfast. I am pleased that you subsequently found a hotel to suit your requirements.
Clearly a luxury family hotel will always have children and whilst we gained more bookings after you booked your room we did place you in a superior corner room where we believed noise would be minimised. Sadly this was not so.
Kind regards
Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

What a great improvement since our previous visit some 12 months previous, The building work has been completed where the previous small lounge is now many times bigger with panoramic views across the bay.
The dining room staff were most attentive with plenty of waiting staff on hand to take ones order, clear the table etc. There was no delay and the staff were so friendly. Well done 'Luke' with great local knowledge.
The breakfast menu consisted of everything you wish from fresh fruit, cereals to a full English.
Congratulations for such a great improvement in all aspects.

Room Tip: A 'sea view' is a must with such a view across Mounts Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula C, Assistant General Manager at Polurrian Bay Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Hello ExeterGeorge
Thank you for taking the time to post another review.
I am so glad that you decided to visit again and were impressed with the improvements.
We're aiming for a 5 star review next time!
Hope to see you soon.
Best wishes

Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Polurrian Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polurrian Bay Hotel

Address: Polurrian Road, Mullion TR12 7EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mullion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mullion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Polurrian Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the cliffs amongst 12 acres of gardens, this quintessential luxury family seaside hotel offers stunning views across Mounts Bay and the Atlantic Ocean beyond. All of the public rooms have a sunny, welcoming feel, whilst bedrooms feature fluffy towels, super comfy beds and spectacular views. You will find an array of child friendly facilities including a complimentary Ofsted registered crèche for younger children and the Blue Room for the over eights. The restaurant features unpretentious dishes prepared with the finest seasonal and locally-sourced ingredients. There is a comprehensive range of facilities and activities on offer from the sanctuary of the Purity SPA to the newly resurfaced tennis court and the refurbished indoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Polurrian Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polurrian Hotel Mullion
Polurrian Bay Hotel Mullion, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Polurrian Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.